Herbert J Tan’s Reviews

Herbert J Tan

Average Rating

Based on 18 reviews

Help make it easier for other Avvo users to choose the right lawyer by sharing your experience with this attorney. It's fast, simple, and safe.

Review this lawyer

Lawyers: Use the Peer Endorsements section to provide input about other attorneys.


  1. Useless attorney

    Posted by a client,
    Overall rating
     Poor
    Trustworthy
     Poor
    Responsive
     Poor
    Knowledgeable
     Poor
    Kept me informed
     Poor
    • I do not recommend Herbert Tan.

    Hired him to handle an employment matter. He did nothing for my case for months then when I started to inquire about any progress he gave me excuses and then sent me a large bill for services that went against our original agreement. I didn't pay and fired him and he was refusing to be fired. Unreal experience and wasted a lot of my time, Do not hire him for ant legal matters!

  2. Employment and Labor

    Posted by a client,
    Overall rating
     Poor
    Trustworthy
     Poor
    Responsive
     Poor
    Knowledgeable
     Poor
    Kept me informed
     Poor
    • I do not recommend Herbert Tan.

    Herbert J. Tan is unreliable attorney. He could not even serve subpoena to corporation. Because of his mistake, my case was dismissed and he did not even inform me of this court decision. He had charged nonrefundable fee and did not do any work towards my case. I would not recommend this attorney to any one else.

  3. No No

    Posted by a Employment client,
    Overall rating
     Poor
    Trustworthy
     Poor
    Responsive
     Poor
    Knowledgeable
     Fair
    Kept me informed
     Poor
    • I do not recommend Herbert Tan.
    • I hired Herbert 1-3 years ago.
    • Herbert handled my Employment & Labor matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    Could not handle my case .did not know how to handle my case .He let my case close about 3 time and 3 times I had to pay for his mistakes. at the least I had sense to fired him due to him being suspended will working on my case . Thank God ,I met a lovely women lawyer that open my case in 1 day and won my case too!

  4. Excellent Lawyer

    Posted by Gilbert, a Immigration client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Herbert Tan.
    • I hired Herbert 1-3 years ago.
    • Herbert handled my Immigration matter.
    • I have previously worked with no lawyers.

    Atty. Tan is a very reliable lawyer.. I have personaly experienced his service and I am very satisfied the way he worked on my case.. I was able to secure my residency and soon to work with him again going for my citizenship.. knowing that his speacialized in litigation but he'd done my case well.. I would highly reccommend atty. Tan

  5. Great Attorney!

    Posted by Joan, a Employment client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Herbert Tan.
    • I hired Herbert 1-3 years ago.
    • Herbert handled my Employment & Labor matter.
    • I have previously worked with 3-5 lawyers.

    I have had the pleasure of being advised by Mr. Tan on two occasions regarding employment matters. He is honest, respectful and a tough advocate. He is an expert in Labor/Employment and Civil Service issues. I will not hesitate to call upon Mr. Tan again if I need an employment lawyer.

  6. Outstanding Attorney

    Posted by Joao, a Appeals client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Herbert Tan.
    • I hired Herbert 1-3 years ago.
    • Herbert handled my Appeals matter.
    • I have previously worked with 3-5 lawyers.

    It is always a pleasure to have Herbert represent you in a multitude of legal matters, he is fair and always seem to get great results.
    He assisted me in my divorce, several child support hearings, and an unemployment appeal.

  7. highly recommend

    Posted by Joseph, a Divorce client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Good
    Knowledgeable
     Good
    Kept me informed
     Good
    • I recommend Herbert Tan.
    • I hired Herbert more than 3 years ago.
    • Herbert handled my Divorce & Separation matter.
    • I have previously worked with 3-5 lawyers.

    Herb was an honest hard working lawyer. Very satisfied with his work

    1. Herbert J Tan

      Herbert J Tan

      Lawyer Comment:

      Thank you Joe!

      Posted almost 3 years ago. Flag

  8. Professional and Trustworthy

    Posted by Angelica,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Herbert Tan.

    Mr. Tan has helped me and my family for the past 3 years regarding various matters. His work and responses have always been timely and prompt. I would definitely recommend his services.

  9. GREAT LAWYER *****

    Posted by M. Stobz, a Employment client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Herbert Tan.
    • I hired Herbert more than 3 years ago.
    • Herbert handled my Employment & Labor matter.
    • I have previously worked with 3-5 lawyers.

    If you are having hardships at your place of employment for any reason such as wrongful temination, backpay ,hostile wok envioment Etc. Mr Tan is your guy . Mr Tan will dig deep to get you a proper settlement that you deserve . He is very punctual , professional and always goes the distance to assure quality for his client .. Mr Tans staff is also amazing, When Mr. Tan is not available he always keeps his staff in the loop with whats going on so that they could assist you just as if Mr. Tan was present... In conclusion, all I can say is that I've tried many attorneys and they denied that i had a case but with Mr. Tan he listened and reviewed my case very closely. Thanks Mr. Tan ...So when it comes to emploment issues or any issues you may have, what the Heck call Tan he is friendly and will give you his honest opinion, trust and believe and you will be happy you went with MR. Herbert Tan .

  10. Mechanic

    Posted by Rack R, a Federal Crime client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Herbert Tan.
    • I hired Herbert more than 3 years ago.
    • Herbert handled my Federal Crime matter.
    • I have previously worked with 3-5 lawyers.

    He is a very competent and professional lawyer. My case was very complicated but he handled it in a very short period of time with reasonable charge. He is after to help rather than to earn. He is a very trustworthy lawyer. I would definitely recommend him and seek his legal advice in the future