Kathryn Jones Boortz’s Reviews

Kathryn Jones Boortz

Average Rating

Based on 9 reviews

Help make it easier for other Avvo users to choose the right lawyer by sharing your experience with this attorney. It's fast, simple, and safe.

Review this lawyer

Lawyers: Use the Peer Endorsements section to provide input about other attorneys.


  1. Review of Kathryn Boortz's performance as attorney in Atlanta, GA

    Posted by a Car Accident client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Kathryn Boortz.
    • I hired Kathryn 6-12 months ago.
    • Kathryn handled my Car / Auto Accident matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    I have over 30 year's experience in industry both domestically and internationally. From my recent interactions with Ms Boortz I can highly recommend her skills as an outstanding attorney. She is experienced, ethical, and personable. She also has very good contacts / connections in the greater Atlanta area. From my viewpoint, Ms Boortz's representation can have a huge, positive outcome on a case with the desired results of a dismissal and / or reduction in a charge. If any member of your family need a caring professional's help in a situation where you are inexperienced we would strongly recommend you contact Kathryn Boortz. Without hesitation we would use Ms Boortz's services again in the future and also recommend her to all our contacts in Atlanta.

  2. Truly Exceptional

    Posted by JR, a Criminal Defense client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Kathryn Boortz.
    • I hired Kathryn 6-12 months ago.
    • Kathryn handled my Criminal Defense matter.
    • I have previously worked with 3-5 lawyers.

    Kathryn Boortz has assisted me twice. She first helped bring to resolution my original case which had some very unique mitigating circumstances, but I was nevertheless facing a very serious charge. She got to know me (personally) and the details of my case well enough to see that the usual penalties and future ramifications for this type of case (even with a favorable plea bargain -- based on this county's history with similar cases) were not justified.

    She really went outside the box in how she approached the prosecutor on the case, made a compelling argument on my behalf with all details firmly in her grasp, and convinced the prosecutor to nolle pros the original case completely and open another case with another charge in a whole other category under the law (not just a lesser included). This was a huge deal because 1) It had NEVER been done before in this county for this type of charge, 2) It allowed me to plea under the First Offender Act to have a future without this case haunting me forever, and 3) I was placed on probation only.

    The second time I worked with Ms. Boortz was to try to get that probation terminated early. Even though a petition to terminate probation is a fairly routine process (generally speaking), she gathered every possible detail about the original case (again), everything that has happened since then, and many other peripheral details that most attorneys wouldn't bother to look into.

    She worked her "outside the box" magic once again. Instead of just filing a Petition to Terminate and asking for a hearing, she arranged a meeting with the prosecutor, went in there armed with every conceivable piece of information she might need (and knew the information backward and forward in her mind as well!), and made a strong argument on my behalf. I should also say that this particular "category" of charge is not one for which this county typically entertains early terminations...especially on First Offender cases. Not only did Ms. Boortz succeed in getting my probation terminated early, she got it done with the prosecutor's support as a consent agreement so that no hearing would be required!

    I cannot thank her enough for her professionalism, her attention to detail, her creative solutions to daunting challenges, her knowledge of the system, and her determination to get the best possible result. Because of Kathryn Boortz, I have a second chance at a bright future!

  3. Outstanding!

    Posted by Ralph,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Kathryn Boortz.
    • I hired Kathryn 6-12 months ago.
    • I have previously worked with 3-5 lawyers.

    My first (and hopefully last) exposure to the criminal justice system in a long life arose from my own momentary misjudgment, resulting in a non-vehicular misdemeanor which could easily have gone very badly. Kathryn's representation made all the difference - she made sure I knew what to expect from the start without any sugar-coating, and her sincere and professional approach with the court made all the proceedings go as smoothly and quickly as one could possibly hope for. I received a full dismissal after satisfying some administrative conditions, and in far less time than I expected. I would enthusiastically recommend Kathryn to anyone.

  4. Would highly recommend

    Posted by Brad, a Criminal Defense client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Kathryn Boortz.
    • I hired Kathryn 1-3 years ago.
    • Kathryn handled my Criminal Defense matter.
    • I have previously worked with 3-5 lawyers.

    Kathryn did a great job handling my pretty difficult criminal defense case. She kept me well-informed as things progressed and I was very pleased with the outcome of my case and her professionalism and expertise.

  5. Ethical, Educated And Trustworthy Enough For Any Case

    Posted by JW, a Criminal Defense client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Kathryn Boortz.
    • I hired Kathryn 1-3 years ago.
    • Kathryn handled my Criminal Defense matter.

    Kathryn is one of the most humble, yet skilled, attorneys I know. Her passion and expertise go far beyond most in her field. And, I have never met any attorney with as much willingness to ensure proper client representation. She does her research, dots the "i's" and crosses the "t's" and is best known for her well-prepped client binders/folders. Not only would I endorse her, I have used her services on multiple occassions from major cases to minor estate documents. If you are looking for someone to believe has your best interest at heart, then look no further than Kathryn Boortz.

  6. Excellent Will Experience Tailored to Our Needs

    Posted by a Wills client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Kathryn Boortz.
    • I hired Kathryn 1-3 years ago.
    • Kathryn handled my Wills / Living Wills matter.

    Katy put together our will, power of attorney and health care directive. She helped us understand each document and answered all our questions. Her initial intake form was very thorough and helped us think through our decisions and options. Katy is friendly, easy to work with, quick to respond and knowledgable. She was also flexible with our schedule. Many attorneys in this space are plug and play and she tailored our documents to our needs.

  7. This lawyer doesn't care

    Posted by a White Collar Crime client,
    Overall rating
     Poor
    Trustworthy
     Poor
    Responsive
     Poor
    Knowledgeable
     Poor
    Kept me informed
     Poor
    • I do not recommend Kathryn Boortz.
    • I hired Kathryn 1-3 years ago.
    • Kathryn handled my White Collar Crime matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    I retained this lawyer for a Theft by Taking charge and was told it would cost me 5000.00, then as time went on they required another 10,000 for representation. I gave them all I had she never came to court with me she always had her paralegal respond then she decided to run up charges never told me she charged 400/ hour then decided to leave the firm. I ended up having to get a public defender and was railroaded on Gwinnett County.
    I do not recommend her as she does not really care it all dollar signs.

    1. Kathryn Jones Boortz

      Kathryn Boortz

      Lawyer Comment:

      We strive for the utmost in client satisfaction, and we’re sorry to hear that you had this experience. Please contact us directly so we can address your specific concerns. Thank you.

      Posted 4 months ago. Flag

  8. Looking at more than 35 years in prison , Mrs. kathryn Boortz got it to absolutely zero (0) day

    Posted by Robert, a Child Abuse client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Kathryn Boortz.
    • I hired Kathryn more than 3 years ago.
    • Kathryn handled my Child Abuse matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    I searched for a lawyer in my darkest hour and was led to Mrs . boortz and for every step through my legal unknown she guided me with sincerity and protection. She would always meet or call and plan strategies weeks ahead of a court appointment . After turning myself in , Mrs Boortz came the next day, the Judge told me I couldn't get bail thus triggering an immediate response from Mrs. Boortz ; " You got the authority to grant him bail your honor" The Judge became confuse as she took the time to correct him as to where in the law he could do that. He subsequently granted me bail after her proceedings.

    Over the next year and a half the prosecutor told me that I could be looking at 100 plus years in prison if i'm found guilty or about 35 years if served concurrently . However with much prayer and a great Lawyer who I will ever be grateful for I was placed on probation. Mrs. Boortz won all the major court request even one that the prosecutor thought she couldn't. I am soooooo thankful and appreciate the power of this smart and one of a kind Lawyer, Mrs Boortz if you can get a decision like that ! You should be publish and promoted on CNN. FOX. NBC. etc.

    Mrs Boortz I wish I could say enough thanks , but even over the next hundred year I would n't have enough tongue to do so, so with a trillion to a trillion cube : THANK YOU.

  9. If you need spot-on representation, Kathryn Boortz is the lawyer for you!!

    Posted by a Domestic Violence client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Kathryn Boortz.
    • I hired Kathryn 1-3 years ago.
    • Kathryn handled my Domestic Violence matter.
    • I have previously worked with 3-5 lawyers.

    Kathryn Jones Boortz is an exceptional lawyer! She has a way of making her client feel comfortable. She makes her client feel that everything is going to be alright; then she produces results that bring that claim to light. I was in deep trouble. I was facing a Felony and two Misdemeanors. Kathryn Boortz represented me, and had the entire case thrown out. In the end, I was only convicted of two Misdemeanors: Disorderly Conduct and Reckless Conduct. She saved my good standing in the community, and made it possible for me to gain employment. An extraordinary lawyer! I highly recommend Kathryn Jones Boortz. You will NOT be disappointed!