My ex-husband says until the child is 18 years old.
Family Law Attorney
Assuming the child is fully able: If the child is 18 years old, a full-time high school student, and not self-supporting, the duty to pay child support extends until the child is 19 years old or completes 12th grade, whichever is sooner. (For your purposes, it sounds like child support ends at age 18 or graduation from high school, whichever is later.)
Divorce / Separation Lawyer
18 or when they graduate from high school if there are no other issues. take care.
Legal disclaimer: The response given is not intended to create, nor does it create an ongoing duty to respond to questions. The response does not form an attorney-client relationship, nor is it intended to be anything other than the educated opinion of the author. It should not be relied upon as legal advice. The response given is based upon the limited facts provided by the person asking the question. To the extent additional or different facts exist, the response might possibly change. Attorney is licensed to practice law only in the State of Massachusetts. Responses are based solely on Massachusetts law unless stated otherwise.
Employment / Labor Attorney
Usually until the child is 19 or finishes high school, but like anything else it is really dependent on case facts. Of course child support doesn't go on forever...
This answer does not create an attorney-client relationship between Jassim & Associates or any of its attorneys. We are not your attorney unless we both sign a written contract that describes our relationship and terms, the scope of our representation, and terms of payment for representation. Any information provided to you here should not be construed as legal advice, and an in detail review of the facts of your matter would likely affect any information provided. There could be deadlines to act in any case, after which your legal rights could be lost forever. You should contact an attorney licensed in your state immediately to be sure your rights are protected.
Family Law Attorney
A parent's child support obligation, as to the State, can last beyond age 19 but I presume that this is academic.