Susan L. Caulkins’s Reviews

Susan L. Caulkins

Average Rating

Based on 11 reviews

Help make it easier for other Avvo users to choose the right lawyer by sharing your experience with this attorney. It's fast, simple, and safe.

Review this lawyer

Lawyers: Use the Peer Endorsements section to provide input about other attorneys.


  1. Horrible Lawyer / Over charges

    Posted by a Family client,
    Overall rating
     Poor
    Trustworthy
     Poor
    Responsive
     Fair
    Knowledgeable
     Average
    Kept me informed
     Fair
    • I do not recommend Susan Caulkins.
    • I hired Susan more than 3 years ago.
    • Susan handled my Family matter.

    I had hired Ms. Caulkins in 2009 she seemed great at first meeting , but once paid the retainer fee everything had changed , I could never reach her to get details on my case and she over charged me for just simple emails or phone calls which added up to me paying thousands of dollars more than I should have. my case never went to trial due to Ms. Caulkins lack of commitment to my case instead she just sat back and kept charging me but I ended up receiving nothing in the end only a huge bill that I could not afford. if you are smart and are looking for a good lawyer trust me save your time and money go some where else.

  2. Do not use

    Posted by a Divorce client,
    Overall rating
     Poor
    • I do not recommend Susan Caulkins.
    • I hired Susan 6-12 months ago.
    • Susan handled my Divorce / Separation matter.

    When I first meet with Caulkins she seemed like she was a go getter and very organized. The first time we went to court she was amazing. Then it changed. She waited until the night before our documents for court were due to have me review them. When we went to court she was completely unprepared, she had this little file folder with papers just jumbled and shoved in it. She dropped it and everything fell out, she just shoved them back in not even caring what they were. His attorney completely slammed me with false allegations, she said nothing. I had told her before my ex threatened to kidnap my kids and she completely disregarded this when he has the means to do it. I was so appalled I didn't know what to do. She put my kids endanger and me in financial ruins.

  3. Represented me in my Disolution of Marriage

    Posted by Raymond, a Divorce client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Susan Caulkins.
    • I hired Susan 1-3 years ago.
    • Susan handled my Divorce / Separation matter.
    • I have previously worked with 3-5 lawyers.

    Ms. Caulkins represented me in my divorce. She hleped me in every aspect and was always there when I needed an update or had a question. This was a challege because I live in Louisiana and my divorce took place in Washington state. She is very knowledgeable and displayed that not only in court but in every meeting or even just an email. She was professional and keep me professional throughout some ugly times. I would recommend her to anyone that is going through or may go through this process. She is one of the best lawyers I have ever come in contact with. Thank you Ms. Caulkins...

  4. Highly Recommend

    Posted by David, a Divorce client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Susan Caulkins.
    • I hired Susan 1-3 years ago.
    • Susan handled my Divorce / Separation matter.
    • I have previously worked with 3-5 lawyers.

    I came to Ms. Caulkins to handle my divorce and child custody case. She was very energetic and knowledgeable. She was able to effectively answer all the questions I had. She did a great job of handling and filing all the appropriate legal forms. I felt very well represented and she gave me a sense of security that I was in very good hands. She was well prepared to handle anything that came up along the way. In the end I ended up obtaining a legal separation (much faster than a divorce) and custody of my three children. I am very satisfied with the outcome of my case.

  5. Disappointed.

    Posted by a Divorce client,
    Overall rating
     Fair
    Trustworthy
     Fair
    Responsive
     Average
    Knowledgeable
     Average
    Kept me informed
     Fair
    • I do not recommend Susan Caulkins.
    • I hired Susan more than 3 years ago.
    • Susan handled my Divorce / Separation matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    Ms. Caulkins handled a divorce for me, including the parenting plan. She did inspire confidence, and technically I did get a reasonably positive outcome. But I found that she would generally not offer 'advice', and the fees for individual things, such as emails were far more than I had anticipated. When the final parenting plan came out, the wording was vague and left far too much room for differing interpretations, not to mention scenarios that are blatantly unreasonable (one parent gets a certain holiday and the other does not, without explanation or cause). There was also a technical error throughout. Numerous conflicts have since arisen over the dubious wording, and we are now forced back to mediation and have more attorney fees.

  6. Disappointed

    Posted by Fletcher, a Probate client,
    Overall rating
     Poor
    Trustworthy
     Fair
    Responsive
     Good
    Knowledgeable
     Poor
    Kept me informed
     Poor
    • I do not recommend Susan Caulkins.
    • I hired Susan more than 3 years ago.
    • Susan handled my Probate matter.
    • I have previously worked with 3-5 lawyers.

    I was not impressed with Susan Caulkins work on my account. I have had to hire another lawyer and am receiving very different advice. I think I could have handled this whole affair in about half the time if I'd gone with a different lawyer from the beginning.

  7. Highly recommended

    Posted by Lisa, a Child Support client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Susan Caulkins.
    • I hired Susan more than 3 years ago.
    • Susan handled my Child Support matter.
    • I have previously worked with 3-5 lawyers.

    Susan Caulkins was highly recommened to me by a friend of mine and I am eager to pass on that recommendation! Susan responded very quickly to all of my inquiries in a very professional, fair and honest manner. She was upfront with her fees which are reasonable, but honestly she is worth much more! I will use her services for all my future legal needs and I just wish I would have found her earlier.

  8. Effective and confident

    Posted by Krista, a Divorce client,
    Overall rating
     Good
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Good
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Average
    • I recommend Susan Caulkins.
    • I hired Susan more than 3 years ago.
    • Susan handled my Divorce / Separation matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    Susan assisted me with a divorce and child custody case that was well organized and led to a very successful outcome. I was impressed by Susan's level of knowledge and professionalism while handling my case. I would recommend her services.

  9. Awsome! Awsome! Awsome!

    Posted by Jenna, a Divorce client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Susan Caulkins.
    • I hired Susan more than 3 years ago.
    • Susan handled my Divorce / Separation matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    Susan was great to work with! Not only did she know what she was doing, she helped me understand everything she was doing. Susan got everything I wanted done and then some. She was the second attorney I had for my divorce, the first fell through and screwed me and Susan helped me with that as well! I highley recommend her for a divorce with children, as that is what she helped me with. We won our case against my ex and I got my daughter. I am now getting my child support that was owed, and got everything that I wanted.

  10. Competent, attentive, responsive and effective

    Posted by William, a Family client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Susan Caulkins.
    • I hired Susan more than 3 years ago.
    • Susan handled my Family matter.
    • I have previously worked with 3-5 lawyers.

    From the moment she took my case, I felt that I was in good hands with Susan. She immediately understood the issue and the pertaining law. Her experience as a judge is certainly a bonus. I have confidence in her abilities and feel that she is respected in the courtroom. She was responsive to my needs, very competent and consistent, and generally had my best interest in mind. I would certainly recommend her services.