Back to Edward’s Profile

Client Review

Edward has received 10 client reviews

Retaliatory Eviction Settlement

Posted by: a Landlord & Tenant client 3 months ago.

Overall rating
Excellent
Trustworthy
Excellent
Responsive
Excellent
Knowledgeable
Excellent
Kept me informed
Excellent

I recommend Edward Rice

I hired Edward 1-3 years ago.

Edward handled my Landlord / Tenant matter.

I have previously worked with no lawyers.

Ed Rice was personally recommend to me from a Harvard Law School professor. I was served with a no cause eviction notice in direct retaliation for exercising my reserved tenant rights to request reasonable accommadations to a health disability. Ed Rice handled this unusual case masterfully, and was able to quickly secure a settlement in my favor. I cannot recommend him highly enough.

Fantastic attorney! Really knows his Housing law

Posted by: Janice, a Landlord & Tenant client 5 months ago.

Overall rating
Excellent
Trustworthy
Excellent
Responsive
Excellent
Knowledgeable
Excellent
Kept me informed
Good

I recommend Edward Rice

I hired Edward 1-6 months ago.

Edward handled my Landlord / Tenant matter.

Attorney Rice is a fantastic attorney. I unfortunately had to deal with a security deposit issue with my landlord. She hadn't returned the full amount due and we moved across the country. After several attempts to resolve on my own I found Ed on Avvo. I contacted him and found him knowledgeable about Housing law, patient in understanding the issues, and effective and independently running with the case. This last part was critical to me. Having moved so far away I needed someone who could completely drive negotiations and deal with any challenges that arose. Ed did all that and more. He was timely with any questions I had, really seemed to know how to negotiate with the opposing attorney, and knew how to bring this to a peaceful close. In addition this was the first time I've ever had to hire a lawyer for any issue. His ability to be level headed during a nerve racking period was extremely appreciated.

Struggle with Boston's Largest Landlord

Posted by: Paul, a Landlord & Tenant client 10 months ago.

Overall rating
Excellent
Trustworthy
Excellent
Responsive
Excellent
Knowledgeable
Excellent
Kept me informed
Excellent

I recommend Edward Rice

I hired Edward 1-3 years ago.

Edward handled my Landlord / Tenant matter.

After the apartment building I was living in for 6 years was sold to a new landlord (Boston's largest residential company) and my rent was increased by 50%, I hired Ed's services. He did a great job of explaining my tenants rights and what to expect in an eviction process. With Ed's help we tried to negotiate a reasonable rent increase. The negotiation wasn't successful and an eviction process began. Ed in court proceedings was extremely professional and well respected by the Judge. Ed processed all court paperwork with limited input from me. He took a very stressful situation I was in and made me very relaxed! In the end, Ed was able to negotiate a very favorable outcome. I highly recommend Ed for any tenant/landlord issues.

Excellent!

Posted by: a Landlord & Tenant client about 1 year ago.

Overall rating
Excellent
Trustworthy
Excellent
Responsive
Excellent
Knowledgeable
Excellent
Kept me informed
Excellent

I recommend Edward Rice

I hired Edward 1-3 years ago.

Edward handled my Landlord / Tenant matter.

I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

Wholeheartedly agree with all of the excellent reviews of Ed Rice. His expertise and guidance during an extremely stressful time was invaluable.

Truly a great person. Call him for help.

Posted by: Julie, a Landlord & Tenant client over 1 year ago.

Overall rating
Excellent
Trustworthy
Excellent
Responsive
Excellent
Knowledgeable
Excellent
Kept me informed
Excellent

I recommend Edward Rice

Edward handled my Landlord / Tenant matter.

I am in the middle of an extremely stressful situation where the landlord has broken the lease by offering an apartment which is contrary in many ways to the contract. I have been writing to the landlord, to multiple other lawyers and wasting a lot of stress on this. One phone call to Edward and I feel like the weight has lifted right off my shoulders. He's smart, he's honest and he has excellent communication skills. I will always refer people to him.

Edward Got My Security Deposit Back!

Posted by: Adam, a Real Estate client almost 2 years ago.

Overall rating
Excellent
Trustworthy
Excellent
Responsive
Excellent
Knowledgeable
Excellent
Kept me informed
Excellent

I recommend Edward Rice

I hired Edward 1-3 years ago.

Edward handled my Real Estate matter.

I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

I had trouble with an ex-landlord illegally with holding my security deposit this past fall and Edward Rice wrote up a great letter that got the money back that I deserved! He was very punctual and personable during the whole process. He never made me feel small with my lack of legal knowledge, he just explained everything in a way I could understand and made me happy about the results. I definitely recommend Edward as an attorney to any of my friends or family.

Best lawyer and man you can find

Posted by: Wendy, a Landlord & Tenant client almost 2 years ago.

Overall rating
Excellent
Trustworthy
Excellent
Responsive
Excellent
Knowledgeable
Excellent
Kept me informed
Excellent

I recommend Edward Rice

I hired Edward 1-3 years ago.

Edward handled my Landlord / Tenant matter.

I have previously worked with 3-5 lawyers.

He really doesn't care about money, but you. All the other attorney see that there are nothing can be done with my case so don't want to waste time on me, but he has patience to explain all the reasons and analyze for me, and answer all my call whenever I have more questions coming out even in the late night. He could just earn the money and fight for me, but he really care about what is good for me, and knowledgable enough to persuade me settle that all other attorney tried but just can't get my trust.

Outstanding Lawyer

Posted by: Alana, a Landlord & Tenant client almost 2 years ago.

Overall rating
Excellent
Trustworthy
Excellent
Responsive
Excellent
Knowledgeable
Excellent
Kept me informed
Excellent

I recommend Edward Rice

I hired Edward more than 3 years ago.

Edward handled my Landlord / Tenant matter.

I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

Ed has been my attorney since 2009 until present. Ed has kept me informed of my case and answered any questions I have had along the way. He gets back to you quickly and goes above and beyond his duties as a lawyer. He is one of those lawyer's that goes the EXTRA mile when handling your case.

Dependable tenant lawyer in Boston

Posted by: Kathleen, a Landlord & Tenant client about 2 years ago.

Overall rating
Excellent
Trustworthy
Excellent
Responsive
Excellent
Knowledgeable
Excellent
Kept me informed
Excellent

I recommend Edward Rice

I hired Edward more than 3 years ago.

Edward handled my Landlord / Tenant matter.

I have previously worked with no lawyers.

Ed was my attorney from Feb 2011-March 2012. Throughout this time he was extremely responsive - he addressed all of my questions and concerns. He consistently kept both me and my roommate informed on the status of our case. With Ed's knowledge and expertise, we were able to settle out of court. Ed's a great person to have on your team - I would recommend him without hesitation.

Excellent landlord/tenant attorney/North Shore

Posted by: Casey, a Landlord & Tenant client over 2 years ago.

Overall rating
Excellent
Trustworthy
Excellent
Responsive
Excellent
Knowledgeable
Excellent
Kept me informed
Excellent

I recommend Edward Rice

I hired Edward 1-3 years ago.

Edward handled my Landlord / Tenant matter.

I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

Ed Rice was my attorney until January 2012. Ed has a remarkable depth of knowledge of landlord/tenant law in Massachusetts. Ed has always answered my questions, my phone calls and returned my calls promptly during the entire process. Ed proved experienced, skillful and persuasive in mediating my case allowing us to settle the case out of court for a generous sum with assurances. I highly recommend him.