William Robert Brendgard’s Reviews

William Robert Brendgard

Average Rating

Based on 9 reviews

Help make it easier for other Avvo users to choose the right lawyer by sharing your experience with this attorney. It's fast, simple, and safe.

Review this lawyer

Lawyers: Use the Peer Endorsements section to provide input about other attorneys.


  1. Not suited for Divorce cases

    Posted by Matt, a Divorce client,
    Overall rating
     Fair
    Trustworthy
     Good
    Responsive
     Good
    Knowledgeable
     Fair
    Kept me informed
     Average
    • I do not recommend William Brendgard.
    • I hired William more than 3 years ago.
    • William handled my Divorce / Separation matter.

    Mr. Brendgard represented me in a divorce proceeding a little over 5 years ago. He was as responsive as I would expect, but was completely bulldozed by my ex-wife's attorney.
    His most glaring error, in my opinion, was to recommend that I agree to pay spousal support even after my ex remarried.
    I have yet to find a single person who has ever even heard of such a thing.
    Incompetent and spineless.
    His advice cost me $90,000.

  2. could not ask for a better lawyer

    Posted by melissa, a Child Custody client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend William Brendgard.
    • I hired William more than 3 years ago.
    • William handled my Child Custody matter.

    i hired bill as my lawyer at the last min to help me with my case to get my grandson he has always been at every court date he has always kept in touch with me on what is going on always has returned my calls emails or text messages i know that i can walk in his office and he will always take the time to talk due to an awesome lawyer i got custody of my grandson. bill is now working on another case for me to get my other grandson great job

  3. Relocation

    Posted by a Child Custody client,
    Overall rating
     Fair
    Trustworthy
     Fair
    Responsive
     Poor
    Knowledgeable
     Good
    Kept me informed
     Poor
    • I do not recommend William Brendgard.
    • I hired William 1-3 years ago.
    • William handled my Child Custody matter.
    • I have previously worked with 3-5 lawyers.

    Bill was helping me with my relocation case. At first he was pretty good at keeping me informed and listening to what I wanted as an outcome. But as time went on he would take days or weeks to return phone calls or emails, if he returned them at all. He was served a notice that we would need to be in court on a specific day, I found out about this from him the day before and then he left me on my own to represent myself. If communication was better on his part I think he would be an amazing attorney, but communication just wasnt there on his part.

  4. Best attorney in Vancouver!

    Posted by Zac Kelsey and Mikah, a Child Custody client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend William Brendgard.
    • I hired William more than 3 years ago.
    • William handled my Child Custody matter.
    • I have previously worked with no lawyers.

    We are so blessed to have went with Mr. Brendgard as our attorney. He has been so extremely helpful, considerate, caring and helpful. We are nearing the end of our custody battle, and we could have not picked a better attorney! He is attentive to your needs, and doesn't treat you like just another number that just wants your number. He is smart and willing to work out payment plans for you. If needed to go back to court, we will definitely use William as our attorney in the future! Keep up the good work!

  5. Child Custody / Visitation and Child Support

    Posted by a Child Custody client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend William Brendgard.
    • I hired William more than 3 years ago.
    • William handled my Child Custody matter.
    • I have previously worked with no lawyers.

    Unfortunately I ve had to use Bill twice now in almost 3 yrs, nothing that he did. Bill is great, affordable, fair, confident, detailed. I feel blessed, that he is in my corner, when we enter the courtroom.His outward demeanor seems passive, but he is very aggressive inward. I have recommened him in the past. And will continue to do so.As long
    as my ex tries Nd tries with different attorneys try and destroy my relationship with my kids. Bill will always be my attorney.

  6. Bill's a Caring & Strong Attorney

    Posted by Robert, a Child Custody client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend William Brendgard.
    • I hired William more than 3 years ago.
    • William handled my Child Custody matter.
    • I have previously worked with 3-5 lawyers.

    I used William (Bill) Brendgard's services over the span of about 6 months on a child custody case. I actually researched and interviewed a lot of attorney's before choosing Bill. I was looking for the right mix of integrity, professionalism and caring... plus someone who wouldn't nickel and dime me for every time he/she "thought" about my case. Bill was affordable (as far as lawyers go) and he actually cared about the people involved in the case... and not just "my side" - which I found refreshing! With hindsight I now know that choosing Bill to represent me was a very smart decision on my part. He's very knowledgeable and professional yet has a very calm, compassionate and confident strength. If I ever have to go back to court (although I hope I don't) I know I'll be calling Bill up. I definitely recommend him. He's ABSOLUTELY the guy YOU WANT - ON YOUR SIDE!

  7. Nice guy, but terrible lawyer

    Posted by Relocation case, a Family client,
    Overall rating
     Poor
    Trustworthy
     Poor
    Responsive
     Poor
    Knowledgeable
     Poor
    Kept me informed
     Poor
    • I do not recommend William Brendgard.
    • I hired William more than 3 years ago.
    • William handled my Family matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    Bill is a sympathetic, mild mannered man and he seemed to understand my situation initially. Unfortunately, it turns out he had NO follow through, he in no way took charge of our case (we were writing all our own responses and we are not attorneys. We frequently had to tell HIM what needed to be said or filed), and he got very important facts mixed up at the hearing (some of which cost us our case). Once the hearing was over, there were other child support issues we still needed to address and Bill went completely MIA. We called, emailed, texted and got no responses for weeks. It wasn't until we told him we needed him to withdraw legally as our attorney that we heard back from him. He was inexpensive, but he did very little for us other than some paperwork. He was completely unreliable, and overall did an awful job on our case - which will likely permanently and negatively effect our lives for the next 8 years.

  8. No follow through

    Posted by a Divorce client,
    Overall rating
     Poor
    Trustworthy
     Poor
    Responsive
     Poor
    Knowledgeable
     Poor
    Kept me informed
     Poor
    • I do not recommend William Brendgard.
    • I hired William more than 3 years ago.
    • William handled my Divorce / Separation matter.
    • I have previously worked with 3-5 lawyers.

    I would have to say William Brendgard is very unmotivated when it comes to helping out his clients. He is in it for the quick cash. I retained Bill to help out with a divorce and to do a modification towards my child support / spousal maintenece. Unfortunately since I live out of State I had to have Bill go to court on my behalf which he agreed to do and take my deposit. I faxed all the documents he needed and had a court date scheduled that he was supposed to be at on my behalf. He not only did not make the hearing he also won't return my calls or e-mails. Absolutely no follow through. I thought by retaining Mr. Brendgard I would have someone on my team to help me out. I felt like he was a push over to my wife's attorney in the begining as well. He did not want to confront her on any matters. All he recommended was for me to do what my ever my wife's attorney demanded. Absolutely no back bone.

  9. Bill Brendgard--Attorney

    Posted by a Child Custody client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Good
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend William Brendgard.
    • I hired William more than 3 years ago.
    • William handled my Child Custody matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    Mr. Brendgard is very informative, and very willing to hear a clients thoughts--this is invaluable, considering emotions and the inexperience of most of the general population--Bill was actually recommended to me from a prior client, and I found
    Mr. Brendgard to be what that person said: he is sincere, willing to expound on a
    persons thoughts, or beliefs, and always keeps the clients interest at the foremast
    of his decision making process--however, Bill has shown that his integrity overrules any ideas a client may have about personal agendas, and will open up
    a new angle, keeping the ultimate end a priority. Bill has shown no interest in a high-end store front, and therefore is able to keep his hourly rate in a field where anybody can afford professional representation. On the same hand, Bill has kept
    his "shop" in the same close arena as the more prestigious and costly representation, proving that regardless of hype, rep, or front, he is willing to
    use the law as his tool, and protect his clients rights--he has many years of experience to back my evalution, but I feel that his open-arms policy to clients
    who are honest, is by far his most promising feature.