Shelby Blundell Burns’s Reviews

Shelby Blundell Burns

Average Rating

Based on 10 reviews

Help make it easier for other Avvo users to choose the right lawyer by sharing your experience with this attorney. It's fast, simple, and safe.

Review this lawyer

Lawyers: Use the Peer Endorsements section to provide input about other attorneys.


  1. A Personal Style That Made a Traumatic Time More Bearable

    Posted by a Criminal Defense client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Shelby Burns.
    • I hired Shelby 1-6 months ago.
    • Shelby handled my Criminal Defense matter.

    When I met Shelby, I was extremely frightened & upset. I had never been in trouble in my life. While in a deep depression, I attempted to take my life with a gun, but was stopped by the police. In the process, an officer thought it prudent to add insult to injury by charging me with unlawful carrying of a weapon. Although this was in Montgomery County, Shelby still took my case. He listened to every detail of my story and asked questions all along. He immediately supported my interests & gave me encouragement. He gave me ideas of documents to gather to support my position in court, & he gave me his cell phone number and email so that I could contact him whenever I felt the need. After our very first meeting, I left feeling much more comfortable and confident than when I had come in.

    During the process, we communicated frequently, and Shelby was always encouraging and upbeat. He worked it out so that I only had to attend one of many court settings, & he remained tenacious with the prosecutor until he eventually convinced him that dismissal of my case was the right (& the only right) thing to do, which was not an easy battle!

    My impression of Shelby from the beginning, & throughout the entire process, was of an attorney who cared about my specific situation & was interested in fighting for an outcome that was fair and just.

    I am very thankful that I found Shelby at this difficult time in my life.

  2. Excellent at what he does!

    Posted by a DUI client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Shelby Burns.
    • I hired Shelby 6-12 months ago.
    • Shelby handled my DUI / DWI matter.

    Shelby Burns was an excellent attorney for me. He is down to earth and I could tell he was serious about his job to represent me and he also had a trustworthy spirit to him that made me feel comfortable. I was arrested and charged with DWI and Shelby was able to understand and answer any and all questions that I had regarding the law and my case. He gave me his cell phone number and was accessible at all times. He help me win my ALR hearing and ultimately was able to get the case reduced to a Obstruction of a Roadway with a $0 fine and no probation or other hoops to jump through. In the end I did not have my license suspended or get convicted of driving while intoxicated. I highly recommend Shelby Burns hopefully I won't ever get in this situation again but if I did or know someone who will Mr. Burns is the man for the job!!!

  3. Wife's Bogus Criminal Abuse Case Dismissed

    Posted by a Domestic Violence client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Shelby Burns.
    • I hired Shelby 6-12 months ago.
    • Shelby handled my Domestic Violence matter.

    I am suffering from medical disabilities and my wife chose this time to try to frame me for family violence against her (physical assault claimed). I found Shelby as he is a partner to a firm my divorce lawyer recommended for criminal defense cases. I immediately scheduled a meeting to discuss my case. Shelby listened carefully to my situation and came up with a short list of things I could provide him to help my case. Given the situation, he felt confident that he could get my case dismisssed. This was a very scary and stressful situation, especially in my poor physical condition. I hired him at the end of our meeting as I felt confident he was listening and understood my case. I was given 24 hr contact numbers for him and the firm's staff and a good introductory package was sent to me to help me understand the criminal law process as I had never been involved in any criminal or legal problems before. Shelby represented me at the hearings. The prosecutor offered to reduce the charges to a Class C Misdemeanor, but Shelby advised that I should refuse this and continue to fight for dismissal, so we set the case for trial to force them to take action on my case. Shelby continued to keep contact with the prosecutor and ultimately, the prosecutor backed down and dropped the charges, so I did not need to go to trial and the case was dismissed. Shelby kept me informed at each step and after each discussion with the prosecutor which gave me confidence he would be able to achieve justice for me, which he did. He is now finishing up on expunging my record so this bogus action by my wife won't hurt me in the future.

  4. assault case

    Posted by a Family client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Shelby Burns.
    • I hired Shelby 6-12 months ago.
    • Shelby handled my Family matter.

    Shelby Burns comes highly recommended, I was charged with assulting my ex-wife which was a complete false statement, I needed someone to help me out and thats where Mr. Burns comes in, not only did he help with getting my case dismissed but was ready to go to trail to prove my innocence. Mr. Burns was always there to answer any questions that I had and gave his cell phone number to me and told me to call at any time. I would recommend Shelby Burns to anyone looking for help in there case. Mr. Burns is a great person, easy to talk to and an outstanding lawyer.

  5. A great experience doing a terrible time in life

    Posted by Eddie, a Criminal Defense client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Shelby Burns.
    • I hired Shelby 6-12 months ago.
    • Shelby handled my Criminal Defense matter.

    Mr. Shelby Burns was truly the answer to my prayers. While in Houston to partipicate in a basketball tournament during to summer. My son was arrested for theft in the Mall. With me being from out of town and not knowing how the law works in Houston, Tx I was at a lost as what to do. When i finally bailed my son out I was told that his court date would be the following Friday so that meant another trip back to Houston. This is where in stepped Mr. Burns to help me with my understanding. So when I called Mr. Burns on that Sunday and told him what had happen and that we had to back in court next Friday. He immediately accepted the case and said that he would go to court to see if he could get the court date pulled back until my son graduated from high which was about a month away. He did just that too. Before we ended our first meeting he gave me his cellphone number and told me to use it anytime I need to. I can say everytime I called or texted he answer quickly which let me no My case was in good hands. During the whole situation, Mr Burns made it so that we only had to travel to Houston once for court all the other times he went for us. In conclusion, Mr. Burn worked hard on my son's case and got all charges dismissed for the best conclusion possible. He is an excellent lawyer and I would tell anybody if they want a great lawyer call Mr. Shelby Burns.

  6. Knowledgeable, courteous and dependable attorney

    Posted by Erica, a DUI client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Shelby Burns.
    • I hired Shelby 1-3 years ago.
    • Shelby handled my DUI / DWI matter.

    Seven months ago, I would have never imagined that I would be arrested for DWI, nor need an attorney to help guide me through such a situation. Thankfully, I was referred to Shelby Burns.

    From the very beginning, Shelby handled my case in a professional manner and walked me through the process. He always made himself accessible and provided quick response to my questions and concerns. I especially appreciated his skills and tenacity in getting me in the Intervention program when the court I was assigned to didn’t allow for accident cases to participate in the program. However, through my assessment results and Shelby’s relationship with the judge, he was able to get me into the program that will result in my case being dismissed!

    Shelby is a very knowledgeable, courteous and dependable attorney. I would highly recommend him to someone in need of a good representation.

  7. Avvo Review of Shelby Burns

    Posted by Billy, a Criminal Defense client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Shelby Burns.
    • I hired Shelby 1-3 years ago.
    • Shelby handled my Criminal Defense matter.
    • I have previously worked with 3-5 lawyers.

    My case was an alcohal related offense. From the intial meeting with Mr. Burns I was impressed with the manner in which he carried himself. I appreciated how direct and honest Mr. Burns was, he did not provide any information that was misleading. Mr. Burns provided his cell number and made himself available each time I called with concerns or questions regarding my case. My case of course was dismissed, thanks to the representation of Mr. Burns..

    I am pleased with Mr. Burns representation on behalf of Thiessen Law Firm and will recommend his services to others in alcohol related offenses.

  8. The Big-Brother Lawyer

    Posted by Sean, a DUI client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Shelby Burns.
    • I hired Shelby 6-12 months ago.
    • Shelby handled my DUI / DWI matter.
    • I have previously worked with no lawyers.

    This was my first time going to court for a Public Intoxication charge, and the first time needing a lawyer period. Shelby Burns reassured me, after getting a detailed description of my case, that he would do his best to help me. Going into court I was confident in his abilities, and relaxed, knowing he was representing me. He fought for my case, and I was VERY pleased with the results. Shelby Burns is a lawyer that will fight for you like a big brother.

  9. DWI Dismissal

    Posted by a DUI client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Shelby Burns.
    • I hired Shelby 6-12 months ago.
    • Shelby handled my DUI / DWI matter.
    • I have previously worked with no lawyers.

    My experience with Shelby Burns was definitely commendable. I was dealing with a DWI, and had failed a field sobriety test and breathalyzer tests with a .22 and .24 blood alcohol levels. He was very helpful in answering any questions I had about my case, including those that may be considered "simple". Shelby also took the time to explain every court document that I was required to sign and any follow-up question that stemmed from these documents. He did a great job in prepping me for my appearance in front of the judge, explaining to me what was about to happen and advising me on what to say. The most exceptional fact that I can share about Shelby, is that despite my high breath test, Shelby got my case dismissed during my first appearance in court. This being a very rare instance, I am completely grateful for his knowledge, guidance, and judgement on my DWI case. Even after the case was dismissed, he stayed and explained exactly what the dismissal meant for me, and contacted me the next day as well. I would highly recommend Shelby as legal council. His judgement lead to a very, very unlikely DWI case dismissal, saving me from probation, court appearances, an ignition interlock device on my car, and a lot of fees. He definitely has the knowledge to help someone get out of a tough situation.

  10. NO NEED TO FEAR SHELBY IS HERE !!!!!! FIRST CLASS OUTSTANDING ATTORNEY

    Posted by a Criminal Defense client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Shelby Burns.
    • I hired Shelby 1-3 years ago.
    • Shelby handled my Criminal Defense matter.
    • I have previously worked with no lawyers.

    A few months ago after a couple of drinks and an argument with my boyfriend i walked accross the street to my neighbors and I was charged with criminal trespassing :( ( so stupid of me). I spent the night in jail and really was scared. I knew I had to get this off my record quick and I wanted some one confident, smart, friendly helpful and professional. I met a few attorneys about 3-4 till I came across the Thiessen Law Firm and I knew then I found my attorney.
    This was quick and to the point I could tell in our conversation that this was simple and he could take care of it ASAP. I was also able to pay in 2 payments and when I informed Shelby Burns that I needed till the end of the week he was flexible and understanding.
    I only had to go to court 2 times and Shelby got it dismissed!!!
    I would definitely recommend SHELBY BURNS to my friends and family. This is the Attorney that can really take care of anything and give you peace of mind.
    P.S I'm back with my boyfriend
    THANK YOU SHELBY ❤