Helen Marie Rickey’s Reviews

Helen Marie Rickey

Average Rating

Based on 7 reviews

Help make it easier for other Avvo users to choose the right lawyer by sharing your experience with this attorney. It's fast, simple, and safe.

Review this lawyer

Lawyers: Use the Peer Endorsements section to provide input about other attorneys.


  1. HORRIBLE EXPERIENCE AND MISTAKES BY THIS ATTORNEY

    Posted by a Chapter 13 client,
    Overall rating
     Poor
    Trustworthy
     Poor
    Responsive
     Poor
    Knowledgeable
     Poor
    Kept me informed
     Poor
    • I do not recommend Helen Rickey.
    • I hired Helen 1-3 years ago.
    • Helen handled my Bankruptcy / Chapter 13 matter.
    • I have previously worked with no lawyers.

    I RETAINED HELEN TO REPRESENT ME ON A CHAPTER 13 BANKRUPTCY. SHE MADE PROMISES OF DEBTS THAT WOULD BE INCLUDED THAT WERE NOT AND ULTIMATELY COST ME MORE TIME AND MONEY TO ATTORNEYS TO ASSURE MY FINANCIAL FUTURE WAS ACCOMPLISHED WITH THE SET PURPOSE OF FILING BANKRUPTCY. I SENT DOCUMENTS MULTIPLE TIMES THAT WERE LOST, HAD TO RESEND THOUGH I HAD CONFIRMATION. WE WERE IN COURT AND SHE WAS TOLD OF SEVERAL MISTAKES IN HER PETITION THAT NEEDED TO BE CORRECTED BEFORE MY CASE COULD MOVE FORWARD.

    MOST DISTURBING IS SHE DID NOT ADVOCATE FOR WHAT SHE PROMISED. AND THEN UP AND LEFT THE LAW FIRM SHE WAS WORKING AT WITHOUT NOTICE.

    1. Helen Marie Rickey

      Helen Rickey

      Lawyer Comment:

      I apologize that I was unable to complete your case. In Washington a client hires the law firm for representation, and not the individual attorney. Due to circumstances outside of my control, I was unable to continue to personally manage your case.

      It is not accurate that I "up and left the law firm she was working at without notice." More than 6 months ago the bankruptcy department of the firm that employed me was transferred to a new firm. All clients should have received a letter explaining that the bankruptcy cases were transferred to the new firm. The new firm was significantly smaller and was unable to maintain the employment of the bankruptcy staff at the original firm. Therefore, without advance notice to me, I was unable to personally administer my caseload and all of the cases I filed were transferred to the owner of the new firm and/or the staff of the new firm.

      I apologize again that I could not complete your case and all of the cases that were transferred.

      Posted over 1 year ago. Flag

  2. A Great resource and trusted attorney

    Posted by Jim, a Chapter 7 client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Helen Rickey.
    • I hired Helen more than 3 years ago.
    • Helen handled my Bankruptcy / Chapter 7 matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    Helen Rickey was a great resource and helped walk us through an unknown world, step by step. She is very knowledgeable in bankruptcy and calmed our fears. I would highly recommend her to anyone experiencing foreclosure or bankruptcy.

  3. Knowledgeable, personable, and professional

    Posted by a Chapter 13 client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Helen Rickey.
    • I hired Helen more than 3 years ago.
    • Helen handled my Bankruptcy / Chapter 13 matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    Helen was great to work with. We were having some issues with our chapter 13 payment plan and Helen walked us through our options drawing on her vast knowledge of the law, but also on her experience with the local trustee's office. Not only was she very knowledgeable and experienced but she was a great listener and very personable. If you need a good attorney, I highly recommend Helen.

  4. Chapter 7 Bankruptcy Case

    Posted by Dana, a Chapter 7 client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Good
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Helen Rickey.
    • I hired Helen more than 3 years ago.
    • Helen handled my Bankruptcy / Chapter 7 matter.
    • I have previously worked with 3-5 lawyers.

    I found Helen pleasant and thorough work with and we got the desired result.

  5. Highly recommended attorney

    Posted by a Chapter 7 client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Helen Rickey.
    • I hired Helen more than 3 years ago.
    • Helen handled my Bankruptcy / Chapter 7 matter.
    • I have previously worked with 3-5 lawyers.

    We worked with Helen and other attorneys in her firm to file bankruptcy after a job loss and severe income reduction. We were very impressed with Helen. She was responsive, kept us updated during the entire process and always was timely in her responses. One of the things that impressed me the most was her non-judgmental manner and compassion that can be missing in this kind of filing. I would highly recommend her.

  6. Integrity

    Posted by James, a Real Estate client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Helen Rickey.
    • I hired Helen more than 3 years ago.
    • Helen handled my Real Estate matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    I spoke with Helen a couple of times and had a few email conversations. She was knowledgeable, friendly and insightful. From my dealings with her, I would recommend this lawyer!

  7. I recommend Helen M. Rickey

    Posted by Kathleen, a Bankruptcy client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Helen Rickey.
    • I hired Helen more than 3 years ago.
    • Helen handled my Bankruptcy / Debt matter.
    • I have previously worked with 3-5 lawyers.

    December 2010:
    I wholeheartedly recommend Ms. Rickey to anyone in need of sound advice when debt becomes an issue. She presented several options to me when I believed I had but one. She advised me well and steered me clear of financial harm. I followed a very individual plan which kept me out of the Court System, protected my property, satisfied my creditors, and lowered my costs substantially. My best advice? Don't let yourself feel weighed down, or boxed in. She is a wise and savvy attorney who can present other alternatives that you might not have known existed or were available to you. I could not have reached my very favorable and debt-free outcome without her wise counsel.