My ex moved, we were never married and moved from San Diego County to Placer county and has filed for Full custody. he hasn't lived there for 6 months and my child has never lived there. Can i ask the judge for a dismissal on those grounds?
Divorce / Separation Lawyer
The required period for the county residency is 3 month; the 6 month is for California residency. You can file a motion to change venue but you cannot simply ask the judge to dismiss the hearing.
I can be reached at 714-542-6200, 9:00 a.m. to 5:00 p.m. Monday to Friday. Feel free to email me directly at email@example.com. This response will not create an attorney-client relationship between you and Sarieh Law Offices, and is not intended to serve as a legal advice in your specific circumstances. This response is a legal opinion based solely on facts represented by you. You still need to consult an attorney directly to fully protect your legal rights.
2 lawyers agree
Family Law Attorney
You asked this question earlier. Jurisdiction would probably be proper in San Diego, but now tbat he has filed you are going to have to respond in Placer County.
Ms. Straus (aka Carroll) may be reached at 800-400-8978 during regular business hours, Pacific Time, or anytime by email at: ECSEsquire@AOL.com. All of Ms. Straus’ responses to questions posted on Avvo are intended as helpful information based upon the facts stated in the question, and are not to be relied upon as a final legal opinion. It may not be what you wished to hear, and it does not create an attorney-client relationship. Ms. Straus is licensed to practice law in California. If you would like to obtain specific legal advice about this issue, you must contact an attorney who is licensed to practice law in your state, and retain him or her. Me Straus provides “unbundled” services if you need specific assistance with a specific issue.
4 lawyers agree