Sequitta Marilyn Leigh Banks’s Reviews

Sequitta Marilyn Leigh Banks

Average Rating

Based on 7 reviews

Help make it easier for other Avvo users to choose the right lawyer by sharing your experience with this attorney. It's fast, simple, and safe.

Review this lawyer

Lawyers: Use the Peer Endorsements section to provide input about other attorneys.


  1. She went to the mat for me!

    Posted by Madeline, a Family client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Good
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Sequitta Banks.
    • I hired Sequitta 1-3 years ago.
    • Sequitta handled my Family matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    The first time I met with Ms Banks, I thought she might not be tough enough for my case. She was very polite and sweet in the consult, took lots of notes and listened to me. Boy was I wrong. She was like a pit bull dealing with my ex huband who stole from our children and me. He was trying to get out of paying me child support and support and she did not back down even when his attorney used my job against me (I have to work long hours now and taking care of 2 kids is hard). Ms Banks ran circles around that guy and I will be forever grateful. She is top notch.

  2. Unsatisfactory

    Posted by a Family client,
    Overall rating
     Poor
    Trustworthy
     Poor
    Responsive
     Poor
    Knowledgeable
     Poor
    Kept me informed
     Poor
    • I do not recommend Sequitta Banks.
    • I hired Sequitta 6-12 months ago.
    • Sequitta handled my Family matter.

    This is the worst Lawyer I have ever seen please steer clear. She was unprepared and did not do her job and over charged me. I gave her all my evidence and none was presented.

  3. Mr. and Mrs. Wrong (The Wrights)

    Posted by a Child Custody client,
    Overall rating
     Good
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Average
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Average
    • I recommend Sequitta Banks.
    • I hired Sequitta 1-3 years ago.
    • Sequitta handled my Child Custody matter.

    Mrs. Banks represented my husband and I fairly recently and I found her to be a knowledgeable, decent and fair attorney. We worked to sort out every detail of the case and the outcome was favorable.
    On the flip side, I would like to share some minor improvements. I do believe that her follow-up needs improvement, whether it be via email or by telephone. That length of time needs to be shortened for any attorney to follow-up with a client. Also, I think she should work on being more aggressive in the courtroom in terms of delivery of case details. If these minor changes would occur, I believe Mrs. Banks will continue to be a good attorney.

  4. International Custody Case

    Posted by Samuel, a Child Custody client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Sequitta Banks.
    • I hired Sequitta 1-3 years ago.
    • Sequitta handled my Child Custody matter.

    Hello,

    My case was a complicated international custody case. Before I secured the services of Ms. Banks, I was working with an attorney that didn't show empathy for my case and was terrible at getting back to me.

    Then, I started looking for a new attorney and interviewed three family law practitioners. Of the three, Ms. Banks was the only one that showed compassion, competency and had a grasp of the facts of the case in our first meeting.

    During the entire process, the communication was great. Ms. Banks (or her Legal Assistant, Ms. Asghar) would follow up with me over the phone or via email, and they would always return my calls. Ms. Asghar was equally competent as she was the one dealing with service of process overseas.

    There were ups and downs during the process but during the hearing we obtained sole and full custody for my children which was more than what we anticipated.

    To my friends or anyone who asks, I would certainly recommend Ms. Banks for any cases involving family law.

    Thank you.

    S.

  5. Be VERY careful of using this attorney's services...!

    Posted by a Divorce client,
    Overall rating
     Poor
    Trustworthy
     Poor
    Responsive
     Poor
    Knowledgeable
     Poor
    Kept me informed
     Poor
    • I do not recommend Sequitta Banks.
    • I hired Sequitta 1-3 years ago.
    • Sequitta handled my Divorce / Separation matter.

    She conviced me to hire her even though I had managed to properly serve my husband for me to receive spousal support.The judge awarded me my spousal support from my own efforts of filing my own papers and Sequitta sabotaged my efforts, and moved my case to another court, my payments from my husband stopped and now facing homelessness due from her irresponsibility and lack of moral character to only take the only money I had to survive with and to complicate my case off track! When she moved my case from JDR court to a higher court, she did NOT have proof of service to my husband and the judge threw it out! She still has not to date gave me any correspondence to the status of my case and had the nerve to cut and paste a report I did on my own, and gave to the opposing attorney, but still billed me for many hours of work that she did not do...While she had my case, I had to file bk-7 from my husband's debts and was still paying her Watch out for this person. She severly messed up the case where I have to get another attorney to straighten out her dirty deeds.

    1. Sequitta Marilyn Leigh Banks

      Sequitta Banks

      Lawyer Comment:

      This is not an accurate description of the case process. This client was unhappy based on other issues that had nothing to do with my services. Based on confidentiality, I will not state what those issues were.

      Posted 11 months ago. Flag

  6. One Of The Best Days Ever, Sequitta Brings The Truth To Life.

    Posted by Mike, a Child Custody client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Sequitta Banks.
    • I hired Sequitta 1-3 years ago.
    • Sequitta handled my Child Custody matter.
    • I have previously worked with 3-5 lawyers.

    I hired Sequitta Banks, and her team when It was all most to late, I had made so many mistakes with another attorney and by representing myself that when we finally got to trial I was not allowed any witness and or documents, e-mails, pictures, etc. The other side had a high power attorney that was on the cover of magazines as the up and coming attorney of the year, and she had a three ring binder full of e-mails, and expert witness that testified against us. In the end we won 100% custody of my little girl. Seuquitta found other ways to get evidence introduced, and brought the truth to life.

    I have never seen an attorney roll up her sleeves and get to work the way she did, Sequitta was just as emotionally invested as I was, she had met my daughter and knew what was a stake. My day in court turned into one of the best days of my life. Thank You The Banks Law Group.....

  7. Excellent Representation!

    Posted by a DUI client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Sequitta Banks.
    • I hired Sequitta 1-3 years ago.
    • Sequitta handled my DUI / DWI matter.
    • I have previously worked with no lawyers.

    Ms. Banks handled a DWI case for me. She was very easy to communicate with and would always respond to phone calls or emails in a prompt manner. Ms. Banks always provided me with exceptional advice and reassurance when needed. I appreciated that she was truthful in what to expect with both best and worst case scenarios, and confident that she would get me the best outcome possible. I always felt that she had my best interest at hand while dealing with my case. Ms. Banks is extremely trustworthy and an upstanding woman of good moral character.

Call now for a free consultation.

703-594-4900