James J White’s Reviews

James J White

Average Rating

Based on 13 reviews

Help make it easier for other Avvo users to choose the right lawyer by sharing your experience with this attorney. It's fast, simple, and safe.

Review this lawyer

Lawyers: Use the Peer Endorsements section to provide input about other attorneys.


  1. If you want to Waist Your Money! James White is the One!

    Posted by a Domestic Violence client,
    Overall rating
     Poor
    Trustworthy
     Poor
    Responsive
     Poor
    Knowledgeable
     Poor
    Kept me informed
     Poor
    • I do not recommend James White.
    • I hired James 6-12 months ago.
    • James handled my Domestic Violence matter.
    • I have previously worked with no lawyers.

    I hired Mr. White almost a year ago. He promised me that he is a fighter because I had not an easy case. I paid him near $10000 for this case. It was first time in my life that I came to this situation in my life so I did read the reviews about the attorney firm it was looking nice. So this is why I trusted him and hired him. But later I did understand that I made a mistake. Because he did do any thing except for 9 month rescheduling my court dates until it reached the dead line and I was facing some jail time because he did do anything for all of those months. So on the last trial he didn't show up and prosecutor had to call him and figured out what its going on. And when he did finally showed up he told me that he is not going to fight for something that he is not going to win. So I that time I realized that I had to hire another attorney right away. So I did hire another attorney, and I paid him a lot less than this one. My case was solved. I just couldn't believe that an attorney can be acting so unprofessional and didn't care at all about his client. When person like me if first time in this kind of situation, he doesn't know what to do and who to hire. But I want to warn you people. Don't waist your money! Like I did, just because I didn't know what to do I was just reading couple reviews. I just hope all the people would write their reviews on their cases. Thank you.

    1. James J White

      James J White

      Lawyer Comment:

      This person has admitted he made this bad review to try to get some money back from me. The Police Officer saw this guy assault his wife with a pair of scissors and his wife said he choked her out. Despite that, I got him a no jail plea bargain which is what he said he wanted from the time he hired me. Yet, on the last day to take the offer he said he wanted a trial where he would be subject to two and a half years in prison. I did strongly discourage that decision and encouraged him to get a second opinion. Instead of getting a second opinion, he hired another lawyer who charged him thousands of dollars and then took the same deal I had worked for him after only having the case 1 week. That's the guy he wasted money on. Also, this client does not speak or write English so I suspect that other lawyer also wrote this for him.
      Lastly, the Judge reviewed my preparation on the record and found that I was ready for trial so this guys claim that it was only 9 months of rescheduling is just false. He was in court with an interpreter when the judge made that review. I think I'll sue this guy for his false statements.

      Posted 6 days ago. Flag

  2. Highly Recommend!

    Posted by Ally, a Criminal Defense client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend James White.
    • I hired James 1-6 months ago.
    • James handled my Criminal Defense matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    Mr. White helped me so much when I got into some legal problems. He was there right when I called and walked me through the things I didn't understand. James is personable, reliable, professional and was able to get both charges against me dismissed. I highly recommend.

  3. queations around harassment/harassment orders

    Posted by a client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend James White.

    Mr. White is someome I would definetly work with for any legal matter that pertains to his specialty.

    I spoke with him regarding a matter and he gave me great advice, calmed my nerves and really cared about what I was experiencing.

    If I ever need an attorney, I will be calling him. He is extremely knowledgable and I would recomend him to anyone.

  4. Trust in James!

    Posted by Bonnie, a DUI client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend James White.
    • I hired James more than 3 years ago.
    • James handled my DUI / DWI matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    Kind, caring, professional. I highly recommend James White. During my DUI hearings I was scared and anxious. James helped my difficult situation seem more manageable by being very informative and attentive to all my questions and worries. My case was completed and I couldn't have done it without such a great lawyer by my side, thanks James!

  5. Excellent Job

    Posted by Yuri, a DUI client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend James White.
    • I hired James 1-3 years ago.
    • James handled my DUI / DWI matter.
    • I have previously worked with 3-5 lawyers.

    James White helped me with a DUI. I was impressed with his intimate knowledge of the system - what to expect from this or that courtroom and I witnessed personal experience with other lawyers and the court first hand. His experience and knowledge compared to the other lawyers in the courtroom was like night and day. His easy going yet responsive manner helped me feel at ease during a very tough time. I am very glad I decided to choose James White rather than another lawyer. I even have lawyer friends who offered me a discount- but James White just felt like the right lawyer for my case- and now that it's over I know I made the right decision with James White.

  6. Honest, Efficient, kind

    Posted by a Criminal Defense client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend James White.
    • I hired James 1-3 years ago.
    • James handled my Criminal Defense matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    I was working with James White who handled my case so professionally as empathetically. The outcome of the case could not have been better! I believe it was because James took the time to grasp the entire situation in order to find the best possible solution.

  7. :-)

    Posted by anid, a Criminal Defense client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend James White.
    • I hired James 1-3 years ago.
    • James handled my Criminal Defense matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    James L. White and Derek M. Smith were working on my criminal case and I would like to recommend them to all you people . They are great lawyers and you should trust them your case because I can promise you they will take care of it. They are patient, good listeners, careful to details and will try to fit in any situation to help you the best way they can. Thank you James L. White and Derek M. Smith for your time spent and for the valuable service given.

  8. He has helped me many times and my friends too

    Posted by Celeste,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend James White.
    • I hired James 1-3 years ago.
    • I have previously worked with 3-5 lawyers.

    He made me feel calm about my situation and confident in my case. He answered all my questions and put me at ease. He was able to guide me through many troubling situations.

  9. Smart, Diligent and Effective

    Posted by a DUI client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Good
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend James White.
    • I hired James 1-3 years ago.
    • James handled my DUI / DWI matter.
    • I have previously worked with 3-5 lawyers.

    As a former client in two DUI cases, I was very pleased with James' results. He kept us informed, followed up on a timely basis with prosecutors and negotiated positive outcomes in both cases. Very highly recommended!

  10. Highly Recommended.

    Posted by Greg, a DUI client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend James White.
    • I hired James more than 3 years ago.
    • James handled my DUI / DWI matter.
    • I have previously worked with no lawyers.

    I am very happy with what James White and the team at James Egan's office were able to do for me. I was unsure were to turn after my incident, but after receiving a postcard from their office I decided to call, and I am glad that I did. Everyone at the office including Mr. White were very helpful and knowledgeable. I was updated on changes to my case and court dates by phone, and if I had any questions I was able to get in touch with Mr. White easily. If you are in a similar situation I would suggest you contact Mr. White or anyone at James Egan's office.

Evidence that helps you could be lost soon. Contact us now for immediate help.

206-650-9270