I just got a 3rd dui. what will happened to me???

Asked over 1 year ago - Feasterville, PA

I have a 3 year old daughter and just can't stand to be in jail away from her. Please give me advice. I can't afford a lawyer. thank you, Kristin Smith

Attorney answers (7)

  1. Ross Marvin Miller

    Contributor Level 11

    9

    Lawyers agree

    Answered . You may not think you can afford a lawyer, but you really should consult with one. If the DUI is based on a BAC of .16 or above, or related to drugs, you may be facing a mandatory minimum jail sentence of 1-2 years, possibly in state prison. As the jail time is significant, you really should see a lawyer promptly. Many lawyers, myself included, will work with you to make the services affordable.

    This answer is based on general legal principles only and is not intended to provide specific legal advice. This... more
  2. Robert C. Keller

    Contributor Level 20

    7

    Lawyers agree

    Answered . You are looking at a year in jail. If you cannot afford a private attorney then apply for a public defender.

  3. Zachary Cooper

    Contributor Level 13

    7

    Lawyers agree

    Answered . First of all you should hire a good attorney immediately because you are facing a lot of jail time as well as a lengthy drivers suspension. If you cannot afford an attorney I agree Mr. Keller that you should talk with the public defender. There are some very good public defenders and you do not want to go into this alone. I hope this helps. Thanks.

  4. Lidia L. Alperovich

    Pro

    Contributor Level 18

    7

    Lawyers agree

    Answered . Unless there is an acquittal, there is a mandatory jail time. Only an experienced criminal attorney can tell you if there is a possibility of of acquittal, possibility of house arrest etc. If you cannot afford an attorney, you should apply for a public defender. This is as much of an advice any attorney can give you online

  5. Michael Lawrence Doyle

    Pro

    Contributor Level 20

    7

    Lawyers agree

    Answered . If convicted, you will be doing a mandatory minimum of one year in jail. You need to hire an attorney as this is a serious matter and needs to be handled properly.

    This is not intended as individual legal advice and there is no attorney client relationship established by this... more
  6. L. Kenneth Chotiner

    Pro

    Contributor Level 10

    5

    Lawyers agree

    Answered . You need to speak with an experienced DUI defense attorney immediately. Most, including myself, will provide you with a free consultation. Then, if you cannot work out payment arrangements, you can apply for a public defender. At least then you should have more knowledge. For example, you may only be facing a ten day minimum sentence. Moreover, there may be other sentencing options available.

    The information provided here is not intended to provide legal advice on any subject nor is it intended to create... more
  7. Michael Harris Fienman

    Contributor Level 11

    5

    Lawyers agree

    Answered . Because you posted your name, you would be well advised not to post anything further about this matter on a public forum.

    Since you cannot afford an attorney, my suggestion would be to contact the public defender's office. They will be in the best position to offer advice.

    Thanks for your question and best of luck!

    LEGAL DISCLAIMER Mr. Fienman is licensed to practice law in Pennsylvania and New Jersey. His phone number is 215-... more

Can't find what you're looking for? Ask a Lawyer

Get free answers from experienced attorneys.

 

Ask now

23,936 answers this week

2,798 attorneys answering

Ask a Lawyer

Get answers from top-rated lawyers.

  • It's FREE
  • It's easy
  • It's anonymous

23,936 answers this week

2,798 attorneys answering