Virginia L. DeCosta’s Reviews

Virginia L. DeCosta

Average Rating

Based on 13 reviews

Help make it easier for other Avvo users to choose the right lawyer by sharing your experience with this attorney. It's fast, simple, and safe.

Review this lawyer

Lawyers: Use the Peer Endorsements section to provide input about other attorneys.


  1. Helped me fight Work source over unemployment issue

    Posted by Daniel, a Employment client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Virginia DeCosta.
    • I hired Virginia 6-12 months ago.
    • Virginia handled my Employment / Labor matter.
    • I have previously worked with 3-5 lawyers.

    I received a notice in the main that I owed work source some $20,000 in what they claimed were over payments over a period where they felt I was wrongfully collecting unemployment. It appeared to me as a simple misunderstanding with some of the paperwork and forms I filled out so I decided to represent myself at my first hearing. That was a HUGE mistake. I was belittled and was not fully given an opportunity to present my case to the assigned judge as was promptly given an unjust decision. I then began looking for a lawyer to represent me. I found Ms. DeCosta via a google search and saw that she had some good reviews so I set up an appointment. I was skeptical about how much help I would receive for what it might cost me but I could not afford to pay work source so I took a chance. What a good decision that was! From day one Ms. DeCosta listened to my story and inquired not only about the issue but about other things in my life that ended up helping me quite a bit. Had she not taken the extra time to listen and ask questions I may have had a very different outcome. Ms. Decosta and her staff spent quite a bit of time researching case law and other precedents to validate her arguments and left no stone unturned during her research. Like most things in life, you get what you pay for. In the end I was found to not be at fault and absolved of all wrong doing. I for one am very great full for all the hard work and caring effort Ms. Decosta and her staff put in to help my wife and I.
    Thank you so much and God bless.

  2. Everyone needs a lawyer like Virginia DeCosta in their corner!

    Posted by Aline, a Car Accident client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Virginia DeCosta.
    • I hired Virginia 1-3 years ago.
    • Virginia handled my Car / Auto Accident matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    I was involved in an automobile accident that compromised my ability to work. I work in the freelance world of live TV, and it's important to my clients that when they hire me, I am able to perform all aspects of my job. Virginia was amazing! She was able to present a clear and accurate picture to the mediator of my job requirements, and why I had to turn down work due to my injuries. I think the first impulse is to hurry up and get everything settled with the insurance companies, but Virginia knew that being meticulous in her representation of my case was crucial. That resulted in my being awarded a very generous settlement, believe me, it was much more than I ever thought possible. I am very thankful for the hard work put forth by Virginia and her firm. I genuinely recommend Virginia DeCosta for accident cases. You will have a true advocate in your corner.

  3. Attorney with a heart

    Posted by Stephanie, a Medical Malpractice client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Virginia DeCosta.
    • I hired Virginia more than 3 years ago.
    • Virginia handled my Medical Malpractice matter.
    • I have previously worked with 3-5 lawyers.

    Ms. DeCosta handled a case in which my mother-in-law suffered injuries while a patient in a rehabilitation facility. Ms. DeCosta secured expert witnesses and labored many hours working toward a settlement with Medicare and my mother-in-law's secondary insurer to reimburse them for costs incurred while she was a patient. It was a lenghty process. Ms. DeCosta even worked from home because of time zone issues. We received regular updates and e-mails. We are completely satisfied with Ms. DeCosta's expertise and caring.

  4. Integrity beyond measure

    Posted by Carole, a Employment client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Virginia DeCosta.
    • I hired Virginia 1-3 years ago.
    • Virginia handled my Employment / Labor matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    I became acquainted with Virginia DeCosta while she was conducting investigative interviews in a sexual harassment case at my place of employment. Upon meeting her, I was immediately put at ease allowing me to speak openly and honestly. Her level of professionalism, dedication, intelligence, and competence exceeded all expectations.
    Due to the relationship that developed I have continued to seek advice and assistance from the DeCosta law firm. Virginia and her assistant, Jenn, have been invaluable to myself and my family and we would highly recommend them to anyone in need of legal assistance.

  5. Truley Blessed To Have Virginia As My Attorney

    Posted by Heather, a Sexual Harassment client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Virginia DeCosta.
    • I hired Virginia more than 3 years ago.
    • Virginia handled my Sexual Harassment matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    I hired Virginia DeCosta for a sexual harrasment case. Virgina is one of the most upfront and honest people I know. She doesn't tell you what you want to hear. She tells you the truth and what to prepare yourself for. But she is also caring and compassionate at the same time. Not very people have these qualities. She worked so hard on my case. She would call me days, nights, and even weekends. Not only about the case but to just check on me. I truly appreciated her doing that. I won the case and it was because of her strong beliefs and hard work. There were many times I wanted to give up but Virginia helped me stand up for what is right and to not give up. I not only consider her my attorney but also a good friend. Because of Virginia, there were severe changes made to the place of employment. Sexual harrassment policies were changed and taken more serious. I highly recommend her to everyone and anyone. I'm so very blessed to have met her.

  6. Employment Issue

    Posted by Anna, a Employment client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Virginia DeCosta.
    • I hired Virginia 1-3 years ago.
    • Virginia handled my Employment / Labor matter.
    • I have previously worked with no lawyers.

    Virginia was recomended by a lawyer I was considering hiring. He was right she was perfect for me.
    I had never needed a lawyer before and found her assistant Jen friendly and helpful as I blurted out my situation over the phone. Virginia's approach to my work greivance wasn't 'let's sue for as much money as possible' she listened to me and knew I wanted to work things out with my employer. We as a team were able to facilitate an excellent outcome. Call her today, she is worth every dollar!

  7. Extraordinarily Gifted Lawyer

    Posted by Michael & Jacqueline, a Workers Compensation client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Virginia DeCosta.
    • I hired Virginia 1-3 years ago.
    • Virginia handled my Workers Compensation matter.
    • I have previously worked with 3-5 lawyers.

    Our lawyer Virginia DeCosta helped us for over 6 months to obtain the benefits that we were entitled to receive. After 2 hearings of which both ended with great success, We were awarded our benefits with no questions. Virginia is a professional and cares about people and their problems. She stuck with us until the matters were all resolved. We highly recommend her for her services, experience.and the passion she has for her work.

  8. A lawyer you want on your side...

    Posted by Courtney, a Personal Injury client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Virginia DeCosta.
    • I hired Virginia more than 3 years ago.
    • Virginia handled my Personal Injury matter.
    • I have previously worked with no lawyers.

    I was in a car accident and at first didn't think to get an attorney. I was referred to Virginia by the person I was in a car accident with and hiring her was the best thing I could have done for myself. There is so much the lay person like me doesn't know about when dealing with insurance companies. Virginia is not only one of the nicest people, she knows what she's doing. She and her assistant both have always been available to answer any questions I have (and I've had a lot because I didn't understand the process), and they've gone above and beyond for me. When you've been injured in an accident, the last thing you want to focus on is dealing with insurance companies and paperwork. Having Virginia as my lawyer gave me the peace of mind I needed to focus on getting better and not all the other stuff.

    Her experience is apparent. She has integrity, which is important to me, and she's a shark. I would recommend her to anyone who needs an attorney. She'll fight with you and for you.

  9. The absolute worst communication I've ever experienced in an Attorney

    Posted by Jason, a Employment client,
    Overall rating
     Poor
    Trustworthy
     Poor
    Responsive
     Poor
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Poor
    • I do not recommend Virginia DeCosta.
    • I hired Virginia 1-3 years ago.
    • Virginia handled my Employment / Labor matter.
    • I have previously worked with no lawyers.

    While she may be a dynamo in the courtroom, she has the worst communication I've even experienced with an attorney. Be very careful of this one. I seriously question the validity of her other reviews after my experience with her!

  10. SHE IS THE BEST!!!

    Posted by a Sexual Harassment client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Virginia DeCosta.
    • I hired Virginia 1-3 years ago.
    • Virginia handled my Sexual Harassment matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    I am so glad I hired Virginia, she made me feel at ease with my situation. I was at my wits end and ready to give up. Thank God I did not give up, she settled my case very quickly and kept me informed every step of the way(even on weekends) She is professional and a genuine nice person. I highly recommend her.

253-761-3093