Matthew M Luedke’s Reviews

Matthew M Luedke

Average Rating

Based on 8 reviews

Help make it easier for other Avvo users to choose the right lawyer by sharing your experience with this attorney. It's fast, simple, and safe.

Review this lawyer

Lawyers: Use the Peer Endorsements section to provide input about other attorneys.


  1. The Groendyke Irrevocable Trust

    Posted by Craig, a Trusts client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Matthew Luedke.
    • I hired Matthew 6-12 months ago.
    • Matthew handled my Trusts matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    Matt did a great job setting up two trusts for me and recommending we apply for VA benefits for my mom. When ever I had a question, he was right there to answer the question and explain the details.

  2. VA benefits awarded for our father

    Posted by Susan,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Matthew Luedke.
    • I hired Matthew 6-12 months ago.
    • I have previously worked with 3-5 lawyers.

    Matthew was very helpful, professional and efficient in helping us navigate through the complex process of applying, securing and receiving VA benefits for our father. We were very happy when we started receiving them within 3 mos of applying. He even met us on his lunch break while he was on Jury Duty, as he wanted to expedite the process. He always responded promptly with any questions we had. We would highly recommend him.

  3. Expensive and poor billing practices

    Posted by a Estate Planning client,
    Overall rating
     Poor
    Trustworthy
     Poor
    Responsive
     Average
    Knowledgeable
     Average
    Kept me informed
     Average
    • I do not recommend Matthew Luedke.
    • I hired Matthew 1-3 years ago.
    • Matthew handled my Estate Planning matter.

    We hired Mr Luedke for a set of simple estate documents for my mother. Her estate was as straightforward as possible, and he generated simple form documents. But he didn't disclose his billing policies before the fact. He decided that some things were to be charged as a flat fee and some hourly. In other words, he wanted $800 for printing a document off of his computer, without changes, in addition to hourly charges. After we received the initial shocking bill, he sent out a second bill, for nearly the same amount - basically charging twice for the services. We were asked to pay about $2300 to divide my mothers $120,000 house three ways. It was a nightmare.

    1. Matthew M Luedke

      Matthew M Luedke

      Lawyer Comment:

      I am disappointed that this client's son (the reviewer) was dissatisfied as at the time he told me the family was very satisfied with my services. The client asked me to come to her home and meet with her and her children to discuss very sophisticated estate and long term care planning, and come back the following day with the documents ready for execution, which I did. Typically, an estate plan where a client is seeking to protect a home or other assets from future long term care costs might include an irrevocable trust, deed, last will and testament, durable powers of attorney for financial matters, durable powers of attorney for healthcare decision making, and advance healthcare directives. This planning is not, by any means, simple, "straight forward as they come", nor something that form documents will cover. I have spent hundreds if not thousands of hours learning the legal theories behind the planning involved and many many more hours developing my forms which serve these purposes. These forms require very careful consideration and tailoring on a case by case basis and are tailored to each client's circumstances. I NEVER use fill in the blank documents nor any document that is not tailored to my client's specific circumstances and I resent the implication that I charged $800 simply for hitting a print button.

      In my initial phone contacts with this client's son, we discussed the level of planning for long term care, the general methods of planning and I disclosed my billing practice of a flat fee for the creation of an irrevocable trust and hourly fee for the remaining documents. I charge a flat fee for my trusts primarily because it would be impossible to fairly spread the cost of their creation among all of my clients nor is it practical to bill hourly for their preparation as this may result in a fee much much larger than the flat fee. I tried to explain this concept to the client's son following my representation of his mother, but he insisted that he felt I spent no time in preparing the 34 page trust.

      Planning for Long Term Care can save clients hundreds of thousands of dollars which this family requested, received, and will very likely, benefit from. This planning, however, requires special expertise and skilled drafting. Had the client only sought a new will to dispose of the home as the client has stated in this review, the fee would have been, appropriately, much smaller or they could have gone to legalzoom.com.

      This client's son immediately contacted me regarding concerns about his mother's bill. To resolve the matter I wrote off over $800 from the bill at their request and was told the client was satisfied. The client's son even commented that he would encourage his mother to come back to see me in the future should she need to make changes.

      I strive to provide exceptional service and special expertise in the areas of Elder Law (VA & Medicaid Planning) and Estate planning. I strive for client satisfaction which all other reviewers agree has been nothing short of excellent.

      Posted over 1 year ago. Flag

  4. VA Benefits

    Posted by Mona, a Elder Law client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Matthew Luedke.
    • I hired Matthew 1-3 years ago.
    • Matthew handled my Elder Law matter.
    • I have previously worked with no lawyers.

    We had heard that mom might be eligible for VA Benefits, since my father now deceased was in WWII. Mom and I went down to the local VA office and asked for there help. We submitted the documents on our own and 6 months later we were denied. My nephew suggested we try reapplying but this time with Matthew's help. One month later mom is now receiving benefits! It's very clear we could not of done this without Mathew's help, call Matthew now you will not regreat it!

  5. Expert assistance in application process of Veterans Administration benefit for wartime service for the elderly.

    Posted by Mary, a Trusts client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Matthew Luedke.
    • I hired Matthew 1-3 years ago.
    • Matthew handled my Trusts matter.
    • I have previously worked with 3-5 lawyers.

    In early March of this year we were referred to Matthew Luedke for help in applying for a WWII veteran's benefit for a member of our family. Matthew readily made himself available and we were then engaged in a rather involved process of completing this application. Matthew was very knowledgeable about the process and provided detailed guidance in all relevant areas. He was very prompt, personable and competent in every respect.

    The application was completed and approved by the Veterans Administration in less than three weeks. We are aware of others not assisted by Matthew who have spent 6 months gaining such approval.

    Matthew was a delight to work with and we would recommend his services to anyone who wants competent and professional legal guidance.

  6. Veterans Benefits

    Posted by Peter, a Trusts client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Matthew Luedke.
    • I hired Matthew more than 3 years ago.
    • Matthew handled my Trusts matter.
    • I have previously worked with more than 10 lawyers.

    Our family hired Mr. Luedke to help apply for veterans benefits for our aging father. This week the benefits award came through, and we are very pleased with the outcome. Mr. Luedke answer all of our questions, including a number of complicated and difficult questions. He was able to keep the process on track, and he was always prompt and thorough during our correspondence. Most importantly, he delivered the outcome we were looking for. I am an attorney licensed and active in Washington, and I highly recommend Mr. Luedke for his areas of expertise.

  7. Matthew has done a great job setting up my elderly parents estate.

    Posted by Tom, a Elder Law client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Matthew Luedke.
    • I hired Matthew more than 3 years ago.
    • Matthew handled my Elder Law matter.
    • I have previously worked with 6-10 lawyers.

    Matthew and his firm Moulton have been helping us with estate planning and setting up trusts for my elderly parents in Spokane. Matthew has been great at informing us about our options, which can seem complicated, but his experience has helped us make decisions and take actions to protect my parents financial security. For instance, Matthew identified that as an Army Veteran, my father could receive a VA pension. He told us what we needed to do to qualify, gave us clear direction on gathering the information for the application, prepared and submitted the application himself and followed up diligently with the VA until it was approved. The extra income will really help with long term care, and we never would have found this opportunity without Matthew. I would recommend Matthew for anyone needing an elder law attorney.

  8. VA Benefits - Recommendation

    Posted by Aaron, a Estate Planning client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Matthew Luedke.
    • I hired Matthew more than 3 years ago.
    • Matthew handled my Estate Planning matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    To whom it may concern:

    This letter is to thank Matthew Luedke of Moulton Law Offices, and to recommend him as an advisor, to aid Veterans and their spouses in obtaining VA Benefits.

    In what first seemed to be an impossible venture, Matt's help and percerverence went a long way to expedite and finish this task. Without his assistance, we would never have been able to obtain the $1,949 per month assistance for long term care.