Paul Lanan Battan’s Reviews

Paul Lanan Battan

Average Rating

Based on 11 reviews

Help make it easier for other Avvo users to choose the right lawyer by sharing your experience with this attorney. It's fast, simple, and safe.

Review this lawyer

Lawyers: Use the Peer Endorsements section to provide input about other attorneys.


  1. Outstanding attorney!

    Posted by a Child Custody client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Paul Battan.
    • I hired Paul 1-3 years ago.
    • Paul handled my Child Custody matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    Paul Battan is an incredible attorney. He is knowledgeable, thorough, professional and caring. He has done a terrific job of keeping me informed and making me feel at ease. I had several consultations with different attorneys and Paul was the only one who came across as genuine and gave me useful information to best help my situation while others seemed purely motivated by money. I would highly recommend him.

  2. I highly recommend Paul Battan. Calm, collected, and professional.

    Posted by Aubrey, a Child Custody client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Paul Battan.
    • I hired Paul more than 3 years ago.
    • Paul handled my Child Custody matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    My ex-husband and I had a terrible relationship and I was thankful that he lived out of state. We had in place a parenting plan that worked for me, but allowed little time for my ex and our 4 year old to bond. Out of the blue he submitted court papers to have a total change in custodial parent for our son. I felt attacked, angry, and hurt. My husband looked online at attorney reviews as we had only days to find an attorney and respond to the courts. We read up on Paul Battan and saw many reviews stating that he was outstanding, trustworthy and knowledgeable. He proved to be all that and much more.

    Mr. Battan listened to my situation with sensitivity and care. He was a strong advocate for healthy family dynamics and worked with me to propose a parenting plan that would last through the next 14 years. He was encouraging and helped me form a plan that I was comfortable with. He was on time and well prepared for every court session and kept me informed of the legal process. I have been very grateful to have an attorney who represented me in a dignified, constructive light, rather than an attorney who attacks and destroys.

    I would recommend Paul Battan to anyone! We was fantastic and I am so thankful that it was him we hired.

  3. Outstanding Attorney!

    Posted by Pat, a Divorce client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Paul Battan.
    • I hired Paul more than 3 years ago.
    • Paul handled my Divorce / Separation matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    When looking for an attorney to handle my divorce case, I received two glowing recommendations for Paul. In the interests of finding the best fit, I set up interviews with three lawyers, Paul being the first. I was highly impressed with his legal knowledge, his sense of fairness and his honesty and was tempted to offer a retainer right there. I did go on with a second review just to be thorough, but knew within the first five minutes that I couldn't do any better than Paul. I cancelled the third interview and was very grateful that Paul accepted my case. My then-spouse was obstructionist and ultimately did not participate in the process. I was concerned that this would drag out proceedings indefinitely, but was calmed by Paul's logical approach, his knowledge of the law, and his experience with the human dynamics typical in divorce situations. With Paul's expertise, we were able to bring my case to a successful, timely conclusion. We were fair and honest in approaching the property settlement issues and ultimately the court granted what we asked for. I had absolute confidence in any counsel Paul offered and was comfortable in asking questions whenever they arose during the process. Paul and his wonderful legal assistant, Patti, were incredibly timely with their communications to me. I received respectful, professional and compassionate help from Paul and Patti during a very difficult time in my life. After the divorce, I asked Paul to help me update my other legal affairs regarding estate planning, to include updating my will, my health care directives and power of attorney documents. Again, all matters were handled smoothly, efficiently, and with attention to detail. I wholeheartedly recommend Paul Batten and his office for help with a variety of legal matters.

  4. Four other people directed me to Paul - I highly recomend him as well

    Posted by Sam, a Child Custody client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Paul Battan.
    • I hired Paul more than 3 years ago.
    • Paul handled my Child Custody matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    I hired Paul Battan to assist me in a custody case regarding my son. Being a single father of a new baby I was ready to be involved in my son's life to the fullest. Paul Battan was amazing in assisting me in this process, while helping keep my emotions grounded and focused on being with my son and away from conflict with the mother.

    Paul is a down to earth guy who is also an outstanding professional in his field. He was very compassionate to my situation and did everything he could to work towards the outcome we were looking for. In the end, no one really wins in these type of cases but we were able to achieve the best result possible. I wouldn't have changed a thing in the way Paul handled my case.

    If you want an attorney who knows the law, who will diligently advocate for you and who also understands family dynamics then go with Paul Battan. I can't say enough about his competency. I highly recommend him.

  5. Efficient, intelligent, experienced, honest -- an excellent attorney

    Posted by a Family client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Paul Battan.
    • I hired Paul more than 3 years ago.
    • Paul handled my Family matter.
    • I have previously worked with 3-5 lawyers.

    Paul was recommended to me by a friend of mine (a dad) that Paul represented with good results. I didn't hire Paul until after spending the better part of three years and thousands of $$ going to court with my ex and his aggressive attorney.

    We ended up going to trial with the GAL backing my ex. Paul accurately presented my children's situation while cutting through the layers of smokescreen and mud slinging put forth by my ex and his attorney. Paul also very effectively pointed out the major deficiencies with the GAL's investigation and analysis. When it was all said and done, my children and I couldn't be happier with the outcome. I also feel very good about the outcome because we always stayed on the high road (Paul isn't one to sling mud).

    My experience interacting with Paul was very consistent with the different roles that he describes on his website. He is very easy to communicate with and almost always available via email. He even told me that he'd be checking his email on the beach while vacationing in Hawaii, but I didn't have the heart to actually test his dedication during his vacation.

    Going to trial represented by an attorney is expensive. But I found Paul and his staff to be very conscious of my budget and they kept costs under control. Based on my experience with other attorneys, I believe that Paul's years of experience translate to lower costs because he can get stuff done in a fraction of the time of a less experienced attorney with a lower hourly rate.

  6. Outstanding Attorney & Outstanding Person

    Posted by a Divorce client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Paul Battan.
    • I hired Paul more than 3 years ago.
    • Paul handled my Divorce / Separation matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    I interviewed four attorney's and Paul Battan stood out as the attorney who would be the most likely achieve the outcome I sought for my forthcoming dissolution and custody case. Paul held a genuine interest in determining what issues were most important to me and what would be the most beneficial for the children. Paul encouraged me to maintain co-parental communication and to rally around the children while he worked my objectives through the legal channels. Although this wasn't intuitive at the time, as I was willing to fight it out, working it out was certainly going to be more productive. It did not take very long to see that Paul's reputation for being knowledgeable and tactically sound would be very challenging for the opposition. Throughout Paul treated my ex-wife and her attorneys with respect. In the end I was awarded primary custodian of my two children, the home and achieved an arrangement that has fostered reasonable communications with my ex-wife. Thank you Paul.

  7. First Rate and Helpful

    Posted by a Child Support client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Paul Battan.
    • I hired Paul more than 3 years ago.
    • Paul handled my Child Support matter.
    • I have previously worked with 3-5 lawyers.

    I have used Paul Battan several times in the last 8 or so years and he has always been professional, informative and fair. I appreciate his work immensely.

  8. I highly recommend Paul Battan.

    Posted by a Family client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Paul Battan.
    • I hired Paul more than 3 years ago.
    • Paul handled my Family matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    Paul Battan is an outstanding attorney. He is very knowledgeable and informative. He was able to look at my case and give me options and ideas on how I could go about making a stressful situation better. I am not a huge fan of lawyers to begin with but have to say that if I ever need a lawyer again, I will not hesitate to go to Mr. Battan.

  9. An Outstanding Attorney

    Posted by a Family client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Paul Battan.
    • I hired Paul more than 3 years ago.
    • Paul handled my Family matter.
    • I have previously worked with 3-5 lawyers.

    Mr. Battan represented me in a recent divorce action. I could not be more pleased with his work. He was available by phone, in-person, or e-mail whenever I needed him. He and his able assistant, Patti, responded to every one of my questions or requests for help either the same day or the next.
    This was a very stressful time for me, and Mr. Battan was remarkably patient, understanding and supportive. Patti, too, was kind and helpful.
    I have long held a negative view of lawyers, partily as a result of some bad experiences with them. Paul has reversed that bias. He seems genuine and impeccably honest. His knowledge of the law is vast, and he is skilled at interacting with all parties in a matter, and with the opposing attorney.
    In short, I respect Mr.Battan and his assistant totally and with real gratitude for their making what might have been a truly horrible excperience into a simply stressful one. No one could have done more.

  10. Client Review

    Posted by a Child Custody client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Paul Battan.
    • I hired Paul more than 3 years ago.
    • Paul handled my Child Custody matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    I am currently using Paul Battan and was referred by friends that were very pleased with the work he did for them. I have also referred him to others because I have been extremely impressed by his professionalism and his knowledge. I was pleasantly suprised when I first met with him as he was very personable and I knew my case would be in good hands. A nice bonus is the courtesy of his legal assistant. Both are quick to respond to any phone calls or requests and are always on top of matters which helps you relax during a stressful situation. Mr. Battan is highly respected by his peers and the surrounding community and I would highly recommend him.

Please visit our website and call or email for an initial consultation.

360-754-3901