I was charged with dui 3rd, dwls 2 and dui causing injury how much time can i be looking at?
Up to 5 years in the State prison and/or between $1,000 to $5,000 fines. Not to mention a bunch of other costs. Get an OWI lawyer TODAY! You cannot do this alone. Good Luck!
The comments listed here do not create an attorney-client relationship. The comments are for informational purposes only and are not to be considered legal advice. This attorney is only licensed in Michigan and does not give legal advice in any other state. All comments are to be considered conversational information and you should not rely on these comments as legal advice or in place of retaining an attorney of our own. The comments here are based solely on what you have provided and therefore are general in nature and with more specific facts or details a different answer or outcome could result. The legal system is not a perfect science and this attorney does not guarantee any outcome.
Criminal Defense Attorney
Above and beyond the maximums that are listed above, you will be facing a five year revocation of your driving privileges. That, however, assumes that your second offense resulted in a one year revocation.
I've literally handled several hundred of these cases and many clients ask me how much jail time they can get. It's normal to want this type of information but the answer is not particularly helpful because it is vary rare that someone will get sentenced to the maximum possible jail or prison time.
There are enumerable factors that go into sentencing including your background, rehabilitative measures, the strength of the evidence in your case, a plea bargain, the persuasiveness of your lawyer, the position of the prosecutor, the judge in the case, and much, much more.
The best thing you can do is get the best lawyer you can to protect you. Look for someone with serious OWI and felony experience. Avvo is a good place to start looking for a lawyer and you can find some 10.0 rated attorneys who you can consult with. If you can find a lawyer who is also a SuperLawyer and rated AV on Martindale Hubbell, that would be a very good indication that a lawyer is well respected and a powerful advocate.
Mr. Loren Dickstein, Esq.
10.0 Rated Michigan Criminal Defense Attorney
LEWIS & DICKSTEIN, P.L.L.C.
2000 Town Center, Ste. 2350
Southfield, MI 48075
AV Rated (Preeminent) by Martindale-Hubbell
Super Lawyer – Thomson Reuters
10.0 Rated (Superb) – Avvo Lawyer Ratings
Click on the picture to see the profile of the lawyer answering your question. The information provided on this website is for general information purposes only. Nothing on this site should be taken as legal advice for any individual case or situation. This information is not intended to create, and receipt or viewing does not constitute, an attorney-client relationship.
Causing Death or Serious Injury if Operating While Intoxicated, Operating While Visibly Impaired, Operating with Any Presence of Drugs, or Operating While License Suspended, Revoked or Denied (First Offense) These crimes are felonies.
•Death -- Up to 15 years imprisonment, or a fine of $2,500 to $10,000, or both.
•Injury -- Up to 5 years imprisonment, or a fine of $1,000 to $5,000, or both.
•Emergency Responder Death -- Up to 20 years imprisonment, or a fine of $2,500 to $10,000, or both.
•Driver's license revocation and denial for a minimum of 1 year (minimum of 5 years if there was a prior revocation within 7 years).
•License plate confiscation.
•Vehicle immobilization for up to 180 days, unless the vehicle is forfeited.
•Possible vehicle forfeiture.
•6 points added to the offender's driving record.
•Driver Responsibility Fee of $1,000 for 2 consecutive years.