Shelby Blundell Burns’s Reviews

Shelby Blundell Burns

Average Rating

Based on 18 reviews

Help make it easier for other Avvo users to choose the right lawyer by sharing your experience with this attorney. It's fast, simple, and safe.

Review this lawyer

Lawyers: Use the Peer Endorsements section to provide input about other attorneys.


  1. 1st DWI arrest/ Reduction of Charge

    Posted by Ryan, a DUI client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Shelby Burns.
    • I hired Shelby 1-3 years ago.
    • Shelby handled my DUI / DWI matter.
    • I have previously worked with no lawyers.

    Shelby Burns Helped me tremedously in my 1 DWI arrest case. Shelby personally gave me his cell phone number to answer the many questions I had during this long and tediuos process. I was stopped in Waller Co. and provided a specimen of .12 BAC. Though after cross examining the arresting officer, (that was a sergeant), Shebly was able to get the case reduced to Obstruction of Roadway with a $500 fine and no probation. He had a plan and avoided my conviction of driving while intoxicated. I suggest Shelby if you are in need of some good representaion.

  2. Shelby Burns will fight your case.....

    Posted by Joseph, a DUI client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Shelby Burns.
    • I hired Shelby 1-6 months ago.
    • Shelby handled my DUI / DWI matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    I was arrested for an accident that involved alcohol. When the cops arrived I was barely conscious and smelt like liquor. I was not able to blow, so they took my blood samples. I was sent to the toughest DUI/DWI judge in court 14 downtown. Shelby Burns did not just walk through this case he fought against the report the police gave and eventually did what not many lawyers can do in court 14 he got my case dismissed on lack of evidence, I still can not believe it. If you want to beat your case hire Shelby Burns you can not afford a DUI/DWI on your record today.

  3. Thank You Shelby!!

    Posted by a client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    • I recommend Shelby Burns.

    A couple of months ago I was arrested for Failure to Stop and Give Information and was facing up to 6 months in jail. I was very scared because I had never been in any kind of trouble before. Shelby put my fears at ease by being patient and explaining all of the legal jargon, providing his cell phone number so that I could contact him at anytime, and understanding. In the end, I was so thankful that he was able to get my case dismissed. I definitely feel like I have my life back! Thank you Shelby!

  4. DWI Reduced to OBR

    Posted by a client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Shelby Burns.

    I was involved in an accident after leaving a night club. I was arrensted for "Driving While Intoxicated". Mr. Burns gave me his cell phone number and was accessible by phone at all times. Mr. Burns did a great job representing me. He was able to get my case reduced to a "Obstruction of a Roadway" with only a $300.00 fine and no probation. The matter is closed and I have no other obligations from it.

  5. Highly Recommend

    Posted by a DUI client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Shelby Burns.
    • I hired Shelby 1-6 months ago.
    • Shelby handled my DUI / DWI matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    I hired Shelby after hiring another well known DWI lawyer that got me the worst possible deal alive on a 1st offense DWI- intensive probation that would have cost me my job. In 1 month, Shelby turned my case around and got me 1 year probation with no fine! He gave me his cell phone number and was accessible at all times. Every time I had a question, he answered me straight forward and did not give me the run around. Even though he cost way less than my first lawyer, he got me such a better deal and was way more professional. I would recommend him to anyone, especially going through a DWI. Just because other lawyers charge more, doesn't mean they are on your side or going to get you the best deal possible. Considering the facts of my case, Shelby got me a great deal.




    AVVO.com is an attorney review website. There are a lot of attorneys out there that do not care about their clients, and only through reviews like yours can a potential client tell the difference between those that do not care and those that do and are willing to fight.

  6. Great Job!

    Posted by Matthew Hoffman, a Criminal Defense client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Shelby Burns.
    • I hired Shelby 6-12 months ago.
    • Shelby handled my Criminal Defense matter.
    • I have previously worked with more than 10 lawyers.

    The purpose of this note is to provide a most favorable review for Attorney Shelby Burns. I referred my brother-in-law to him for his motion to revoke probation. He was flexible on the fee, gave us his cell phone number and he got the case dismissed in a very timely manner. I will be referring to him, again.

  7. Mr. Burns: TRUSTWORTHY, FRIENDLY & RELIABLE

    Posted by a DUI client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Shelby Burns.
    • I hired Shelby 6-12 months ago.
    • Shelby handled my DUI / DWI matter.
    • I have previously worked with 3-5 lawyers.

    From the moment Mr. Burns heard my case I ultimately became at ease. The previous lawyers I had sought had all wanted to go for immediate prohibition. However doing so would have been admitting to driving under the influence, which I refused to accepted. I had just turned 18 at the time and a DUI would have put my college acceptances and my multiple scholarships in jeopardy. My future was at stake and Mr. Burns took it upon himself to make sure that he did everything possible to have it go untarnished. From the very first meeting he had already told me how he was going to go about the case and was very confident about my case. From there on we were in constant communication by email or his personal cellphone. Any question or concern he had a quick reply. I only had to go to court once and even through that Shelby sat with me. The day of my court the judge was not there but there was a prosecutor and that is who Shelby sought out to speak with. Shelby had gathered my college acceptance letters, scholarship letters, volunteer hours, resumes and recommendation letter from teachers and showed them to this prosecutor who was really pushing for conviction. In the end my case was dismissed. Shelby is friendly, understanding, he accommodates to you and very easy going. He made such a scary and traumatic moment in my life easy. Lawyers can be overwhelming but Mr. Shelby Burns is humble and ready to fight for you. I would recommend him to anyone at anytime without a doubt.

  8. DWI Dismissed!!

    Posted by Elizabeth, a DUI client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Shelby Burns.
    • I hired Shelby more than 3 years ago.
    • Shelby handled my DUI / DWI matter.
    • I have previously worked with no lawyers.

    On September 21, 2013 I was arrested for a DWI in Harris County. The driving facts of my case was damning evidence given the fact I had traveled at least 8 mins the wrong way on a highway and when questioned by the officer I told him I was in Austin when in fact I was in Crosby. From the moment I spoke with Mr. Burns my concerns were put at ease as much as possible. He willingly gave me me his cell phone number and told me to call or text anytime I had a question. Even given the evidence against me Mr. Burns was stead fast and fought for me every step of the way. Ultimately his knowledge of the law lead to a complete dismissal on April 17, 2014. Mr. Burns was always professional and it was obvious he is respected by his peers. I highly recommend him as an attorney that WILL fight for you and not back down!

  9. A Personal Style That Made a Traumatic Time More Bearable

    Posted by a Criminal Defense client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Shelby Burns.
    • I hired Shelby 6-12 months ago.
    • Shelby handled my Criminal Defense matter.

    When I met Shelby, I was extremely frightened & upset. I had never been in trouble in my life. While in a deep depression, I attempted to take my life with a gun, but was stopped by the police. In the process, an officer thought it prudent to add insult to injury by charging me with unlawful carrying of a weapon. Although this was in Montgomery County, Shelby still took my case. He listened to every detail of my story and asked questions all along. He immediately supported my interests & gave me encouragement. He gave me ideas of documents to gather to support my position in court, & he gave me his cell phone number and email so that I could contact him whenever I felt the need. After our very first meeting, I left feeling much more comfortable and confident than when I had come in.

    During the process, we communicated frequently, and Shelby was always encouraging and upbeat. He worked it out so that I only had to attend one of many court settings, & he remained tenacious with the prosecutor until he eventually convinced him that dismissal of my case was the right (& the only right) thing to do, which was not an easy battle!

    My impression of Shelby from the beginning, & throughout the entire process, was of an attorney who cared about my specific situation & was interested in fighting for an outcome that was fair and just.

    I am very thankful that I found Shelby at this difficult time in my life.

  10. Excellent at what he does!

    Posted by a DUI client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Shelby Burns.
    • I hired Shelby 6-12 months ago.
    • Shelby handled my DUI / DWI matter.

    Shelby Burns was an excellent attorney for me. He is down to earth and I could tell he was serious about his job to represent me and he also had a trustworthy spirit to him that made me feel comfortable. I was arrested and charged with DWI and Shelby was able to understand and answer any and all questions that I had regarding the law and my case. He gave me his cell phone number and was accessible at all times. He help me win my ALR hearing and ultimately was able to get the case reduced to a Obstruction of a Roadway with a $0 fine and no probation or other hoops to jump through. In the end I did not have my license suspended or get convicted of driving while intoxicated. I highly recommend Shelby Burns hopefully I won't ever get in this situation again but if I did or know someone who will Mr. Burns is the man for the job!!!

Call now to schedule your free face-to-face case evaluation!!!

713-702-9962