Can someone be charged with rape after 5 years?

Asked 8 months ago - Polson, MT

My boyfriend was 12 and his sister was 9 they had both been molested they had both been touching each other his mother called it in to CPS

Attorney answers (3)

  1. Solomon Neuhardt

    Pro

    Contributor Level 12

    3

    Lawyers agree

    1

    Answered . Yes.

    Sol Neuhardt. One of the best personal injury lawyers in Montana. Recovered millions of dollars for his clients.... more
  2. Miguel Amador

    Contributor Level 17

    3

    Lawyers agree

    Answered . The statute of limitations vary from state to state based on the particular crime. The statute to find your answer is Mont. Code Ann. ยง 45-1-205(1)(b) or (1)(c) or (2)(a).

  3. Martin W. Judnich

    Contributor Level 15

    Answered . Sure can. The statute of limitations is extremely long for minor alleged victims. However, at those ages there is a very good chance at statutory defenses for those ages. Our firm handles defenses like that in Montana. If you can afford private defense for this very serious charge, please give us a call for a free consultation.
    Marty Judnich (406) 721-3354

    licensed attorney in Montana. Your specific state laws may be different.
Avvo instant logo@2x

Need an answer to your questions within 15 minutes?

  • 30-minute phone call
  • Ask any questions
  • $99 flat fee
  • Money-back guarantee
Talk to an attorney now

Can't find what you're looking for?

Ask span5@2x

Ask a question on our public forum.

Ask a lawyer
Or@2x
Instant span6@2x

Have an attorney contact you privately.

Right now.

Icon lock@2x
Secure conversation. Your details remain between you and your attorney.
Icon clock@2x
Get an answer guaranteed. Be assured that a lawyer will contact you to help with your legal issue.
Start your session now