Roger Jay Sharp’s Reviews

Roger Jay Sharp

Average Rating

Based on 9 reviews

Help make it easier for other Avvo users to choose the right lawyer by sharing your experience with this attorney. It's fast, simple, and safe.

Review this lawyer

Lawyers: Use the Peer Endorsements section to provide input about other attorneys.


  1. Beware of this man

    Posted by Terence, a Chapter 7 client,
    Overall rating
     Poor
    Trustworthy
     Poor
    Responsive
     Poor
    Knowledgeable
     Average
    Kept me informed
     Poor
    • I do not recommend Roger Sharp.
    • I hired Roger 1-6 months ago.
    • Roger handled my Bankruptcy / Chapter 7 matter.
    • I have previously worked with 3-5 lawyers.

    I was referred to Mr. Sharp by the debt consolidation service I was working with. I was looking to see if filing bankruptcy was available option for me. I contacted him by phone. He came across as knowledgeable and very friendly. After the phone interview he advise filing for chapter 7 and emailed my the initial paperwork to complete and a list of document to send him along with 2 checks for his fee and the court filing fee. I did this and the checks were cashed. I heard nothing more from him. He never returned phone calls or emails.
    I sent him a letter after 2 months had elapsed terminating his services. I then got an email apologizing and saying that he had been out of the country and out of phone or email contact (really?)
    He said his assistant who he had left my casework with had not done anything and that consequently he would return both the court fees and his fees I had paid.
    That was the last I heard from Mr. Sharp. He does not respond to my emails and the money has not been returned.
    I filed a grievance with the WSB, but to date he has not responded to their requests and avoided contact with their server.

  2. Horrible at getting back to me!

    Posted by a Real Estate client,
    Overall rating
     Poor
    Trustworthy
     Fair
    Responsive
     Poor
    Knowledgeable
     Average
    Kept me informed
     Poor
    • I do not recommend Roger Sharp.
    • I hired Roger 6-12 months ago.
    • Roger handled my Real Estate matter.

    I retained his services 4 months ago and have left him numerous messages and e-mails in regards to my case but haven't heard from him! He has all my paperwork! How on earth can someone be in business if they can't call their clients back???

  3. Beware

    Posted by Kevin, a Chapter 13 client,
    Overall rating
     Poor
    Trustworthy
     Poor
    Responsive
     Poor
    Knowledgeable
     Fair
    Kept me informed
     Poor
    • I do not recommend Roger Sharp.
    • I hired Roger 1-3 years ago.
    • Roger handled my Bankruptcy / Chapter 13 matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    Hired Roger for a chapter 13 case. I should have realized how it would go when I had to call the person who recommended him to get him to return my phone calls & emails. Got all information to him whenever requested. He went back to his habit of being unreachable. Finally got my case filed. Missed deadlines in case having to push out the timeline of getting a plan completed while I met criteria of getting my second mortgage stripped. He recommended that I dismiss my case & re-file using methods that would reduce my plan amount. I followed his advice & dismissed. I paid him money to re-file. He continue his habit of not answering his phone or emails. I just wanted to get this done so we could go on with our lives. I requested he return money I paid to re-file. I have not heard from him since. No explanation. People please steer clear. I definitely not recommend him.

  4. Want a lawyer who never responds back try Roger Sharp

    Posted by a Chapter 13 client,
    Overall rating
     Poor
    Trustworthy
     Poor
    Responsive
     Poor
    Knowledgeable
     Poor
    Kept me informed
     Poor
    • I do not recommend Roger Sharp.
    • I hired Roger 1-3 years ago.
    • Roger handled my Bankruptcy / Chapter 13 matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    Never meets deadlines
    Never calls back despite saying he will call back or email back.
    Doesn't even bother to check your emails and if he does he will lie and say he never gotten the emails.
    Maybe he was a decent lawyer back in his day but nowadays he's getting old and lazy. I would not recommend this lawyer.

  5. Looked out for my best interest

    Posted by a Foreclosure client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Roger Sharp.
    • I hired Roger 1-3 years ago.
    • Roger handled my Foreclosure matter.
    • I have previously worked with 3-5 lawyers.

    I had some questions about how to deal with a forclosure and the possibility of having to file for bankruptcy. Roger took the time to meet with me immediately to review my documents and not only did he give me good sound advice, but he did it with my best interest in mind. Unlike some attorney's that would have tried to make as much money from my situation, thus I feel that he is very trustworthy and I would highly recommend him.

  6. Not your typical stuffed shirt lawyer.

    Posted by a Chapter 7 client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Roger Sharp.
    • I hired Roger 1-3 years ago.
    • Roger handled my Bankruptcy / Chapter 7 matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    Roger talked to me like a person, not just a client. I was really scared, but as soon as we started talking, I knew he was the right attorney. He listened and asked questions and he explained my options clearly and made sure I understood what would be happening during the process. He was extremely personable and likeable and made me feel comfortable and informed, instead of embarrassed. He took away all my fear and distress which I didn't expect an attorney to be able to do. They usually talk at you, but Roger talked with me. He was the only attorney of many at the meeting of creditors who dressed professionally, which showed respect to me. I felt that my concerns and fears mattered to him and I would enthusiastically recommend him to anyone who is scared and overwhelmed or has complex issues like I did. He is really bright and understood what was going on better than I did! A+++

  7. Unsatisfied

    Posted by a Probate client,
    Overall rating
     Poor
    Trustworthy
     Poor
    Responsive
     Poor
    Knowledgeable
     Fair
    Kept me informed
     Poor
    • I do not recommend Roger Sharp.
    • I hired Roger more than 3 years ago.
    • Roger handled my Probate matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    I am very disatisfied with Mr. Sharps work performance. He does not keep deadlines, agreements or complete work that had been agreed upon in a timely manner. When a month process takes over 6 months that says alot. He has a great personality but no follow through and thereby rendering him unprofessional and not to be relied upon.

  8. Very helpful and knowledgable

    Posted by Laura, a Chapter 13 client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Roger Sharp.
    • I hired Roger more than 3 years ago.
    • Roger handled my Bankruptcy / Chapter 13 matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    Roger was so helpful in the decisions we made. He took a lot of time with us and went above and beyond in getting us the information we needed to make the best decision for our future. He was fun to work with and very responsive.

  9. Ch. 7 bankruptcy

    Posted by Dan, a Chapter 7 client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Roger Sharp.
    • I hired Roger more than 3 years ago.
    • Roger handled my Bankruptcy / Chapter 7 matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    Roger is a great bk attorny and handled my case descretly and professionally. He answered all of my questions during our initial interview before i even filed the case, and followed through with everything he told we would need to happen and be done. Roger got back to me in a timly fashion whenever i needed to talk to him during the duration of the case, and helped me through a very difficult time in my life. I would recommend him to anyone.