Both drivers insured. The only damage (which won't be reported to insurance), was under $1500. One driver had a sore ankle, but refused any medical attention. Other driver and passenger both said they were not injured at all.
You should be fine. Follow up with IDOT
Stephen L. Hoffman
Law Office of Stephen L. Hoffman LLC
This answer posted on Avvo is for informational and educational purposes only. There is no attorney-client relationship created or formed and you should not rely on this as legal advice. The suggestion is made that if you wish to protect your rights, you consult with an attorney immediately.
Generally speaking, they ask that you complete one if damages are more than $500...
The Illinois Motorist Reports outlines the requirement on the report. Even if it is determined that no report is to be sent in, depending on circumstances, you might consider completing same. Injuries and claims often result when at first review none is likely. There can be consequences to failing to complete such a form. The value of the property damage may vary and the value may exceed the amount. Consider consulting with an attorney in your location for a complete review promptly.
It DOES need to be completed. You were correct to file a police report but do not think that the insurance company will not eventually be aware of the accident, whether you tell them or not.
If this information has been helpful, please indicate by clicking the up icon. Legal Disclaimer: Mr. Candiano is licensed to practice law in Illinois and Indiana. The response herein is not legal advice and does not create an attorney/client relationship. The response is in the form of legal education and is intended to provide general information about the matter within the question. Links: firstname.lastname@example.org http://www.themargolisfirm.com
Car / Auto Accident Lawyer
If damages are in excess of $500.00, then an Illinois Motorist Report needs to be filed. Whether there are injury claims filed, that will be determined later, but the answer appears to be yes based upon the ankle injury. Whether the other driver and passenger file claims is to be determined but not uncommon. I would file a report.
24 Hour Attorney Call Center (314) 361-4242 or visit us on the Web at http://www.hoffmannpersonalinjury.com.