4th DWI - non aggravated with approximately 2 months county jail credit.
You will be eligible for parole when your flat time plus good time equals one-fourth of your sentence. On a two year sentence, this will be when you flat and good time equal six months (180 days). How much good time credit you have will have to be checked and confirmed with TDCJ. Just because you are eligible for parole does not mean you will get it. Most people with DWI convictions, not to mention second felony DWI convictions, will actually serve substantially more than the minimum and you may receive a "serve all" designation.
W. Troy McKinney
Schneider & McKinney, P.C.
Houston, Texas 77002
Board Certified in Criminal Law - Texas Board of Legal Specialization
Board Certified in Criminal Appellate Law - Texas Board of Legal Specialization
Board Certified in DWI Defense, National College for DUI Defense (NCDD)
NCDD Certification Program Approved by the American Bar Association
and Accredited by the Texas Board of Legal Specialization.
Dean -- National College for DUI Defense
I agree with Mr. McKinney. As you can see, there are a lot of variables which factor in to this equation. Your question reminds me of the time when I was a new lawyer and I asked a District Clerk how much time she thought my client would serve on a two year sentence. This was during a time when TDC was overcrowded,and the rumors were flying about how much time an inmate would actually serve before being eligible for parole. She thought about it for a while,then walked back into the holdover area and asked the inmates. These men were,after all,the experts.
Get free answers from experienced attorneys.
24,185 answers this week
2,447 attorneys answering
Don't speak legalese? We define thousands of terms in plain English.Browse our legal dictionary