Michael P. Jacobs’s Reviews

Michael P. Jacobs

Average Rating

Based on 15 reviews

Help make it easier for other Avvo users to choose the right lawyer by sharing your experience with this attorney. It's fast, simple, and safe.

Review this lawyer

Lawyers: Use the Peer Endorsements section to provide input about other attorneys.


  1. He Gets Results

    Posted by a Estate Planning client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Michael Jacobs.
    • I hired Michael 1-3 years ago.
    • Michael handled my Estate Planning matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    I hired Mike Jacobs to help settle my mother’s estate, which was left equally to my sister and me and consisted mostly of a house. My sister had moved into the house after my mother’s death, and refused to cooperate with the sale of the house. Mr. Jacobs successfully had the court appoint a referee who talked my sister finally into vacating the house, the house was sold, and the proceeds were divided. He accomplished what I wasn’t able to accomplish on my own. He was compassionate, communicative, and fair. I would recommend him to anyone involved in trying to settle a difficult legal situation especially between family members.

  2. A Good Investment

    Posted by Leila, a Probate client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Michael Jacobs.
    • I hired Michael 1-3 years ago.
    • Michael handled my Probate matter.

    Mr. Jacobs secured an inheritance to which my family was entitled by law, but the attorney who was administering the estate had interpreted the law otherwise, and was not going to give my family our share of the estate. Mr. Jacobs researched Arizona law (residence of the deceased), and with clarity and graciousness, helped the estate's attorney see the error in her ways. He followed up, to verify that we had received our distribution and see if we had any remaining questions or concerns.

    So many people think that hiring an attorney is a waste of money or done only as a last-resort. We hired Mr. Jacobs as soon as we saw that the estate's attorney was not responsive to our calls. Even if we had not turned out to be legitimate heirs by law, it would have been worth the fee just to know where we stood. In this case, if we had not hired Mike Jacobs, we would have lost many thousands of dollars that were ours by law.

  3. Successful resolution to complex family conflict

    Posted by David, a Guardianship client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Good
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Michael Jacobs.
    • I hired Michael 1-3 years ago.
    • Michael handled my Guardianship matter.

    Worked with Mike on a very complex guardianship case. Specifically, Mike was the attorney working with the wife of a man who had advanced Alzhemier's. This was the second marriange for both and both had adult children from a previous marriage. There was conflict between the adult children of the husband and the wife of their father in regards to care that the husband/father was receiving in the home. A contested guardianship hearing resulted in the wife beign appointed as guardian of her husband and I being hired as a geriatric care manager. My role was to supervise the care in the home and report to the court. Thanks to Mike's role in handling conflict before it spun out of controt the result was a successful resolution with mimimial court involvement.

  4. We needed help to evict our renter's.

    Posted by Carolyn,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Michael Jacobs.
    • I hired Michael 1-3 years ago.

    Michael P. Jacobs helped us evict our renters. He informed us of our rights, wrote a great eviction letter and explained well the process for eviction. Because we knew exactly what to do, our renters did leave after a 20 day eviction notice to them. We are so grateful it all was done the right way and was so effective. We will not hesitate to contact Michael P. Jacobs again if we should need assistance with other renters for eviction. We consider him our attorney!

  5. Very helpful

    Posted by a Business client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Michael Jacobs.
    • I hired Michael 1-3 years ago.
    • Michael handled my Business matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    I needed to ask an attorney some questions about a contract. I had previously had a very bad experience with another attorney, so I was nervous about this meeting. Mr. Jacobs and his staff were professional at every step. They responded promptly to my questions. Mr. Jacobs came to my meeting prepared and had already reviewed the contract. He was pleasant, knowledgeable and answered all my questions. I recommend him highly and will use him again.

  6. Extremely Satisfied

    Posted by Nina, a Construction client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Michael Jacobs.
    • I hired Michael more than 3 years ago.
    • Michael handled my Construction / Development matter.
    • I have previously worked with 3-5 lawyers.

    I hired Michael Jacobs to file a suit against a contractor whose work was unsatisfactory. He provided timely and knowledgable service, with a positive end result. He kept me informed every step of the way and the resolution came much quicker than I ever expected. I would not hesitate to use Michael in the future-

  7. Very helpful

    Posted by Angel, a Real Estate client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Michael Jacobs.
    • I hired Michael more than 3 years ago.
    • Michael handled my Real Estate matter.
    • I have previously worked with 3-5 lawyers.

    I am a homeowner in Everett, WA and currently living in Honolulu, HI. I called Mr Jacob's law firm to help with a landlord/tenant issue, and received a call back within 30 minutes. Mr Jacobs was very understanding with me being in Hawaii, and was more than happy to answer my questions instead of turning me away because I wasn't there for a 'face to face' consultation. He was patient, listedned to my situation, took the time to explain my options and was able to give me peace of mind as a homeowner being so far away! If the matter isn't resolved, I look forward to hiring Mr Jacobs to be my attorney; I trust him to 'have my back' from 3000 miles away. Thank you, Mr Jacobs!!!

  8. Estate/Probate

    Posted by John, a Probate client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Michael Jacobs.
    • I hired Michael more than 3 years ago.
    • Michael handled my Probate matter.
    • I have previously worked with no lawyers.

    Outstanding help was provided. Mike explained the process clearly at the outset. Their office was extremely patient and thoughtful durung the emotionally painful process of losing our mother and selling our family home. Their guidance allowed for the discharge of the complicated responsibilities that fell to me as personal representative for the estate. It was truly a pleasure to work with them.

  9. A Great Example Of A Great Lawyer

    Posted by Robbin, a Business client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Michael Jacobs.
    • I hired Michael more than 3 years ago.
    • Michael handled my Business matter.
    • I have previously worked with 3-5 lawyers.

    Michael Jacobs has impressed me as both a lawyer and a person. If he accepts your case, it will be because he believes you are entitled to what you are fighting for and with this conviction he will dedicate himself to accomplishing the task of providing to a judge or mediator the justification of your case. He is truthful and forthright and expects the same from his clientel. Provide him with all the information about your case and he will provide to you an impressive and respectful representation.

  10. Ask Mike If You Are Buying A House

    Posted by Jessica, a Real Estate client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Michael Jacobs.
    • I hired Michael more than 3 years ago.
    • Michael handled my Real Estate matter.
    • I have previously worked with no lawyers.

    My boyfriend and I were in contract on the purchase of our first home. When the title company asked us how we wanted to "hold title" we were clueless. Even after significant internet research, we were still unsure of how to proceed. Enter Mike Jacobs.

    We found mike here on avvo.com; we also liked his website < www.riachgese.com&gt;. We sent him an email on a Friday night asking for help and he responded by Sunday night! Neither of the other two lawyers I emailed responded to our request at all (were we too small beans to even send a simple reply to?).

    Mike helped us decide how to hold title, and in addition, helped us craft a "Property Ownership Agreement" to define rights, responsibilities and expectations for our joint ownership of the house. My boyfriend and I specifically want to avoid a "community property" situation, and the agreement helps assure that our separate contributions remain separate. Mike listened carefully, understood our needs and translated it into something legally binding that will protect both my boyfriend and I under both normal and unexpected circumstances. What a relief!

    When the seller of the house became unresponsive during the inspection contingency period of the sale, we went to Mike again to find out what our rights and options were. Turns out that our primary options were to keep waiting or walk away. This wasn't what we wanted to hear, but we were glad to have the facts instead of fretting about whether we could legally do more to accelerate the situation.

    As of this writing, Mike's rates seem reasonable compared to rate information that I read online and have heard from others. All of the services described above, two in person meetings, as well as lots of prompt email exchanges and a number of phone calls came in under $600. We feel that this is a fair price.

    Mike is definitely an attorney that works for everyday people. There's no corporate feeling at all. Compared to all other parties we dealt with during the house purchase, Mike was definitely our best advocate and the one to be trusted.

425-776-3191