Robert Charles Freeby’s Reviews

Robert Charles Freeby

Average Rating

Based on 8 reviews

Help make it easier for other Avvo users to choose the right lawyer by sharing your experience with this attorney. It's fast, simple, and safe.

Review this lawyer

Lawyers: Use the Peer Endorsements section to provide input about other attorneys.


  1. Untrustworthy

    Posted by Philip,
    Overall rating
     Poor
    Trustworthy
     Poor
    Responsive
     Average
    Knowledgeable
     Average
    Kept me informed
     Poor
    • I do not recommend Robert Freeby.
    • I hired Robert 6-12 months ago.
    • I have previously worked with 6-10 lawyers.

    I've hired lawyers in the past for business matters and always had good experiences and good results. This was my first experience with a criminal attorney and what a disappointing experience.

    I hired Mr. Freeby to appear at Superior Court to ask for a continuance on my behalf. He requested a $2500 retainer and explained his fee structure. At no point did he indicate that the retainer was non refundable. Per our agreement his retainer would ONLY become a flat fee upon the filing of criminal charges.

    The plantiff who filed the action failed to appear the case was dismissed. Total time spent on this case: less than 2 hours.

    Mr. Freeby now claims that the retainer is his money even though the agreement we signed clearly states "that client's fee shall be held in trust and shall not be a flat fee until the attorney receives notice that charges have been filed against the client". No criminal charges were ever filed against me. No trust account was ever established and no accounting of his time was provided.

    Please be careful when dealing with Mr. Freeby.

  2. Taken all the way "Part Two" as titled by another former client

    Posted by Anon, a DUI client,
    Overall rating
     Poor
    Trustworthy
     Poor
    Responsive
     Poor
    Knowledgeable
     Poor
    Kept me informed
     Poor
    • I do not recommend Robert Freeby.
    • I hired Robert 1-3 years ago.
    • Robert handled my DUI / DWI matter.

    It is my opinion that Mr. Freeby is either very deliberate or very incompetent.
    I was arrested in 2012 the police officer lied so badly in his police report that I personally was able to but together a defense and could prove completely that what the officer said was nothing more than complete fabrication and nothing more than complete lies.
    All I asked of Mr. Freeby was to arrange an interview with this officer and he would either lie some more or come clean.
    The officer would have had a very difficult time to attempt to continue lying and more than likely would have been in a very serious position.
    So what happens with this attorney of some twenty years experience? Nothing!!
    He spends nearly an entire year pretending he couldn't arrange an interview and as if the Department wasn't cooperating, but they were and even told him how to arrange an interview.
    I even gave him the page out of the police departments policy and procedure manual that is quit clear on how to arrange an interview with a police officer.
    Well you would expect a criminal defense attorney to know how this would be done and just off the top of his head, wouldn't you?
    So I had to fire him and only to hire another lawyer and get the very same representation, NO interview. I guess the question is why? Perhaps it was more important to protect the police officer?
    So yes I agree with the one other review that I to was taken all the way and quit poorly as if in extremely stupid thing for this attorney to have done.
    If you are considering hiring this attorney, hopefully it is for something that doesn't have any serious consequences or you may find yourself in a very tight spot.

  3. Thank you!

    Posted by Dorothy, a DUI client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Robert Freeby.
    • I hired Robert more than 3 years ago.
    • Robert handled my DUI / DWI matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    Thank you Mr. Freeby for you expertise. You helped me a great deal for I was very nervous. I was in shock over the police report. I have a very clear insight now.

  4. Robert Freeby Juvenile Criminal Defense Attorney

    Posted by Sandra, a Criminal Defense client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Robert Freeby.
    • I hired Robert more than 3 years ago.
    • Robert handled my Criminal Defense matter.
    • I have previously worked with 6-10 lawyers.

    Rob Freeby worked 24-7 on our case. He searched far beyond belief for laws, incidents, history, and all information useful. Rob did everything possible to get a "fair and just" outcome. Rob worked beyond a partial prosecution. Rob never let us down, he was our team leader around the clock. We would have lost our child to the system if not for Robert Freeby. No other attorney knows the juvenile criminal system like Rob Freeby, including the politics in Pierce County. Rob's office constantly informed us of vital information, as well as comforting advise, and always the full truth. This was our first dealing with juvenile situation, and devastating; Words cannot describe our impression of Rob Freeby. He will always be our hero, our team leader, and in our prayers. Do NOT hesitate to have Robert Freeby lead your child and your family in a time of distress and need.

  5. Trial of Joseph C Mondau

    Posted by Stephen, a Motorcycle Accident client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Robert Freeby.
    • I hired Robert more than 3 years ago.
    • Robert handled my Motorcycle Accident matter.
    • I have previously worked with 3-5 lawyers.

    We found Mr. Freeby to be diligent,caring, painstaking as to detail,very efficient, and knowledgeable. He had a very good trial presence in the courtroom.He was supportive of the family and its concerns.

    We think that Joseph was extremely well represented in this case.

    We would definitely ask Mr Freeby to represent us in the future.

  6. A Mother's Prayer...A Mother's Trust

    Posted by Yolanda, a Criminal Defense client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Robert Freeby.
    • I hired Robert more than 3 years ago.
    • Robert handled my Criminal Defense matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    When I received the call that my son was in jail, my heart sank. I waded through the initial process with the appointment of a public defender. I lost complete faith in the system when the lawyer assigned to my son's case stated that it did not matter whether he was innocent. He recommended that he take the plea offered and go to jail for nine months without allowing him to explain what took place the day of the incident. That did not set right with me. As a mother, I knew I had to support my son this time. I called a lawyer or two who were very smug and obviously pre-judged me as though I could not afford their services. In all actuality, I could not afford to let my son's entire future be lost to a gross injustice. Thus, I prayed as I wet to the phone book, not knowing what we were even looking for in an attorney. In one conversation, I was sold. We set up the first formal meeting. At our initial appointment, it was evident that Mr. Freeby has strong convictions about what he does and is very passionate about justice and getting to the truth. It was more than just business. He also imparted nuggets of wisdom into my son about life in general as well. I was thoroughly pleased with the outcome of my son’s case. He did not accept “no” for an answer from the prosecutors’ office when he felt that my son deserve more compassion. He was candid all throughout, not leading us to expect anything that he could not guarantee. He helped us to understand the laws and thoroughly briefed us on the best and worst case scenarios. Nevertheless, I am so grateful that he was willing to go the distance with his case, even when it seemed insurmountable. I highly recommend his practice.

  7. Thank you Robert Freeby

    Posted by a Criminal Defense client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Robert Freeby.
    • I hired Robert more than 3 years ago.
    • Robert handled my Criminal Defense matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    When we found our family unexpectedly involved in a court case, we hired Robert Freeby as our lawyer. Thru his hard work and attention to detail we were able to accomplish the outcome that we hoped for. Our experience with Mr. Freeby was that he was always available and on time. He persevered with us through a tedious and lengthy process, giving us moral support as a family, while doing the tough job of gathering the facts and witnesses and presenting them to the court. He hired a private investigator that also brought forth important details in the case. Through this process he has helped me gain back some faith in our judicial system that was lost many years ago when our best friend was murdered and justice was not served. I highly recommend Mr. Freeby. He is an honest and hardworking man who is respected by his coworkers. More than once we were told we were in good hands with Mr. Freeby. He cares about truth and justice... you can’t put a price on that.

  8. Taken all the way

    Posted by a Criminal Defense client,
    Overall rating
     Poor
    Trustworthy
     Poor
    Responsive
     Poor
    Knowledgeable
     Fair
    Kept me informed
     Poor
    • I do not recommend Robert Freeby.
    • I hired Robert more than 3 years ago.
    • Robert handled my Criminal Defense matter.
    • I have previously worked with no lawyers.

    Mr Freeby is not a knowledgeable criminal lawyer., we hired him as a criminal lawyer and he did not do his job and he did miss court dates, he also will say 1 thing but later say something different, i felt like he lied. and so did others. So good luck with Mr Freeby when he gets the 15,000 you will never see your money at work.

    1. Robert Charles Freeby

      Robert Freeby

      Lawyer Comment:

      I am truly disappointed with this review. This person has never addressed these concerns with me personally; nor do I know who this review was written by. If, I in fact charged this legal fee, then I can assuredly say that the case I handled was a very serious matter.

      The accusation that I lied to people is simply a lie. I believe that if you are interested in hiring me, then you should contact other lawyers in Tacoma to gain an impression of what my reputation truly is. I am a no nonsense type of lawyer. I do not candy coat my opinions in order to get hired; nor do soft peddle my views on a case in order to entice someone to hire me.

      I believe that my reputation is that I'm a strong advocate for my clients; that I'm well prepared; and that I'm a straight shooter.

      If this person or persons had a problem with my representation; then they should contact me; instead of hiding behind an anonymous comment.

      Posted about 4 years ago. Flag