Jeffrey W Holmes’s Answers

Jeffrey W Holmes

Vancouver Child Custody Lawyer.

Contributor Level 12
  1. What's my brothers charges?

    Answered almost 2 years ago.

    1. Jeffrey W Holmes
    2. Stephen Ross Cohen
    3. Michael Lawrence Doyle
    3 lawyer answers

    Assuming the alleged sexual contact between your brother and a minor occurred within the State of Washington, it sounds as though he may be facing a charge of Rape of a Child in the Third Degree (Statutory Rape) pursuant to RCW 9A.44.079. This is a Class C Felony Sex Offense in Washington State and has a standard sentencing range of 366 days to 14 months in Prison assuming a conviction on one count as charged with no prior criminal history. There would also be probation/supervision,...

    3 lawyers agreed with this answer

    1 person marked this answer as helpful

  2. Washington State DUI Charge for a 20 y/o , .135 BAC What did i get myself into?

    Answered 10 months ago.

    1. Elizabeth Rankin Powell
    2. Josephine C Townsend
    3. Jeffrey W Holmes
    4. Elizabeth Hallock
    5. Valerie Semmes Bouffiou
    5 lawyer answers

    As mentioned, stop talking about the facts of your case and stop making admissions as to your conduct. A skilled attorney will be able to review the reports written by law enforcement and give you a better idea of your options. You should definitely consult with an attorney and either hire a private attorney or screen for a public defender and plead not guilty at your arraignment. After that point, discuss your case in private with your attorney.

    3 lawyers agreed with this answer

  3. How much time will u get first time criminals charges on malicious mischief 2nd degree

    Answered 11 months ago.

    1. Beau D. Harlan
    2. Jeffrey W Holmes
    3. Kenan Lee Isitt
    3 lawyer answers

    Whoever is facing these charges should plead not guilty and consult with an attorney. Assault in the Second Degree is a 'strike' offense and should be avoided if at all possible through negotiations or potentially trial. It is difficult to know the exact range without seeing the charging document, but an assault 2 conviction with two other current felony offenses would result in a likely prison sentence if a negotiated agreement is not reached. My best advice would be to screen for a court...

    3 lawyers agreed with this answer

  4. When should I involve a lawyer for a juvenile sex crime case?

    Answered about 1 year ago.

    1. Robert David Butler
    2. Vitaliy Kertchen
    3. Melissa Aura Keiko Odama
    4. Jeffrey W Holmes
    5. Michelle Teresa Dellino
    6. ···
    6 lawyer answers

    You should absolutely retain an attorney prior to your son speaking with law enforcement. The consequences of a sex offense conviction for your son at this stage could have lifelong repercussions, and he should definitely sit down and talk with an attorney prior to any contact with law enforcement to assure his rights are protected.

    3 lawyers agreed with this answer

  5. Child custody...friend beaten by husband in front of the children, she is also 28 wks pregnant.

    Answered over 1 year ago.

    1. Dave Hawkins
    2. Jeffrey W Holmes
    3. Patrick Owen Earl
    3 lawyer answers

    I agree with Mr. Hawkins. Further, documenting the DV by contacting law enforcement may help in presenting that issue in family court down the road. She should contact an attorney as soon as possible to assist in moving forward on a dissolution and temporary orders to assure her safety and the safety of her unborn child. The Court will examine the facts presented and make decision on custody based on the best interests of the children. If they are in harms way due to DV, that may certainly...

    3 lawyers agreed with this answer

  6. I had signed what my own court appointed attorney asked me to sign; a "waiver of speedy trial" ~ the judge, my attorney and ....

    Answered over 1 year ago.

    1. Erin Bradley McAleer
    2. Vitaliy Kertchen
    3. Jeffrey W Holmes
    3 lawyer answers

    Mr. McAleer summed up the rules quite well. Although a speedy trial waiver pursuant to the court rules needs to be submitted in writing, it is likely the video of proceedings would support a finding that this was a mere scriveners error. If you acknowledged your desire to waive your right to a speedy trial on the record, you likely will not be able to now argue that your speedy trial rights have been violated due to a simple clerical mistake. This is further the case given it sounds as...

    3 lawyers agreed with this answer

  7. I have a prior neg 1 charge from over a year ago and just recently arrested for dui,what kind of sentence will I be looking at?

    Answered almost 2 years ago.

    1. Krisztian G Carrasco
    2. Scott Weymouth Lawrence
    3. Vitaliy Kertchen
    4. Patrick Owen Earl
    5. Jeffrey W Holmes
    5 lawyer answers

    Your question cannot be answered in full without more specific facts. What sort of sentence you will be facing likely depends on your criminal history (including what the original charge was on your Neg 1) as well as the specific facts of your case. If there are suppression issues or if the State has a weak criminal case against you, there may be leverage to get a reduced charge and/or a reduced sentence. There are also other potential sentencing options available to you if you are facing...

    3 lawyers agreed with this answer

  8. My ex wants to go to mediation over the parenting plan but refuses to tell me why. I can't afford it. Can she force me to go?

    Answered almost 2 years ago.

    1. Bruce K Pruitt-Hamm
    2. Jeffrey W Holmes
    2 lawyer answers

    As my colleague mentions, any parenting plan should include a "Dispute Resolution" section. If that section indicates that disputes shall be submitted to mediation, then you are left facing mediation (or the potential for a contempt hearing if you choose not to cooperate with that portion of the PP, which may lead to the court ordering you to take part in mediation anyways). The general proposed PP by Washington State typically includes a clause in the Dispute Resolution section that also...

    3 lawyers agreed with this answer

  9. If my gf was charged with assault4/Dv and it was with me, and i didnt press charges. Will the court summoned me to be a witness.

    Answered almost 2 years ago.

    1. Vitaliy Kertchen
    2. James J White
    3. Jeffrey W Holmes
    3 lawyer answers

    I agree with my colleagues. Generally speaking, if a matter is set for trial all material witnesses will be subpoenaed for the date set for trial. If you are "out of town" on that date, the prosecutor may request a continuance to a date forward to assure you are available, or may request a material witness warrant for your arrest. If the continuance is denied, the State may end up proceeding to trial without you (if they can do so based on the evidence) or they may dismiss the case with or...

    3 lawyers agreed with this answer

  10. What does it mean if you have been charged with rape 3 in the first dgree in Washington State?

    Answered almost 2 years ago.

    1. Lennard Anthony Nahajski
    2. Erin Bradley McAleer
    3. Jeffrey W Holmes
    3 lawyer answers

    As my colleagues note, Rape in the First Degree & Rape in the Third Degree are two very serious crimes, with drastically different sentences. Rape in the First Degree is a Class A Felony sex offense that actually carries with it an indeterminate sentence, which in essence imposes a minimum sentence within the standard range (which is a lengthy prison term in and of itself) and a maximum sentence of LIFE. As such, your boyfriend could be facing life in prison with such a charge if convicted,...

    3 lawyers agreed with this answer

360-975-9288