Expungement, doing it yourself vs. Hiring an attorney.

Asked 9 months ago - Marietta, GA

I am all set to apply for a proper expungement. I meet the criteria. My question is as follows;

1. Is this a onetime shot, in other words can I do it myself and hire a lawyer if I fail the first time?
2. Will my chances diminish on the second go around?
3. If I do it myself, could the record end up being just restricted vs. expunged. (Assuming I do a poor to average job.)

My lawyer did an Excellent, Excellent job, sadly it’s just too hard to get him on the phone and I need to get moving.

Attorney answers (4)

  1. Ian Zimmerman

    Pro

    Contributor Level 13

    Answered . YOU DO NOT HAVE A LAW DEGREE. YOU ARE NOT A LAWYER. It bothers me when people try and do things that require a doctorate in law themselves. Hire an attorney for this it is too important to mess up. Do you operate on yourself too?

  2. James Lawrence Yeargan Jr.

    Contributor Level 20

    Answered . If you mess something up you can reapply. An expungement and a restriction are now the same thing in Georgia.

    James L. Yeargan, Jr. is licensed to practice law in the State of Georgia. All information given is based only on... more
  3. Jeff Krigel

    Contributor Level 12

    1

    Lawyer agrees

    Answered . you need a lawyer. It is not worth the risk and you don't even know if you could do a second request for instance.

  4. Robert Jason De Groot

    Pro

    Contributor Level 20

    Answered . Set up an appointment with your lawyer for a face to face conference. I cannot answer your separate questions as I do not practice in GA.

    R. Jason de Groot, Esq. We do not have an attorney-client relationship. I am not your lawyer. The statements I... more

Related Topics

Criminal defense

Criminal law establishes the classifications of crimes, how guilt or innocence is determined, and the types of punishment or rehabilitation that may be imposed.

Criminal charges

Criminal charges are formal accusations in court that someone has committed a crime. Criminal charges have many classifications and degrees of severity.

Daniel P. Hilf

Driving While License Suspended

Driving While License Suspended or Revoked in Michigan is a misdemeanor offense (according to MCL 257.904(3)(a)) that carries a maximum potential jail sentence of up to 93 days, and/or a... more

Can't find what you're looking for? Ask a Lawyer

Get free answers from experienced attorneys.

 

Ask now

29,595 answers this week

3,386 attorneys answering

Ask a Lawyer

Get answers from top-rated lawyers.

  • It's FREE
  • It's easy
  • It's anonymous

29,595 answers this week

3,386 attorneys answering