What are the penalties for have received a BUI? Will they take into account that I received a DUI two years ago?
Washington law prohibits anyone from operating under the influence (OUI). This means operating any vessel while under the influence of intoxicating liquor or any drug. Washington law states that a person is boating under the influence if he or she: Has a blood or breath alcohol concentration of 0.08 grams or greater or …
Is under the influence of or affected by alcohol and/or any drug. Washington law establishes the following penalties for operating under the influence (OUI).
A person convicted of OUI may be imprisoned in the county jail for up to 90 days, be fined up to $1,000, or both. In addition, the court may order the defendant to pay restitution for any damages or injuries resulting from the offense. If someone dies or is seriously injured as the result of another person boating while intoxicated, the convicted person also may be charged with a felony, punishable by imprisonment in a state correctional institution and a substantial fine. Unlike a DUI, Boating OUI's do not require mandatory jail time and does not involve license suspension.
In Georgia, BUI is not currently punished by license suspension. The offender's right to operate a vessel on the waterways of Georgia can be suspended, however. BUI can carry fines of up to $1000 plus surcharges, and up to 12 months in custody. Judges are given wide latitude in sentencing, and can add community service hours, alcohol and drug screening and more.
Get free answers from experienced attorneys.
28,301 answers this week
2,949 attorneys answering
Don't speak legalese? We define thousands of terms in plain English.Browse our legal dictionary