On February 24, 1863, President Abraham Lincoln signed a bill creating the Arizona Territory. Other names for this new territory had been considered, including Montezuma, Arizuma, Arizonia, Pimeria, and Gadsonia. On Valentine's Day, 1912, Arizona became the last of the lower 48 states to be admitted to the United States.