Elder care-Nursing Home question

Asked about 1 year ago - Lakeland, FL

My mother has power of attorney over her sister. Her sister lives only on social security and she is not married nor have any other assets. Unfortunately, she had to be placed in a nursing home. They are requiring to take over her asset (social security check) and only allow her $35/month. She has Medicare and Medicaid so she is covered fully and the facility is set up to receive payment from Medicare and Medicaid. We are wondering why the nursing home has to take over her social security and only give her an allowance of $35/month when they are receiving full payment through Medicaid for long term care. Is this a law or rule for all nursing facilities in Florida?

Thanks for your help/advice in advance!

Attorney answers (4)

  1. Brittany Green Gloersen

    Pro

    Contributor Level 11

    5

    Lawyers agree

    Answered . In Florida it is called patient responsibility. The state through the institutional care program pays the balance, after the resident pays their income minus $35.00 to the facility. It can be calculated differently if there is a community spouse (spouse living outside the facility). You may want to meet with an elder law attorney in your area to explain the Medicaid assistance program your mother is using.

  2. Robert William Haley

    Contributor Level 11

    5

    Lawyers agree

    Answered . When one goes into the nursing home their income goes with them to help pay; Medicaid pays the balance of the bill. The $35 is a personal allowance residents are allowed for things like beauty salon bills, etc

  3. Kelly Scott Davis

    Pro

    Contributor Level 18

    5

    Lawyers agree

    Answered . Medicaid is the payor of last resort. This means that Medicaid only pays the difference between a person's income and the cost of nursing home care. The person receiving Medicaid is required by law to make a co-payment equal to their income, minus a small personal needs allowance (the $35). In some states the person also has to pay their Medicare supplement insurance premium aout of their co-payment portion.

  4. Frank A Selden

    Contributor Level 16

    3

    Lawyers agree

    Answered . not a rule that they have to do it this way but a very common practice. you will not easily find a nursing home that won't have someone sign over their checks.

Can't find what you're looking for? Ask a Lawyer

Get free answers from experienced attorneys.

 

Ask now

26,917 answers this week

2,851 attorneys answering

Ask a Lawyer

Get answers from top-rated lawyers.

  • It's FREE
  • It's easy
  • It's anonymous

26,917 answers this week

2,851 attorneys answering