I had a slip and fall about a year 1/2 ago at a departmnet store employee moped but did not place wet floor sign

Asked about 1 year ago - Memphis, TN

diagnosis radiculopathy cervical,myfascail pain,spine enthesopathy,pain lumbar spine,radiculopathy,scarilac joint degener/lumbar spondylosis,hernitation disc lumbar L4-L5 CENTRAL DISC DIS PROTUSION WITH DISC DESSICATION TINY CENTRAL DISC PROTUSION T12-L2

Additional information

what would be a fair settlment price my neurologist dr. says i probably had the disc problem every since i was in my late teens or early tewnties measuring by mri i've worked two jobs and have never had any physcial limitation or pain with my back or any other extremities until that fall i have been working with the insurance adjustor the guy seems nice but my friends say find a attorney because when its all over i will not get what is entitled to me

Attorney answers (7)

  1. Jere Franklin Ownby III

    Pro

    Contributor Level 12

    7

    Lawyers agree

    Answered . The Statute of Limitations is the part of the law that gives injured people a deadline to file their lawsuit. After the deadline passes, you cannot file a lawsuit, even if you are completely in the right and the other person is completely in the wrong.

    In Tennessee, the Statute of Limitations is one year.

    You were injured a year and half ago.

    I suspect that, sadly, you have no rights to sue the department store any more. However, there are sometimes ways to get around the Statute of Limitations. From what you have said in your question I cannot see where the exception to the one-year rule could possible help you, but you never know.

    You need to go and speak with a Personal Injury lawyer NOW. RIGHT NOW. Good luck.

    If you want to discuss this further with me, send me a note. Attorney Jere Franklin Ownby JOwnby@OwnbyLawFirm.com
  2. Russell Warren Lewis IV

    Pro

    Contributor Level 11

    7

    Lawyers agree

    Answered . You should seek the counsel of a Memphis personal injury attorney. Tennessee has a one-year statute of limitations for filing personal injury claims. It would behoove you to take action quickly as with time evidence can be lost, employees quit and disappear, and memories fade. Please let me know if I can be of assistance to you.

    Best wishes.

    This answer is provided as a public service for informational purposes only and is not intended as legal advice.... more
  3. Thomas Lang Wiseman

    Contributor Level 7

    6

    Lawyers agree

    Answered . Your fact situation and medical condition are rather complex, and you should see an attormey immediately. The adjuster may be friendly enough, but make no mistake about it: he/she works for the insurance company and job #1 is to close the claim for as little cost as possible. Moreover, you may already have problems if your claim occurred more than a year ago (it is hard to tell from your question precisely when the incident occurred). You need to see an attorney immediately.

    Disclaimer: General information provided online is not meant to be specific legal advice, and it does not create... more
  4. Nathan Zale Dowlen

    Contributor Level 13

    4

    Lawyers agree

    Answered . If it was a year and a 1/2 ago, your statute ran 6 months ago.

    Please note that my answering this question, does not, in any way, mean I represent you for this, or any other... more
  5. Christian K. Lassen II

    Pro

    Contributor Level 20

    5

    Lawyers agree

    Answered . Have a local personal injury lawyer evaluate a possible claim.

  6. Michael R Crosner

    Contributor Level 20

    4

    Lawyers agree

    Answered . Your friends are correct - you have a fairly serious injury apparently complicated by pre-existing medical conditions. I used to train adjusters - you will never obtain a settlement that will come close to that obtained with the assistance of a good local personal injury attorney. Most offer free consultations & handle these cases on a contingency basis (no recovery, no fee) Hope you feel better. Good luck

    This is not intended to be legal advise or as legal representation. I am a California personal injury attorney .... more
  7. Ronald Walter Kim

    Contributor Level 7

    Answered . The statute of limitations for a slip and fall in Tennessee is 1 year from the date of the slip and fall. If I'm reading your note correctly the accident occurred more than a year ago. When the statute of limitations passes, generally all of your claims expire.

    This answer is provided as a public service for informational purposes only and is not intended as legal advice.... more

Can't find what you're looking for? Ask a Lawyer

Get free answers from experienced attorneys.

 

Ask now

28,407 answers this week

2,924 attorneys answering

Ask a Lawyer

Get answers from top-rated lawyers.

  • It's FREE
  • It's easy
  • It's anonymous

28,407 answers this week

2,924 attorneys answering