Leonard K Lucenko Jr’s Reviews

Leonard K Lucenko Jr

Average Rating

Based on 9 reviews

Help make it easier for other Avvo users to choose the right lawyer by sharing your experience with this attorney. It's fast, simple, and safe.

Review this lawyer

Lawyers: Use the Peer Endorsements section to provide input about other attorneys.


  1. Leonard Lucenko, highly recommended attorney

    Posted by L., a Divorce client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Leonard Lucenko.
    • I hired Leonard more than 3 years ago.
    • Leonard handled my Divorce / Separation matter.

    Lenny has handled my divorce and subsequent legal issues relating to that divorce. Without his help, I would have been totally at a loss. Specifically, he knew what paperwork had to be filed and when those filings needed to be presented. More importantly, he helped me to focus my declarations on the legal issues at hand. I had mistakenly felt that judges would want historical narratives and motivations of those involved when they really need precise accountings of the relevant legal issues being contested, and honestly, there were many rights I had of which I was unaware, and many rights I thought I had which I, in fact, did not. Lenny knows these points fully, and better than some of the attorneys opposing me. Again, without his knowledge and expertise in these points, I would have been lost. Most importantly, Lenny has a tremendous heart and empathy. He has consistently treated me with kindness, respect, and understanding. Going through a non-hostile divorce is hard enough. When an ex is using the legal system to hurt you, it is overwhelming and at times seems unbearable. Lenny went to great lengths to keep me focused on working through the process and keeping a positive outcome in sight.
    I can't say that working with Lenny was an enjoyable experience -- there's nothing about that divorce that was enjoyable, but I can honestly say I couldn't have made it through without him. He is the one who made the whole process come out as fairly as possible for myself, my ex, and my kids.

  2. Easy $200

    Posted by a Divorce client,
    Overall rating
     Poor
    Trustworthy
     Poor
    Responsive
     Poor
    Knowledgeable
     Good
    Kept me informed
     Poor
    • I do not recommend Leonard Lucenko.
    • I hired Leonard 6-12 months ago.
    • Leonard handled my Divorce / Separation matter.

    I paid Mr. Lucenko's $200 consultation fee...the highest of any attorney I polled by the way. This didn't concern me too greatly as I thought I would get what I paid for.

    Well...not true. After our initial meeting, Mr. Lucenko said he wanted to check into some details about filings in my case and asked me to call him the next day, which I did. I was transferred to voicemail. I left a message. I received no return call. So the next day I again called. I was transferred to voicemail. I left a message. I received no return call.

    So if you are looking for an attorney to donate money to, Leonard Lucenko is your man. I suggest you look elsewhere if you want an attorney who will actually respond to you.

  3. Missed Opportunities

    Posted by a Divorce client,
    Overall rating
     Poor
    Trustworthy
     Average
    Responsive
     Poor
    Knowledgeable
     Poor
    Kept me informed
     Poor
    • I do not recommend Leonard Lucenko.
    • I hired Leonard 1-3 years ago.
    • Leonard handled my Divorce / Separation matter.

    I hired Mr. Lucenko to represent me in my marital dissolution, and at the first meeting asked him to help me get through the process as quickly as possible.

    Twice he set up telephone conferences ( I took off from work in order to be available) and failed to call at the designated time. In fact, he just did not call at all. I ended up trying to reach him, but was told he had left for the day! The first reason that I was given was that he forgot he had a family commitment, I never heard why he missed the second conference. While he apologized, it left me with the impression my case did not seem important to him. There were also several times when I emailed him concerns and requested he get information from my spouse within a specific time frame, but when my spouse and his attorney ( who as it turned out was a personal friend of Mr. Lucenko) stonewalled and procrastinated, Mr, Lucenko did not even follow up until I reminded him that nothing was happening.

    Weeks and months went by with no progress. Overall, the entire experience was disappointing.

  4. A selfless, caring, compassionate, knowledgeable, intelligent, patient, efficient, fairly priced, responsive, effective

    Posted by Geraldine, a Family client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Leonard Lucenko.
    • I hired Leonard 1-3 years ago.
    • Leonard handled my Family matter.

    A selfless, caring, compassionate, knowledgeable, intelligent, patient, efficient, fairly priced, available, responsive, hardworking, helpful and highly effective attorney.

    This isn’t the description you generally hear about attorneys, but Lenny is an amazing human being who happens to be a great attorney.

    My case started with a divorce and escalated to custody issues. I moved cross-state, cross-country and despite all that he helped every step of the way. He always kept his head cool, even when mine was in an emotional mess. He is fair, and fights for what is right and looks at both sides to see fairness and the best solution, not just a bull dog attitude that takes no time to think of the humanity of his decisions.

    His goal is to win the best solution for you, and to offer you solutions that are in your best interest. He listens, he helps keep your costs down, and he tries to negotiate and work with the other party or their attorney.

    He knows his stuff. He is diligent and works cases in a focused manner. You may not hear in between, which gives you rest and you can forget about your case while he takes care of the details. Right before a case, he revs up and gets you involved.

    His professionalism, his knowledge and caring style helped me go through a horrific case of divorce and custody where for some reason the judges were partial to the present parent (I was out of state) and Lenny even helped move my case into another state, at the cost of having me as a client, because it was better venue for my children who were now out of state residents.

    His work has a made a difference in my children’s lives. He has fought for them, and he fought for me for custody, visitation, child support, and alimony. He was never unfair, not to me, not to my ex-husband who really was a nasty person but Lenny took time to get to know him. His way of working gave me respite, a buffer and distance for an emotionally manipulative and abusive ex-husband.

    Lenny makes no judgments. He took me on after my previous attorney fired me because he felt I was doing myself a disservice. My old attorney believed my ex-husband more than he believed me and he didn’t even know me that well. Lenny took me, and Lenny found out what the real story was and has given my children wonderful 3 years of happiness and a life without the drama of an emotionally abusive and neglectful father after he helped my case go to the right court where my kids would be heard.

    I’ve had 4 attorneys, 6 if you include the children’s appointed attorneys. By far, I wish I still had Lenny. Thankfully I found a great one in NY and Lennyworks with them when necessary to help out on this side. But, the time and work I spent with Lenny still tells me that I don’t’ think I’ll find someone as balanced, caring and as effective as him.

  5. Lenny is one in a million!!

    Posted by Forever Grateful, a Domestic Violence client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Leonard Lucenko.
    • I hired Leonard 1-3 years ago.
    • Leonard handled my Domestic Violence matter.
    • I have previously worked with no lawyers.

    I would strongly recommend Lenny to anyone seeking a knowledgeable, ethical and highly principled attorney with heart. Lenny has represented me in numerous court proceedings and each time he has been professional, well-prepared and concerned about the well-being of my children. Prior to each court appearance, Lenny took time to inform me about what the proceedings would entail and what outcomes I might expect. He listened and responded to my concerns. He consistently provided informative and honest feedback.

    While representing me in the courtroom, Lenny consistently demonstrated thorough knowledge about my case. He was always well prepared. He maintained his professional demeanor while interacting with a variety of personality types. Lenny’s ability to maintain his integrity and professionalism across situations was impressive and extremely appreciated.

    Lenny has been a blessing!! He is knowledgeable, professional, caring and compassionate. His professional ethics are second to none. I will forever be grateful to both Lenny and his competent, hardworking assistant, Susie for their willingness to stand beside me during lengthy and very challenging court proceedings. Lenny helped renew and restore my faith in the goodness of people. Lenny is an attorney with a strong moral compass and code of ethics. He is not only a gifted attorney, but he is also an outstanding human being.

  6. Review of Leonard Lucenko, Jr.

    Posted by Rebekah, a Child Support client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Leonard Lucenko.
    • I hired Leonard 1-3 years ago.
    • Leonard handled my Child Support matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    Lenny is an amazing lawyer who is fair, honest, understands the emotional roller coaster, and is able to see the big picture. When going to court it is often easy to get wrapped up in details, to waste time and money arguing insignificant issues, and to be drained emotionally. Lenny is aware of this. He has always made as his top priority the long term consequences. These include such things as relations with family, my financial situation, and my physical and mental health. I highly recommend Lenny.

  7. Zehr Dissolution

    Posted by Matthew, a Divorce client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Leonard Lucenko.
    • I hired Leonard more than 3 years ago.
    • Leonard handled my Divorce / Separation matter.
    • I have previously worked with no lawyers.

    Met all expectation of what I expected the process to be. Always advises and kept me abreast of my options. Still have more requirements after dissolution. Will continue with Lenny and Susie. Also, Susie was extremely helpful with process especially with the transfer of retirement funds. Kudos to CTM Team.

  8. not knowledgable about family law

    Posted by a Family client,
    Overall rating
     Poor
    Trustworthy
     Poor
    Responsive
     Poor
    Knowledgeable
     Poor
    Kept me informed
     Poor
    • I do not recommend Leonard Lucenko.
    • I hired Leonard 1-3 years ago.
    • Leonard handled my Family matter.
    • I have previously worked with 3-5 lawyers.

    on the first meeting i wasnt a resident so he said to come back when i was a resident. i left a detailed message saying i wanted to move my family law case to washington now that i was a resident. after taking my money within the first ten minutes he said its basically impossible to move my case to washington. first of all he is incorrect. secondly he knowingly wasted my time and money.

  9. mpincoos

    Posted by Mike, a Divorce client,
    Overall rating
     Poor
    Trustworthy
     Poor
    Responsive
     Average
    Knowledgeable
     Good
    Kept me informed
     Average
    • I do not recommend Leonard Lucenko.
    • I hired Leonard more than 3 years ago.
    • Leonard handled my Divorce / Separation matter.
    • I have previously worked with 3-5 lawyers.

    Lenny quit as my attorney just weeks before my difficult divorce was going to trial. I was fully up to date on my bill so it was not for lack of payment. No explanation.