Virginia L. DeCosta’s Reviews

Virginia L. DeCosta

Average Rating

Based on 19 reviews

Help make it easier for other Avvo users to choose the right lawyer by sharing your experience with this attorney. It's fast, simple, and safe.

Review this lawyer

Lawyers: Use the Peer Endorsements section to provide input about other attorneys.


  1. Honest and real Lawyer

    Posted by a Employment client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Virginia DeCosta.
    • I hired Virginia 1-3 years ago.
    • Virginia handled my Employment / Labor matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    Virginia was extremely honest and real with me when I was deciding to take legal action against a past employer. Because of her truthful guidance I decided not to go any further and I appreciate her taking the time to educate me on my decision vs. just pushing me into a situation I wouldn't be able to back away from. This saved me much heartache. Thank you!

  2. How can you NOT hire Virginia?

    Posted by a client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Virginia DeCosta.
    • I hired Virginia 6-12 months ago.

    I was trying to handle negotiations with my employer on my own and things were quickly deteriorating. Turning my case over to Virginia was the best decision I could make and I am so glad I did. The precise, detailed, and fast way she resolved the situation was wonderful and took
    the stress off my shoulders. Thank you!

  3. I highly recommend Virginia DeCosta

    Posted by Michele, a Car Accident client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Virginia DeCosta.
    • I hired Virginia 1-3 years ago.
    • Virginia handled my Car / Auto Accident matter.
    • I have previously worked with 3-5 lawyers.

    Virginia DeCosta has represented both of my children (at different times) when they were involved in auto accidents caused by the other driver. Virginia and her amazing staff took the pressure off of us and started right in getting the information needed to help us. We were always kept up to date on our case and Virginia's advice along the way helped tremendously. I highly recommend Virginia DeCosta to anyone needing legal assistance, she is the best!

  4. Wholeness Restored by DeCosta Law Firm

    Posted by Elizabeth, a Employment client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Virginia DeCosta.
    • I hired Virginia 1-3 years ago.
    • Virginia handled my Employment / Labor matter.
    • I have previously worked with no lawyers.

    I was suddenly terminated from a job and blamed for something I didn't do. In desperation, I started calling attorneys and no one would take my case because of the power of my employer. These rejections were further damaging to my sense of worth and I became very depressed. Then someone suggested that I call a woman in Tacoma by the name of Virginia ... and the rest is history. Not only did Virginia DeCosta rebuild my confidence and self-worth, through her efforts all of my financial losses were restored. And before it was over, she made my former employers write glowing reference letters that were used to return to work with a much better employer. Through the whole process, I truly believed that this woman cared about me as a person first, and a client second. I have my life back and I owe it to Virginia DeCosta.

  5. A Wonderful Experience

    Posted by Gary, a Personal Injury client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Virginia DeCosta.
    • I hired Virginia 1-3 years ago.
    • Virginia handled my Personal Injury matter.
    • I have previously worked with 3-5 lawyers.

    8/9/2014

    I would like to establish my personal appreciation for a local attorney who represented a member of my family. Her name is Virginia DeCosta, a wonderful attorney at law located in Tacoma.
    With my family member there was much more than winning a case, there was the issue of personal reputation, self esteem, restored personal confidence and being properly coached along the way. Ms. DeCosta was very professional, an excellent communicator, firm but fair with the defendants, and also offered wonderful follow-up after the case was settled. The result of this process and resolution was I was proud to call Virginia a friend and have referred numerous individuals to her. They all have had the same glowing reaction and response to her professionalism that my family experienced.
    Posted by Gary a Personal Injury Case

  6. Find another lawyer...

    Posted by a Personal Injury client,
    Overall rating
     Poor
    Trustworthy
     Poor
    Responsive
     Poor
    Knowledgeable
     Poor
    Kept me informed
     Poor
    • I do not recommend Virginia DeCosta.
    • I hired Virginia more than 3 years ago.
    • Virginia handled my Personal Injury matter.
    • I have previously worked with 3-5 lawyers.

    I retained Ms. DeCosta in a personal injury case, and had the unpleasant task of releasing her and finding another lawyer. Her work was sloppy, her attitude aggressive and unprofessional, and she communicated poorly. Would NOT recommend her to anyone. Her work is slipshod at best.

  7. Dynamo Attorney!

    Posted by a Employment client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Virginia DeCosta.
    • I hired Virginia 1-6 months ago.
    • Virginia handled my Employment / Labor matter.
    • I have previously worked with more than 10 lawyers.

    I hired Attorney DeCosta for an employment/labor issue with an extremely fast timeline. DeCosta was quick to respond as well as her highly qualified staff. Her staff is warm, friendly and helpful. I was seen within the week and DeCosta was fully prepared to give me all the legal advice I needed for a favorable outcome. Thanks to the DeCosta Law Firm, I received exactly what I hoped for. She is compassionate, caring, extremely bright and willing to go the extra mile to help her clients. I have worked in the legal arena for over 20 years with many attorneys. I highly recommend Virginia DeCosta without reservation.

  8. Helped me fight Work source over unemployment issue

    Posted by Daniel, a Employment client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Virginia DeCosta.
    • I hired Virginia 1-3 years ago.
    • Virginia handled my Employment / Labor matter.
    • I have previously worked with 3-5 lawyers.

    I received a notice in the main that I owed work source some $20,000 in what they claimed were over payments over a period where they felt I was wrongfully collecting unemployment. It appeared to me as a simple misunderstanding with some of the paperwork and forms I filled out so I decided to represent myself at my first hearing. That was a HUGE mistake. I was belittled and was not fully given an opportunity to present my case to the assigned judge as was promptly given an unjust decision. I then began looking for a lawyer to represent me. I found Ms. DeCosta via a google search and saw that she had some good reviews so I set up an appointment. I was skeptical about how much help I would receive for what it might cost me but I could not afford to pay work source so I took a chance. What a good decision that was! From day one Ms. DeCosta listened to my story and inquired not only about the issue but about other things in my life that ended up helping me quite a bit. Had she not taken the extra time to listen and ask questions I may have had a very different outcome. Ms. Decosta and her staff spent quite a bit of time researching case law and other precedents to validate her arguments and left no stone unturned during her research. Like most things in life, you get what you pay for. In the end I was found to not be at fault and absolved of all wrong doing. I for one am very great full for all the hard work and caring effort Ms. Decosta and her staff put in to help my wife and I.
    Thank you so much and God bless.

  9. Everyone needs a lawyer like Virginia DeCosta in their corner!

    Posted by Aline, a Car Accident client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Virginia DeCosta.
    • I hired Virginia 1-3 years ago.
    • Virginia handled my Car / Auto Accident matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    I was involved in an automobile accident that compromised my ability to work. I work in the freelance world of live TV, and it's important to my clients that when they hire me, I am able to perform all aspects of my job. Virginia was amazing! She was able to present a clear and accurate picture to the mediator of my job requirements, and why I had to turn down work due to my injuries. I think the first impulse is to hurry up and get everything settled with the insurance companies, but Virginia knew that being meticulous in her representation of my case was crucial. That resulted in my being awarded a very generous settlement, believe me, it was much more than I ever thought possible. I am very thankful for the hard work put forth by Virginia and her firm. I genuinely recommend Virginia DeCosta for accident cases. You will have a true advocate in your corner.

  10. Attorney with a heart

    Posted by Stephanie, a Medical Malpractice client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Virginia DeCosta.
    • I hired Virginia more than 3 years ago.
    • Virginia handled my Medical Malpractice matter.
    • I have previously worked with 3-5 lawyers.

    Ms. DeCosta handled a case in which my mother-in-law suffered injuries while a patient in a rehabilitation facility. Ms. DeCosta secured expert witnesses and labored many hours working toward a settlement with Medicare and my mother-in-law's secondary insurer to reimburse them for costs incurred while she was a patient. It was a lenghty process. Ms. DeCosta even worked from home because of time zone issues. We received regular updates and e-mails. We are completely satisfied with Ms. DeCosta's expertise and caring.

253-761-3093