I want to file for custody In the state of Texas. I would like to know how long I would have to live there to file? The father dose not have any legal custody! I just need to leave the state of CA, for the safey of me and my one year old!
November 20, 2008 07:23.
You need to live in Texas for 6 months, and you must be a resident of the county you wish to file in for 90 days prior. Hope that helps!
November 18, 2008 19:50.
Assuming that Texas has adopted the provisions of the Uniform Child Custody Jurisdiction Act (UCCJA),
six months is the likely answer.
Get free answers from experienced attorneys.
*All fields required
25,777 answers this week
2,856 attorneys answering
Get answers from top-rated lawyers.
Ask a Lawyer