Thomas Andrew Balerud’s Reviews

Thomas Andrew Balerud

Average Rating

Based on 8 reviews

Help make it easier for other Avvo users to choose the right lawyer by sharing your experience with this attorney. It's fast, simple, and safe.

Review this lawyer

Lawyers: Use the Peer Endorsements section to provide input about other attorneys.


  1. An Excellent Attorney!

    Posted by a DUI client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Thomas Balerud.
    • I hired Thomas 6-12 months ago.
    • Thomas handled my DUI / DWI matter.

    Mr. Balerud was very helpful to me in an extremely difficult situation. I had been arrested for DUI, and since I had only ever gotten one speeding almost 20 years ago, I didn't know what to do! He met with me for a free one hour consultation, and discussed everything (to the last detail) that happened that day. He really listened to me, even taking notes, then went over all my options from best case scenario to worst. He was quick to meet me for my first court appearance, so I really felt like I wasn't alone, I had someone on my side. It can be a scary experience if you haven't been there before! Tom walked me through what to expect at each court appearance, advised me what I needed to do legally to fulfill court requirements, and helped me locate the assessment centers, and where to take my required classes. He was a great support, even offering words of encouragement as I cried! He was able to get my DUI charge changed to negligent driving, and I was able to save my self-respect and my job. If someone needs an attorney that is extremely knowledgeable, experienced, friendly, and respectful I highly recommend Thomas Balerud. I will definitely be recommending him to my friends and family!

  2. Insurance Nightmare

    Posted by Kennedy, a Personal Injury client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Thomas Balerud.
    • I hired Thomas more than 3 years ago.
    • Thomas handled my Personal Injury matter.
    • I have previously worked with 3-5 lawyers.

    I was involved in an automobile accident in Tacoma a little over 2 years ago. The accident was not my fault so I didn't think I needed an attorney. When the insurance company contacted me they were requesting my insurance information to file a claim against me! I tried to explain to them that it was their clients responsibility and by the time I was done I was questioning the situation myself. My car and body were banged up pretty good. I contacted Tom and explained the situation. I retained him and that was the last I heard from the insurance company. By the time this ordeal was done, I was compensated for my injuries and my car was repaired just as good as new!

  3. Lawyer or Tiger?

    Posted by Charles, a Criminal Defense client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Average
    Knowledgeable
     Good
    Kept me informed
     Fair
    • I recommend Thomas Balerud.
    • I hired Thomas more than 3 years ago.
    • Thomas handled my Criminal Defense matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    I was fasly accussed of a horible sex crime and although I was innocent the allegations brought extreme shame to me and my family. I met with Tom and was not sure what he or anyone else would believe so I was a bit nervous. Tom heard my story and vowed to fight for me because he said he believed in me. Although he is not the cheapest in town I also know that you pay for what you get. I walked! And because of Tom I now hold my head high again.

  4. Great attorney

    Posted by a Criminal Defense client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Good
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Good
    • I recommend Thomas Balerud.
    • I hired Thomas more than 3 years ago.
    • Thomas handled my Criminal Defense matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    Many years ago, Tom defended me in a case that if convicted, my life would have been over. I would have lost my job and would have done serious jail time. I was innocent and it was my word against a crazy persons story. Tom was able to point out the inconsistencies and fallacies in the state's argument and I was found innocent. I thank God that the truth prevailed.

  5. Tom is a great lawyer!

    Posted by Job, a DUI client,
    Overall rating
     Good
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Good
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Thomas Balerud.
    • I hired Thomas more than 3 years ago.
    • Thomas handled my DUI / DWI matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    Tom is currently representing me and is doing a great job. He's saved me thousands of dollars and my job! I would recommend Tom to anyone who is serious about keeping what is most important to them.

  6. Client Review

    Posted by a Criminal Defense client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Good
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Thomas Balerud.
    • I hired Thomas more than 3 years ago.
    • Thomas handled my Criminal Defense matter.
    • I have previously worked with 3-5 lawyers.

    TOM has represented me on 2 different occasions. As of recent in puyallup. I have hired and fired other Attorneys and I have to say Tom is hands down the BEST ATTORNEY in Pierce County. When the chips where on the table this guy knows his stuff and will fight for his client. Tom saved my butt from going to jain on a senseless issue and kept me from loosing my job. I reccomend him over anyone else.

  7. best lawyer in tacoma

    Posted by a Criminal Defense client,
    Overall rating
     Good
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Good
    • I recommend Thomas Balerud.
    • I hired Thomas more than 3 years ago.
    • Thomas handled my Criminal Defense matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    this guy knows his stuff. he made pierce co. finest look like dumd a----
    on the stand beat my case hands down!!!!

  8. Best Attorney in Tacoma

    Posted by a Criminal Defense client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Thomas Balerud.
    • I hired Thomas more than 3 years ago.
    • Thomas handled my Criminal Defense matter.

    I hired Mr. Balerud to assist me on a criminal case that also involved a large cash seizure. He beat my 3 count prison exposure case down to only 2 months of home arrest. As to my civil forfeiture, he beat that as well. All my vehicles (my SUV and both of my Mercedes) along with $10,000 cash were returned to me. I would gladly refer him to others.

253-573-1111