Sean Patrick Gjerde’s Reviews

Sean Patrick Gjerde

Average Rating

Based on 20 reviews

Help make it easier for other Avvo users to choose the right lawyer by sharing your experience with this attorney. It's fast, simple, and safe.

Review this lawyer

Lawyers: Use the Peer Endorsements section to provide input about other attorneys.


  1. Dishonest Attorney Sentenced to prison! Woohoo!!!!

    Posted by a Child Support client,
    Overall rating
     Poor
    Trustworthy
     Poor
    Responsive
     Poor
    Knowledgeable
     Poor
    Kept me informed
     Poor
    • I do not recommend Sean Gjerde.
    • I hired Sean more than 3 years ago.
    • Sean handled my Child Support matter.

    I would give no stars is I could. This guy is the stereotypical sleazy lawyer. He's currently barred from practicing law in California. He ripped off my wife for $2500 in a child support case. He's been sentenced in federal court to 2.5 years in prison for a mortgage fraud scheme. He has or had 18 disciplinary cases against him from the California Bar Association.

  2. Never hire him, money sucker.

    Posted by a Family client,
    Overall rating
     Poor
    Trustworthy
     Poor
    Responsive
     Poor
    Knowledgeable
     Fair
    Kept me informed
     Poor
    • I do not recommend Sean Gjerde.
    • I hired Sean more than 3 years ago.
    • Sean handled my Family matter.
    • I have previously worked with no lawyers.

    I hired Gjerde for family matter, he was awful, never send for me any bill, just asking for money . Never sent for me any copy of any documents. His assisstant, she is his gilrl friend too, no seriousneous in any work. I fired him.

  3. Please Do NOT hire this money grabber.

    Posted by sher, a Family client,
    Overall rating
     Poor
    Trustworthy
     Poor
    Responsive
     Poor
    Knowledgeable
     Fair
    Kept me informed
     Poor
    • I do not recommend Sean Gjerde.
    • I hired Sean more than 3 years ago.
    • Sean handled my Family matter.
    • I have previously worked with no lawyers.

    It would be best to find someone else. Certainly NOT RESPONSIVE. Pads the billing. This guy charged me for answering the ad on Craigslist - $50!!!! I am talking the ad to see if I wanted to hire him!!! In other words, I hadn't even hired him yet - but he charged me for CALLING him. He may be knowledgeable; but I don't know because I never talked to him or got any counseling about my case since the day I walked in and handed him a hefty reatainer. Even then, I never received "counseling." Not by a long shot. Kept me informed? That's almost funny. I had to BEG to even get to his law clerk! For which I was charged a great amount of money. I would stay away from this shyster .... he doesn't care about you; your problem; or anything else. He only cares about making as much money off of you as possible. I am taking him to arbitration ...

  4. A Caring, Intelligent Attorney...Hire Him!

    Posted by a Chapter 7 client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Sean Gjerde.
    • I hired Sean more than 3 years ago.
    • Sean handled my Bankruptcy / Chapter 7 matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    Sean helped us with our guardianship and took care of our bankruptcy for us. He responded to our concerns quickly and took care of everything for us. He cares very much about us and our family. He has given friends of ours hours of his time free of charge. I would recommend him for any legal problem.

  5. Very professional and responsive

    Posted by DeVera, a Chapter 7 client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Sean Gjerde.
    • I hired Sean more than 3 years ago.
    • Sean handled my Bankruptcy / Chapter 7 matter.
    • I have previously worked with 3-5 lawyers.

    I am so happy I found you Sean! I don't know what I would have done without you. I didn't understand a lot of what was happening, but I know that you took very good care of me. I am appreciative and will hopefully never need your services again, but if I do, I know who I am calling!

  6. DON'T HIRE THIS GUY!

    Posted by Andy, a Chapter 13 client,
    Overall rating
     Poor
    Trustworthy
     Poor
    Responsive
     Poor
    Knowledgeable
     Poor
    Kept me informed
     Poor
    • I do not recommend Sean Gjerde.
    • I hired Sean more than 3 years ago.
    • Sean handled my Bankruptcy / Chapter 13 matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    Horrible! DON’T HIRE SEAN PATRICK GJERDE. Nothing but excuses and incompetence. DON’T PAY HIM UP FRONT. I paid all of the money up front, but then I didn’t hear from him again until I called to find out why my case was dismissed!

    Mr. Gjerde lost my bankruptcy case after he failed to show up for a court hearing. Mr. Gjerde took my money and never even filed a complete application with the court. He failed to file some of the paperwork for the initial application for bankruptcy. When the court scheduled a hearing about the missing paperwork, Gjerde didn’t show up, so my case was dismissed. I had to wait six months to re-file. I lost my house.

    Even though he never filed a complete application for bankruptcy, he kept all of my money and refused to refund anything. To add insult to injury, when I looked at the final bill, he even charged me for the phone call I made to his office asking why my case was dismissed! Find somebody else to represent you.

  7. WHAT A GREAT ATTORNEY!

    Posted by KWALKER, a Family client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Good
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Sean Gjerde.
    • I hired Sean more than 3 years ago.
    • Sean handled my Family matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    All I can say is I am so happy that I found this office. I was going through a bad divorce and the attorney I had didtn have time for me and I was losing everything in court.
    I found Mr. Gjerd by a coupon in the mail and thought it was a great deal. $500 off and a FREE consultation?! Great. His office was so nice on the phone and got me in for an appointment THAT DAY. When I sat down for the appointment he totally put me at ease. For the first time in a year I finally felt like I could give my ex what he had coming to him! HAHA. Well, I finished with Trial on Thursday and WE WON! Mr. Gjerd got me permanent spousal support, my home, and my ex's retirement! TALK ABOUT A DEALLL!!!

  8. Sean is a keeper!

    Posted by Bruce, a Child Custody client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Sean Gjerde.
    • I hired Sean more than 3 years ago.
    • Sean handled my Child Custody matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    I have worked with Sean for many years now. He has helped me with 2 very significant family law issues. He is fair and reasonable too. I recommend him to those who need an honest and professional attorney.

  9. Good value, good help!

    Posted by Jim, a Divorce client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Good
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Sean Gjerde.
    • I hired Sean more than 3 years ago.
    • Sean handled my Divorce / Separation matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    Sean handled my case with respect and responsiveness. He and his staff helped me navigate through a very difficult time in my life and left me with dignity and a value for their services that didn't break my budget!

  10. Money Well Spent

    Posted by a Criminal Defense client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Sean Gjerde.
    • I hired Sean more than 3 years ago.
    • Sean handled my Criminal Defense matter.
    • I have previously worked with 3-5 lawyers.

    Mr. Gjerde worked out an unbelievable deal for me in my Dui Case.
    Although I was under the influence of alcohol, I blew well below the .08 standard when I was pulled over by what seemed be an over zealous cop, that seemed determined to arrest me for

    I called a friend who informed me that He had some success in a criminal case using Mr. Gjerde as counsel.

    Mr. Gjerde explained to me step by step, the justice system, what to expect, and the possible out come of my Dui case, and how it would work in my favor, and as a result, the dui case against was dropped by the DA's office.