Legal Advice for Renting — 63 results
Written by attorney James Studt, almost 6 years ago. STAFF PICK
READ THIS FIRST! This guide is an informal description of the process of issuing a notice to pay rent or vacate to residential tenants in Washington state. This guide is applicable ONLY in... more
Written by attorney Thomas J Major, about 1 year ago.
A quick list of tenant-side dos and don'ts in preparation for the court date in a NJ nonpayment of rent landlord-tenant case. Do: Have all of your receipts, canceled checks, money orders... more
Written by attorney Waine C Riches, over 1 year ago.
If a tenant is behind in rent, a landlord may serve the tenant with a Three Day Pay or Quit eviction notice.
Many landlords use theeviction program on the Utah State Courts' web site:... more
Written by attorney Andrew Esposito, almost 2 years ago.
Recently, I had a client consult that brought up some questions that I do not hear frequently, but strike me as very common.
If a tenant pays "X" amount per month for a period of years as... more
Written by attorney David Carrera, over 1 year ago.
There are a number of factors that determine the timeline of a Florida eviction. The time period and complexity of an eviction varies among rental situations and jurisdictions within the... more
Written by attorney Sean P DuBois, over 1 year ago.
If you have rental car coverage on your own policy, good for you! It's not common, but it's a good idea. This guide is for those who have been in an accident, do not have that on their own... more
Written by attorney Jonathan Warrick, 27 days ago.
Form 5 should be used if only eviction of the Tenant is sought. Form 5A should be used to evict the Tenant and recover damages (past due rent).
FORM NOTES ARE FOR INFORMATIONAL PURPOSES... more
Written by attorney Thomas J Major, about 2 years ago.
New Jersey is one of only four states that provide for rent control. Jersey City is one of 98 municipalities that enacted local rent-control laws. While Hoboken and Bayonne recently... more
Written by attorney Douglas Wright, over 2 years ago.
If a tenant has a lease for more than 30 days, the rent cannot be increased during that lease unless the lease provides for an increase.
By comparison, if the tenant has a periodic rental... more
Written by attorney Jonathan Warrick, 4 months ago.
If the Tenant fails to pay rent when due and the default continues for three (3) days (excluding Saturday, Sunday, and legal holidays) after delivery of written demand by the Landlord for... more
Find Landlord & Tenant Lawyers