Legal Advice for Emancipation of Minors — 6 results
Written by attorney Michael Bugni, almost 5 years ago.
Minor emancipation is quite rare. It can be initiated (in Juvenile Court) by parent or child. Usually it's the child who petitions, for reasons of financial independence, or, for example,... more
Written by attorney Mary Commander, about 5 years ago.
Who Can File? Any minor who has reached the age of sixteen or any parent or guardian of such a minor can file. Where Do You File? A petition is filed in the Juvenile and Domestic Relations... more
Written by attorney Mary Brown, over 3 years ago.
Emancipated means â€œfree from restraint, control, or the power of another.â€ New York law defines an emancipated minor as being between the ages of 16 and 21.
Written by attorney Thomas Daley, 5 months ago.
Many teens believe they can leave their parents' home when they turn 17. In Texas, that is NOT the rule. This guide explains what teens can and cannot do under Texas law. When can a teen... more
Written by attorney Mary Milek, almost 4 years ago.
In Mississippi, child support is paid until a child reaches
the age of 21, unless the minor has otherwise emancipated himself/herself.
(8) (a) The duty of
support of a child... more
Written by attorney Sean Mccumber, over 4 years ago.
can be wronged, they can wrong, and they can be in need of protection or
relief. However, it is well-recognized
that minors lack the capacity to bring legal actions or defend... more