Frank Richard Ricketts JR’s Reviews

Frank Richard Ricketts JR

Average Rating

Based on 26 reviews

Help make it easier for other Avvo users to choose the right lawyer by sharing your experience with this attorney. It's fast, simple, and safe.

Review this lawyer

Lawyers: Use the Peer Endorsements section to provide input about other attorneys.


  1. terrible attorney,takes advantage of clients with low income

    Posted by cherie, a Divorce client,
    Overall rating
     Poor
    Trustworthy
     Poor
    Responsive
     Poor
    Knowledgeable
     Poor
    Kept me informed
     Poor
    • I do not recommend Frank Ricketts.
    • Frank handled my Divorce / Separation matter.

    Feel very taken ad advantage of. This man took my money and did nothing to expedite my divorce. He and Nicole ask for the same iinformation over and over. Incompetence at its best. Would love to see him loose his right to practice law.

  2. REVIEW

    Posted by a Divorce client,
    Overall rating
     Poor
    Trustworthy
     Poor
    Responsive
     Poor
    Knowledgeable
     Poor
    Kept me informed
     Poor
    • I do not recommend Frank Ricketts.
    • I hired Frank 1-3 years ago.
    • Frank handled my Divorce / Separation matter.

    It is sad that he is allowed to take money and not produce any information I have asked for. Then Lie about situation's that was proven. What would others think of you? I would like my money back. Although you do not have the resources to return it. Thanks for the lesson. I am know with another attorney and life goes on. I am lucky I can pay another attorney. What about other's who can not afford another attorney. What you normal price of $600.00 down payment. You take it and then do nothing to protect the client. I am one of those people that could afford another attorney! You advertise your services and low rates. Well your low rates represent your firm. I recommend anyone looking for an attorney, research them first. The low cost is not the answer you need.

  3. Truly horrible attorney!!!

    Posted by a Child Custody client,
    Overall rating
     Poor
    Trustworthy
     Poor
    Responsive
     Poor
    Knowledgeable
     Poor
    Kept me informed
     Poor
    • I do not recommend Frank Ricketts.
    • I hired Frank 1-3 years ago.
    • Frank handled my Child Custody matter.

    I would give zero stars if that were possible! Richard took my non-parental custody case and completely dropped the ball! He took my money, filed incomplete papers, and then never served the respondent. I could never get ahold of him. When he did finally read and respond to an email, he would charge $50 for reading the email, and another $50.00 for a response. One of his email responses said was just the word "Perfect"...$50.00!!! I finally fired him and hired another attorney. She had to re-do everything he had done. With her, I won my case, for less total money than he charged me in the first two weeks. DON'T EVER HIRE THIS ATTORNEY...YOU WILL LOSE YOUR MONEY AND YOUR CASE!!!

  4. i was going through a divorce and custody battle i had no clue what to do or where to turn with a limited income.

    Posted by carla, a Divorce client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Frank Ricketts.
    • I hired Frank 1-3 years ago.
    • Frank handled my Divorce / Separation matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    Richard is knowledgeable, efficient and affordable. i was dealing with a divorce and an ugly custody battle with a very limited income. Richard was able get me my divorce and i have my girls back at a cost that i was able to manage in a timely manner. i have never had an attorney that was as caring and understanding and very knowledgeable with the situation at hand. he is also the only attorney that i know of that actually has sliding fee scale according to my income. i definitely got more than my moneys worth. i trusted him with my whole world and he came through for me with flying colors, i am ever so grateful to Richard and his assistant Nicole. thank you for everything

  5. Follow-up to Mr. Ricketts Comments (UNPROFESSIONAL)

    Posted by a Child Custody client,
    Overall rating
     Poor
    Trustworthy
     Poor
    Responsive
     Poor
    Knowledgeable
     Poor
    Kept me informed
     Poor
    • I do not recommend Frank Ricketts.
    • I hired Frank 1-3 years ago.
    • Frank handled my Child Custody matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    This is a follow-up to Mr Ricketts comments that he posted about my case and the servce he did not provide for me. Mr. Ricketts you are nothing but a liar. I provided you an official copy of a drug test within 10 days that clearly showed that all results were negative.. You only post a comment to try to save your own butt. The facts are the facts. Tell us why you have three (3) ongoing investigations against you from the Washington state bar??? Is it because you’re such a good attorney? I believe not! Like others and my self has stated your out for the money and have no idea what you are doing. In fact I received a letter from the Washington State bar just last week indicating that you haven’t even responded to their request regarding my complains against you. You did in fact file the wrong court papers. You not only embarrassed me in court, but you embarrassed yourself. I’m sure the court transcript will simply proves this. You should be an ashamed of yourself. You did not keep me informed. You did not return my calls. In fact you moved your office to another location without even letting me know. You are nothing but a yes man. Even my sister-in-law stated to me that she got embarrassed because of how you presented yourself in court. You never explained any court rulings to me; you would tell me to just sign this and trust you, why because of your own errors and embarrassment. The courts would not even hear the case until you corrected them. In fact I believe the commissioner had to put you in your place due to your lack of knowledge on what documents to be filed and on the court proceedings. I did what you instructed me to do to clear the allegations against me, you did not follow up, all you did was throw me under the bus, and agree with everything the other attorney said and called me names in order to cover your own but. I fired you because you told me to when I challenged you on your own errors/mistakes. Mr. Ricketts I did not remove myself and my son from the state of Washington, I was visiting me my father and had only been in his home for an approx. one week when I got served. I did not run and hide as you suggested. You need to stick to the facts. Stay away from this attorney. He will leave you the impression that all attorneys are crooks and take your money, which isn’t fair to other attorneys who take pride in what they do and not just rip you off.

  6. I would recommend Mr. Ricketts to anyone dealing with custody issues.

    Posted by a Family client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Frank Ricketts.
    • I hired Frank 1-3 years ago.
    • Frank handled my Family matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    I could not have had a better legal team than Mr. Ricketts and his staff. Mr. Ricketts was very attentive to my situation regarding my son. He was always very accessible and was very good at coming to a realistic and fair parenting plan for me and my son. Also, his practice is very affordable. Don't go it alone, give Mr. Ricketts practice a call if you are looking for an excellent attorney that will work to make sure your parental rights are fair & balanced. Thanks, Richard.

  7. been a aattorney for almost 10 years,would never know it!!

    Posted by melissa, a Child Custody client,
    Overall rating
     Poor
    Trustworthy
     Poor
    Responsive
     Poor
    Knowledgeable
     Poor
    Kept me informed
     Poor
    • I do not recommend Frank Ricketts.
    • I hired Frank 1-3 years ago.
    • Frank handled my Child Custody matter.
    • I have previously worked with no lawyers.

    i hired richard the the legal clinic, promised i see my grandson again but i hav'nt since january 2012 its now almost october!!i wonder if he files the wrong paperwork on purpose?not just once but twice!!! it took so long for him to figure it out that my grandsons father had time to flee the state with him.said i'd get him back but richard has no clue how to do that. there were court dates i was never informed of and never any billing statement and now the moneys gone. on what???if you want results FIND ANOTHER ATTORNEY!!!! i wish i had seen these reviews because I WOULD HAVE NEVER HIRED RICHARD RICKETTS!!!!

    1. Frank Richard Ricketts JR

      Frank Ricketts

      Lawyer Comment:

      I typically never respond to the client reviews, positive or negative, and have never had any issue explaining the review and the case to a prospective client, however, when there are blatant misstatements, I feel compelled to respond.

      This client has a very complex nonparental custody case. When she came to me, the biological mother was in jail, and the child's grandparents were attempting to seek custody of a minor child. The grandparents made a decision to withdraw their petition and this client sought my assistance.

      My office prepared a number of pleadings to seek custody of the minor child, and was forced to seek a Writ of Habeas Corpus ordering police to actively look for the minor child and return the child to Court when they found him. The current court orders place the child with this client but the child's father fled with the child to California.

      I have done everything within my power to provide the information to the client and her daughter, the biological mother of the child, on who to contact in California to proceed against the father there. I am not licensed to practice in California, so the best that I can do is provide them with contacts on who to contact for advice on California law, which was done.

      Unfortunately, there is nothing more that can be done in Washington until and unless the child is returned to Washington. This unfortunate situation has nothing to do with my abilities as an attorney.

      As far as the allegations that there are court dates that she was not made aware of, that is blatantly untrue. I have not sent an invoice because I have no intention of asking her to pay anything beyond the initial retainer, which was nonrefundable according to the representation agreement that was signed at the time I was retained.

      Posted almost 2 years ago. Flag

  8. WORST ATTORNY EVER!!

    Posted by Courtney, a Child Custody client,
    Overall rating
     Poor
    Trustworthy
     Poor
    Responsive
     Poor
    Knowledgeable
     Poor
    Kept me informed
     Poor
    • I do not recommend Frank Ricketts.
    • I hired Frank 1-3 years ago.
    • Frank handled my Child Custody matter.
    • I have previously worked with no lawyers.

    I hired Richard in June 2012 for a custody battel with my ex boyfriend. When i came to him i was frantic about my case. He told me he would PROMISE me that i would have my son back by my the first court date. I went to court and I saw my ex and his attorny but, Richard was know where to be found. When I was looking for him he was standing in a corner with another person talking to them. He didnt introduce himself me until i went to check in for the court. While in court he was sweating like a pig, tounge tied. and when it was over i felt more confused then when i went in. he told me that this is just the way it has to be. to trust him. he knows what hes doing. when i asked him why i wasnt getting my son back that date like he promised. After that i asked him to email me/fax me my documents from court, and he never did or would take him a week to respond to me. I would call his office everyday to try and get a hold of him and yet i would usually only get in contact with his assistant. The next court date he had promised me 100% that this time i would be getting my child back. AGAIN that did NOT happen. my last court date was last week. I was there before him. he pulled me aside and told me that he was agreeing with my exs attorny with what she said. he did this everytime it came to documents and everything. hes a yes man. he trys to have you settle for what the other attorny brings to him. He will agree to things before asking you. and does NOT care about your situation. HE ONLY CARES ABOUT MONEY! he doesnt even have children, and when i asked him if he even knew what it felt like to go thru somthing like this he simply threw his hands up and told me to just fire him!!! he got personal with my sistauion and said things to bash me to my face. you can never geta hold of him. he files the documents last minute and promises that he can do it but doesnt! i would never ever ever have refer him to anyone. i finally fired him and now have a better attorny who is an actual attorny and knows what he is doing.

    1. Frank Richard Ricketts JR

      Frank Ricketts

      Lawyer Comment:

      I typically never respond to the client reviews, positive or negative, and have never had any issue explaining the review and the case to a prospective client, however, when there are blatant misstatements, I feel compelled to respond.

      The client in this case removed herself and the minor child from the State of Washington. When the child's father obtained a restraining order which placed the child in his custody, she contacted my office for representation.

      Both parents are making serious allegations regarding drug use by the other in this case, which unfortunately, is not unusual. However, the allegations against the client regarding her drug use and neglect of the child were sufficient for the Courts in both King County and Pierce County, to keep the child with the father.

      I explained why the Court was making the ruling that it was making to the client and she was not receptive to the explanation, in spite of the fact that I had explained prior to the hearing in Pierce County, almost word for word, the exact same explanation that the Commissioner made in Court.

      A truth in the practice of law is that the lawyer can only spin the facts to a certain degree and at the end of the day, a bad situation cannot be made good simply by good lawyering. In this case, my concern was on the long term implications of a restricted parenting plan and my desire was to have the client dispell the allegations of drug use. Unfortunately, the client was not compliant with my requests, and in not complying with my requests, only exacerbated a bad situation.

      I am confident that had the client followed my advice, her situation would be far better long term than it likely will be by her chosen course of action, which was to fire me because she did not like the advice I was giving her. That does not mean that the advice that was given was incorrect, and the fact that the commissioner essentially told her the exact thing that I had tried to explain to her provides me some assurance that I was not to far off the mark in my advice.

      Posted almost 2 years ago. Flag

  9. UNPROFESSIONAL

    Posted by a Child Custody client,
    Overall rating
     Poor
    Trustworthy
     Poor
    Responsive
     Poor
    Knowledgeable
     Poor
    Kept me informed
     Poor
    • I do not recommend Frank Ricketts.
    • I hired Frank 1-3 years ago.
    • Frank handled my Child Custody matter.
    • I have previously worked with 6-10 lawyers.

    I obtain the legal service of Richard to represent my daughter is a child custody case. He is very unprofessional and petty. DO NOT WASTE YOUR TIME AND MONEY WITH THIS MAN. He will through you under the bus. He does not stand up for you in court. All he wants is your money. The man does not file the correct documents. If he does file any court documents they are incorrect or late. This delays your court case and everything associated with it. Dose not keeps you informed on what’s going on about court dates nor does he provide you copies of any documents. He does not return calls. Richard is nothing but a yes man to any and all attorney on the opposite side. When he does show up for court he sweats like a pig, when he speaks in court he becomes tough tied. He does not have the knowledge in family law to represent your case. My daughter saw Richard talking with the petitioner attorney before her court hearing. Richard informed her that they agreed to continue this case because the petitioner attorney did not receive the legal notice of court date that was required by the law. Which was hard to understand because Richard himself sent my daughter and me an email stating the date and the court time as well that he notified the petitioner’s attorney? He wants you to settle so that he does not have to do anything and keep your money. Makes deals for you without discussing the fact with his clients. Richard will tell you to trust him he knows what he is doing, however he is clueless and doesn’t care. If you bring anything up to him that you’re not happy with, he will just tell you to fire him and keep your money. He thinks everybody is stupid and refers to your child’s life and the courts as a game. He doesn’t know or care about you or your kid(s) because he never had any and does not understand what it means to be a parent. He will do nothing for you and does not believe in his clients. We finally got to the point with Richard making so many errors in handling my case that we had no chosen but to fire him and obtain a new attorney. Richard is the type of attorney that makes all attorneys look like crooks. Stay away from this guy you would be better off representing yourself.

    1. Frank Richard Ricketts JR

      Frank Ricketts

      Lawyer Comment:

      This observation is so slanted that I have chosent to ignore it until now. Please refer to the prior response for the details on why this case was handled appropriately, however, there are a couple things that I do want to clarify.

      It is such an easy statement to say that all an attorney cares about is money, because in many cases, that is true. In this case, I have billed approximately $5200, of which $2500 has been paid. I have not referred this account to collections and fully anticipate writing off the current amount due. If I was all about the money, I would have already referred this account to collections.

      Also, once this case was transferred to Pierce County, I extended a 75% discount off of my hourly rate, because of the client's income. I did not have to do this, but that is how I run my practice. We routinely given discounts of up to 75% in an attempt to right size the legal fees billed with the client's income. Again, if I were all about the money, I would not be doing that.

      Also, I frequently use a sports analogy to the legal process in a custody proceeding or divorce. It is not a dismissive explanation that this is just a game, but rather, the anology attempts to explain that this is a process that has a start, a middle and an end, just as in a sporting event, and that a good attorney will take the steps in the beginning to do everything possible to ensure that at the end of the case, the matter is resolved in a palatable manner to the client.

      In this particular case, in spite of serious and substantial allegations of drug abuse by the mother and neglect of the child by the mother, the mother was only focused on getting the child returned to her immediately. My use of a sports analogy was to explain that Court was not going to grant that relief, return of the child, until the mother provided reasonable assurance to the Court that the allegations against her were untrue, and that our energy was better focused on doing those things to provide that assurance to the Court that the allegations were grossly exagerated, and that when we had that documentation, the court would be far likely to return the child to the mother and carve out a reasonable visitation schedule for both parents.

      As far as talking with the other attorney, that is extremely common, and for the most part, I have a very good reputation among my peers, who will be around long after any single client is long forgotten. For a client to presume when they see the attorneys talking about the case and agreeing on a resolution, that somehow that is defective lawyering, is grossly in err. Many, many times, those discussions save the client money through the avoidance of needless litigation and time, by the attorneys working out a reasonable resolution that is entirely within the parties hands, rather than presenting the case to the Court and losing all control of the ultimate decision.

      Posted almost 2 years ago. Flag

  10. Awful

    Posted by Danielle, a Child Custody client,
    Overall rating
     Poor
    Trustworthy
     Poor
    Responsive
     Poor
    Knowledgeable
     Poor
    Kept me informed
     Poor
    • I do not recommend Frank Ricketts.
    • I hired Frank more than 3 years ago.
    • Frank handled my Child Custody matter.
    • I have previously worked with 3-5 lawyers.

    I hired him because I found him through the court house and thought he really cared about helping people. Could not be father from the truth. He cares about getting your money and nothing else. He will not help you and I am living with the custody arrangement that should have never existed but is now my life because of his lack of work and professionalism. Please do not trust such an important part of your life to somebody that could care less. You may have to live with the results for the rest of your life.