Falsely accused of shoplifting

Asked over 1 year ago - Phoenix, AZ

I was falsely accused of shoplifting 2 weeks ago. The security asked me if I had anything in my bag that I didn't pay for. I showed him all the contents of my bag and he didn't find anything. I was given a warning not to come back to the store or I will be prosecuted. He didn't ask my name or anything. No cops were involved. What should I do?

Attorney answers (3)

  1. 3

    Lawyers agree

    Answered . Assuming you have now been charged with a crime (you don't expressly say so), then you need to consult directly with an attorney for him/her to assess your circumstances, and to then advise, defend, and advocate for you. Sounds, based on the limited info you present, you have a good defense but your attorney will have to review everything before firmly reaching that conclusion.

  2. 2

    Lawyers agree

    Answered . Disregard the warning if necessary. The store has the ability to ask any patron to exit the premises. A failure to exit the premises could result in trespassing charges. If you go to the store again, and they ask you to leave, you should leave. Otherwise, you do not have to comply with a security guard's warning not to return for a false accusation.

    Adam Feldman
    The Feldman Law Firm, PLLC
    1 E. Washington Street, Suite 500
    Phoenix, Arizona 85004
    (602) 540-7887

    AV® Preeminent™ Rating
    2013 Super Lawyers Rising Star
    AVVO 9.8/10 Superb Rating

  3. 1

    Lawyer agrees


    Answered . Report the false accusation against you to the corporate home office of the store. Their shareholders might like to know that the help is falsely accusing customers of stealing.


Related Topics

Criminal defense

Criminal law establishes the classifications of crimes, how guilt or innocence is determined, and the types of punishment or rehabilitation that may be imposed.

Criminal charges

Criminal charges are formal accusations in court that someone has committed a crime. Criminal charges have many classifications and degrees of severity.

Daniel P. Hilf

Driving While License Suspended

Driving While License Suspended or Revoked in Michigan is a misdemeanor offense (according to MCL 257.904(3)(a)) that carries a maximum potential jail sentence of up to 93 days, and/or a... more

Can't find what you're looking for? Ask a Lawyer

Get free answers from experienced attorneys.


Ask now

37,015 answers this week

3,915 attorneys answering

Ask a Lawyer

Get answers from top-rated lawyers.

  • It's FREE
  • It's easy
  • It's anonymous

37,015 answers this week

3,915 attorneys answering