Gary R. Stenzel’s Reviews

Gary R. Stenzel

Average Rating

Based on 6 reviews

Help make it easier for other Avvo users to choose the right lawyer by sharing your experience with this attorney. It's fast, simple, and safe.

Review this lawyer

Lawyers: Use the Peer Endorsements section to provide input about other attorneys.


  1. Long Standing Client

    Posted by Chris, a Child Support client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Good
    Responsive
     Good
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Gary Stenzel.
    • I hired Gary 6-12 months ago.
    • Gary handled my Child Support matter.

    Gary has been my lawyer for over 5 years now. He has represented me several times in court and even though things may not have always gone my way I know I was represented extremely well.

    Just recently, I called him in the morning and the action was complete by the end of the day. Excellent response with an even better result. Over the years I have leaned to trust his advice and professionalism. I have a lot of experience with Gary and would recommend him to anyone.

  2. Agreed with others ('beware' and 'not for trial' posters headings)

    Posted by a Child Custody client,
    Overall rating
     Poor
    Trustworthy
     Poor
    Responsive
     Poor
    Knowledgeable
     Average
    Kept me informed
     Poor
    • I do not recommend Gary Stenzel.
    • I hired Gary more than 3 years ago.
    • Gary handled my Child Custody matter.
    • I have previously worked with no lawyers.

    When I read 'Beware' I could have been reading my own experience with this attorney over 2 years ago. Almost down to a "T" with the exception I did loose my kids and I feel he strongly had much to do with that: The actions were, 99 percent the same as the poster "beware" from 23 days ago (pattern perhaps?) His reply to 'not for trial' is concerning as he reveals heavy details of a persons case that is likely not even the same person (that person never stated if they were a he or a she, etc and likely is not the same to begin with.)

    1. Gary R. Stenzel

      Gary R. Stenzel

      Lawyer Comment:

      Yes they are the same person. This individual was also warned to not go to trial without counsel. They would not pay their bill nor post further payments for trial. After I withdrew for two reasons: 1. the client would not follow the temporary orders to see their child, and kept asking me to rearrange the orders when they never tried to follow them; 2.. asked my office to do things for them then denied it; then asked me to withdraw so I did, 1 month before trial. Then when told by the court that trial would go unless they obtained a new attorney, they went to trial anyway, with a very good attorney on the other-side. What can I say.

      Posted about 1 year ago. Flag

    2. Gary R. Stenzel

      Gary R. Stenzel

      Lawyer Comment:

      One last comment: I was recently given the Annual Client Distinction Award by the 1st and most distinguished attorney rating service for all attorneys in the U.S. This was for only 1 or 2% of all attorneys in the nation. I usually do not say anything, but when a new rating service lets such random things in, like this, without further info. like: did you pay the attorney? yes/no. Did you do everything they told you to do? yes/no. Did you hire another attorney to finish your case before going to hearing? yes/no, etc. It becomes problematic when such narrow unsubstantiated comments like this make it on the internet. Certainly there's always room for improvement, but you never want to hire a surgeon that is not very very busy. If you do not, all you get are new surgeons, non-busy surgeons, and incompetent surgeons. Never a good idea. Thanx for listening

      Posted about 1 year ago. Flag

  3. Excellent attorney!!

    Posted by Ron, a Child Custody client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Gary Stenzel.
    • I hired Gary more than 3 years ago.
    • Gary handled my Child Custody matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    My first exposure to Gary was during my divorce. I consulted with him regarding my ex's relocation to Idaho with plans to move to the east coast with our children. He clearly and emphatically told me that I did not have the protections that I thought I had and gave me careful instructions on how to best protect myself. I greatly appreciated that he did not try to give me a false sense of security just to try to sell me his services. Through his advice, I was able to solve my issue and ultimately did not need to hire an attorney.

    This year, I hired him for my brother's divorce/custody battle. He's worked wonders! My brother's ex was trying to claim everything from spousal abuse to child molestation in an effort to "get" custody of the children. Through Gary's efforts, the courts saw through her lies and placed the children in my brother's primary care. It is clear that Gary is greatly respected by the courts and his dual background in child psychology makes him an excellent advocate and source of advice for custody cases.

    I have to overall disagree, but agree in part, regarding others' comments about his communications. Gary doesn't hold your hand and teach you how to be an attorney. He communicates when it is necessary and tries to keep interaction to a minimum so that he can keep his fees as low as possible. That being said, I have known him to answer critical emails at all hours of the day, even on his vacation. You may not feel like he's keeping you informed of where your case is at, but in the end he gets the job done very effectively. If you're the type that needs to be constantly in the loop, I'm sure he can accomodate, but one should respect that his time is valuable and be willing to pay the extra fees.

    Thanks Gary!

  4. Excellent lawyer

    Posted by Jennifer, a Child Custody client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Fair
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Poor
    • I recommend Gary Stenzel.
    • I hired Gary more than 3 years ago.
    • Gary handled my Child Custody matter.
    • I have previously worked with no lawyers.

    We are in Maryland with a custody case in Washington State. Mr. Stenzel has done an incredible job not only getting my husband's kids but keeping us from having to go to WA everytime my husband's ex tries to pull some scam. He does not tell you a lot of what he is doing. But we have found that he gets the job done and we put 100% of our faith and trust in him!

    1. Gary R. Stenzel

      Gary R. Stenzel

      Lawyer Comment:

      Actually, the paralegal this client is talking about was suffering from a grave illness and we all were unaware of this. This made her forgetful and her memory was going down hill. Within a few months after I released her she unfortunately died of this disease. This was a very sad thing. She was always a good paralegal until that illness. Now, I have a long time very experienced paralegal who helps me a lot, much like my former paralegal when she was not ill. I do appreciate this client's comments but could not let the time go without explaining why that particular paralegal was having problems. We always feel bad about her early loss.

      Posted about 1 year ago. Flag

  5. Nice Man Who Won't Screw You Over To Make A Buck

    Posted by Andre, a Divorce client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Gary Stenzel.
    • I hired Gary more than 3 years ago.
    • Gary handled my Divorce / Separation matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    I went into Mr. Stenzel's office for a consultation for a divorce. I don't have a lot of money since I just started my new job a few months ago and the wife is draining my money faster than I can earn it. Mr. Stenzel told me how much his services would cost and then, realizing that I could not pay that much, he showed me what I would need to do to take care of things on my own. He was good to talk to and he is very good at keeping you calm on on track. I would recommend that you at least give him a try by having a consultation with him.

  6. Seems to know what is going on

    Posted by a Family client,
    Overall rating
     Average
    Trustworthy
     Average
    Responsive
     Fair
    Knowledgeable
     Average
    Kept me informed
     Poor
    • I recommend Gary Stenzel.
    • Gary handled my Family matter.
    • I have previously worked with 3-5 lawyers.

    We have had Mr. Stenzel for about a year now. We hired him to help us with Family law issues. He presented well in court and did well against the other party's dishonest and mudslinging lawyer. He will not gouge you on money and that is important. His paralegal is not very good. I would highly suggest going over her work before it is submitted to the court.

    Mr. Stenzel does not respond to emails in a timely manner. He also is hard to get a hold of for a phone conference. He does not let you know all the details of what is going on. This is a little frustrating. He is a very busy lawyer and if he doesn't feel that your case is important it will be pushed down to the bottom of his to do list.

    We continue to use Mr. Stenzel because we do feel he is trustworthy. We also feel that he is experienced at handling scuzzy lawyers in court (important in our case). He also seems to know what he is doing and even though he does not keep us informed he does get the work done.

    1. Gary R. Stenzel

      Gary R. Stenzel

      Lawyer Comment:

      Actually, the paralegal this client is talking about was suffering from a grave illness and we all were unaware of this. This made her forgetful and her memory was going down hill. Within a few months after I released her she unfortunately died of this disease. This was a very sad thing. She was always a good paralegal until that illness. Now, I have a long time very experienced paralegal who helps me a lot, much like my former paralegal when she was not ill. I do appreciate this client's comments but could not let the time go without explaining why that particular paralegal was having problems. We always feel bad about her early loss.

      Posted over 1 year ago. Flag