Philip L Kratz’s Reviews

Philip L Kratz

Average Rating

Based on 13 reviews

Help make it easier for other Avvo users to choose the right lawyer by sharing your experience with this attorney. It's fast, simple, and safe.

Review this lawyer

Lawyers: Use the Peer Endorsements section to provide input about other attorneys.


  1. Military family appreciates stellar attorney!

    Posted by Frank W, a Divorce client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Philip Kratz.
    • I hired Philip 6-12 months ago.
    • Philip handled my Divorce / Separation matter.

    I have been battling with my ex in court using Mr. Kratz as my attorney for a few months now. Mr. Kratz has always been exceptional. I work in the military and he is extremely knowledgeable about military family situations, needs and circumstances. His long time Paralegal Shelley has always been prompt in her responses to me and often times took the time to listen over the phone when I seemed frazzled by my case. I have the upmost confidence in this team and really appreciate all they have done for me and my kids. Mr. Kratz is ethical and deals with facts, his paralegal shelley will be the one who you talk to most and she is extremely efficient and great to work with.

  2. Shady billing practices.

    Posted by a Family client,
    Overall rating
     Poor
    Trustworthy
     Poor
    Responsive
     Poor
    Knowledgeable
     Poor
    Kept me informed
     Poor
    • I do not recommend Philip Kratz.
    • I hired Philip 1-3 years ago.
    • Philip handled my Family matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    To start their billing practices are atrocious. Charging to leave a message all the time while leaving you in the dark. When a bill does show up months later there is no explanation. I have never seen him argue with actual law references.
    I would never recommend this lawyer except for who to stay away from. Over promises, under delivers. Period

  3. Do not use Phil Kratz

    Posted by a Divorce client,
    Overall rating
     Poor
    Trustworthy
     Fair
    Responsive
     Poor
    Knowledgeable
     Fair
    Kept me informed
     Poor
    • I do not recommend Philip Kratz.
    • I hired Philip more than 3 years ago.
    • Philip handled my Divorce / Separation matter.
    • I have previously worked with 6-10 lawyers.

    He is an unprofessional attorney at best, at worst he will sell you down the road. More than likely in the back pocket of the judges in this small county court system. he is liberal and therefore will more side with the woman in a divorce case even if he is representing the husband. In this case he will do little things to sabotage your case. I concur with other reviews here, he will not give you paperwork or hearing notices in timely manner. More than once had to take time off at the last minute for a hearing, from my vacation time. Will not present information/ evidence to the judge that will help your case if he does not feel the need. When you get hung out to dry by the judge, he says he just does not understand it or that is "too bad." would not answer phone when he and Shelly are in the office. I would call on my cell from parking lot no answer, walk in 1 minute later and Shelly is just standing there doing nothing. (more than once). He will make backroom deals with the other attorney without consulting you first. stay away, ye be warned!

  4. When clients don't pay their bills...

    Posted by a Divorce client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Philip Kratz.
    • I hired Philip 1-3 years ago.
    • Philip handled my Divorce / Separation matter.
    • I have previously worked with 3-5 lawyers.

    When clients don't pay their bills and expect an attorney to work for free, I find that most people get what they pay for... which does not include free legal assistance. I have been a client of Mr. Kratz and have worked with Shelley for years off and on during my struggles in my divorce case. My guess is the previous review was yet another client who didn't pay their bill, complained they didn't have money etc. and expected both Mr. Kratz and Shelley to keep on working on their case. I know both of them work very hard on my case and those I have referred to them. The level of personal service and professionalism is stellar and I have worked with a couple of attorneys prior and not one has ever been at the level Mr. Kratz and his Paralegal Shelley are. Divorce is tough and I would not want any other team on my side !!!

  5. changed my tune a year later

    Posted by a Divorce client,
    Overall rating
     Fair
    Trustworthy
     Fair
    Responsive
     Fair
    Knowledgeable
     Fair
    Kept me informed
     Fair
    • I do not recommend Philip Kratz.
    • Philip handled my Divorce / Separation matter.
    • I have previously worked with no lawyers.

    I have reviewed this lawyer before on this site. However in the last year I have found that ALOT of loose ends where never taken care of. Once my divorce was filled ($3000 retainer, $1000 more, and $2,500that my ex was ordered to pay later) Phil and Shelley quit responding to me. I found out yesterday that my Qdro paperwork had never been filed since March 15,2011 and that DRS has no record of my divorce. I have mixed feelings about this lawyer because at the time of the process he fought very hard for me but once it was done he didn't care and dropped the ball. when I called to ask him why the paperwork was never submitted he didn't have an answer other than that he could do it now but he would have to charge me. I told him no, I will take care of this on my own. He also questioned me about unpaid bills to him which my ex husband was told by the court to pay and he is receiving payments of 50 a month which he agreed to I said that he could send me a bill once my ex had completed his payments to him.

  6. Phil did an excellent job with my divorce case, I have kids and he helped us so much from start to finish.

    Posted by a Divorce client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Philip Kratz.
    • I hired Philip more than 3 years ago.
    • Philip handled my Divorce / Separation matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    Phillip and his paralegal Shelly worked on my case for over a year. When I called his office his paralegal was always very friendly and helpful even if I just needed to vent or talk she listened to me. Phil fought in court for me and was always prepared and knew what was best for me and my kids. Thank you to this law office for all of your help and I will absolutely recommend you to anyone who needs a great divorce lawyer!!! You will not be disappointed!

  7. This Man Fought For My Future!!!

    Posted by Christine, a Divorce client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Philip Kratz.
    • I hired Philip more than 3 years ago.
    • Philip handled my Divorce / Separation matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    There aren't enough words to express my thankfulness to Phil for the wonderful work he did in my divorce case!! It was a LONG drawn out fiasco that lasted 1 1/2yrs and ALOT of emotional stress...Phil was very very patient and kind thru this whole ordeal!
    Without going into huge detail I want to explain that not ALL lawyers have your best interest at heart....some of them decide "for you" what your settlement should be with the attorney for the other side and then try and "talk you into" what you should settle for....this was what happened to me PRIOR to finding Phil!
    Phil really listened to me...most times when I would meet with him, he would start the meeting by updating me on my case and TOGETHER we would decide what our next action should be. He was thoughtful, and considerate...he truly gave me a voice and my opinion mattered!!
    I had gone thru two lawyers before finding Phil...it was a nightmare to say the least...and the sad part is that you learn as you go...never having gone thru ANYTHING needing an atty I "didn't know what I didn't know"...until it was too late! Luckily I was referred to Phil and consulted with him, from the beginning I liked him and mainly the reason was he asked very specific questions, got all of the details, kept track of data w/spreadsheets...was so prepared that I knew if this ended up at trial he would be on top of everything! We did not end up in trial...three days prior we settled..and it was only because of Phil that I made out with anything close to what I feel I deserved!

  8. Best Lawyer ever!

    Posted by a Divorce client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Philip Kratz.
    • I hired Philip more than 3 years ago.
    • Philip handled my Divorce / Separation matter.
    • I have previously worked with 3-5 lawyers.

    I hired Phil almost 5 years ago for my divorce. He was extremely helpful and understanding of my situation.Which is rare with lawyers. He was kind and extremely knowledgeable about family law. My divorce was a legal separation as neither of us filed the last paper to concrete the divorce that was already in place -- against Phil's advice as there was Domestic Violence that had occurred.I recently called Phil and he remembered me, and my two children. We filed the last document and I am now happily divorced.Phil was very compassionate.

  9. Will keep him on retainer for as long as I need him

    Posted by Tamie, a Divorce client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Philip Kratz.
    • I hired Philip more than 3 years ago.
    • Philip handled my Divorce / Separation matter.
    • I have previously worked with no lawyers.

    I began my divorce back in August 2010, I have three children and was a stay at home mom with no income. Phil and Shelley helped me through every step of the way. We dealt with a lot of nonsense, and he handled it all professionally. His main focus was on the outcome for my children and I. I would not be where I am without him. I would suggest him to anyone in need of legal advice.

  10. Best in Thurston County

    Posted by Catherine, a Family client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Philip Kratz.
    • I hired Philip more than 3 years ago.
    • Philip handled my Family matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    I had this attorney for 3 years and during that time Mr. Kratz and his staff supported me and my children. He always took the time to explain to me what options I had and always put my childrens best interest first. He was professional and exceeded my expectations in the court room. He is Ethical and a top notch attorney. I would recommend him to my friends and family. If you want to move forward with your family law court case then you absolutely want Phil to work for you.