Derek Michael Smith’s Reviews

Derek Michael Smith

Average Rating

Based on 13 reviews

Help make it easier for other Avvo users to choose the right lawyer by sharing your experience with this attorney. It's fast, simple, and safe.

Review this lawyer

Lawyers: Use the Peer Endorsements section to provide input about other attorneys.


  1. my DUI experience, and retaining counsel.

    Posted by Michelle, a DUI client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Derek Smith.
    • I hired Derek 1-3 years ago.
    • Derek handled my DUI / DWI matter.
    • I have previously worked with no lawyers.

    Mr. Derek Smith handled my case with the utmost professionalism, intelligence, wisdom and knowledge. Mr. Smith, & his Law Partner, James White, both worked on my case, and they both uncovered multiple discrepancies on the opposing side. Derek Smith & James White always kept my mind at rest, and w mercy and suave grace throughout my entire court experience/dilemma.
    In the the eyes of the law, I had made a bad choice and decision, and sometimes I'm anxious- especially when life gets really real. This team of lawyers, Smith & White; Derek Smith & James White fought the battle for me, and we won. I'm so grateful to them both. I'd give them three thumbs up if I had another thumb. Michelle--thanks for the opportunity to provide feedback.

  2. Best in the business by far!!!!

    Posted by butterflykissesx6, a Criminal Defense client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Derek Smith.
    • I hired Derek 1-3 years ago.
    • Derek handled my Criminal Defense matter.

    Mr. Derek Smith is a no nonsense lawyer. He is personable an obviously well regarded in the lawyer field. We interviewed several lawyers and even hired another lawyer before finding Derek. Our previous lawyer said there was "nothing more he could do" and it was either trial or face jail time. He was fired and we found Derek.

    Derek was immediately forthright with the possible outcomes and he was honest, didn't sugar coat anything. It just felt right to hire him, there was no doubt that he would do a better job that our previous lawyer.

    Derek immediately got to work on the case. He interviewed all parties and presented the scenario to the prosecutor. After some negotiations, he was able to negotiate no jail time, only community service and a very small fine. Everyone else told us it would be for sure jail time.

    I would not hesitate a second to recommend Derek to anyone needing a criminal lawyer.

  3. A lawyer you can trust!!

    Posted by Karl, a Domestic Violence client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Derek Smith.
    • I hired Derek 1-3 years ago.
    • Derek handled my Domestic Violence matter.

    I was face with a situation that could had a huge impact on my personal life and career life, But Mr. Smith was very understanding, attentive and determined to assist and resolve my situation. From the first meeting to the over and over continuance this attorney was honest and to the point without ever losing focus. Mr. Smith is extremely confident in the court room back by superb knowledge and understanding of Court rules and Common Laws. Thanks Derek!

  4. Best attorney ever

    Posted by Chris, a Criminal Defense client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Derek Smith.
    • I hired Derek 1-3 years ago.
    • Derek handled my Criminal Defense matter.

    Last year, I was charged with a shocking assault felony that threatened my entire future. It was a self-defense case, but the alleged victim twisted the story to make me seem horrible. I felt hopeless and crushed with nowhere to turn. Before Derek, I had two other lawyers. They were unresponsive, pessimistic about my case, and didn't do much research, even though I knew I was innocent. 8 months into the case, and just two weeks before trial, I met Derek.

    I had scheduled meetings with several other attorneys, but I decided to sign Derek immediately. It was more than just the fact that he was intelligent. He also cared a lot. With only two weeks to prepare, he worked tirelessly to do research into the case. (Research that my previous attorneys had not done.)

    I have very high standards for attorneys, yet I trusted Derek. He didn't pressure me to make decisions (or take plea bargains), but he carefully explained the pros and cons of each choice. When I decided I wanted to go to trial, he didn't flinch. He went to trial and performed with astute intelligence and eloquence in the courtroom. He advocated for my rights and the truth, and I was fully acquitted of the charges.

    Keep in mind that many people thought this case was impossible to win. But Derek won it. If you find yourself in a complicated situation with the law, I highly recommend Derek. My life and future are exponentially better today because I hired him.

  5. Excellent Representation and Results

    Posted by a Criminal Defense client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Derek Smith.
    • I hired Derek 1-3 years ago.
    • Derek handled my Criminal Defense matter.

    I am extremely happy with the service that I was provided by Derek Smith. He kept me informed and got me the best results he could!

  6. A force to be reckoned with!

    Posted by Paul H, a Criminal Defense client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Derek Smith.
    • I hired Derek 1-3 years ago.
    • Derek handled my Criminal Defense matter.
    • I have previously worked with 3-5 lawyers.

    I would recommend Derek to anyone! Derek helped me with 2 cases I had brought against me by Kitsap County a year after the fact when they happened. I am a college student that relies on financial aid for my education and both these cases were putting my funding at risk. When I went to my arraignment before hiring Derek the prosecutor was a complete B word. She wouldn't work with me and was definitely trying to throw me under the bus as I did not have representation and was looking at applying for a public defender. Luckily I located Derek Smith on this website and he was more than willing to work with me on payments which made it possible to hire a REAL lawyer.

    From the time Derek stepped into the court room he commanded attention. Both times we appeared in court Derek was knowledgeable about what was going on and literally got me in and out. The prosecutor seemed to be much much nicer now that I had Derek on my side and was more willing to see reason .

    In closing I would like to say I was no angel growing up and have had many run ins with the law in Kitsap County and have never, I mean never before had a lawyer that was able to get Kidnap County off my back the way Derek did. He always answered my emails and phone calls, even outside of his office hours. If you want a lawyer that is straight up with you, will keep you posted on whats going on and definitely do everything he can to help you, Derek Smith is your man!!

  7. Best defense lawyers out there! Derek M. Smith and James L. White

    Posted by anid, a Criminal Defense client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Derek Smith.
    • I hired Derek more than 3 years ago.
    • Derek handled my Criminal Defense matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    Derek M. Smith and James L. White are professional lawyers and I highly recommend them because they proved me that they can do the best by working on my criminal case. I was in a bad situation , stressed and didn't know what to do after my incident, but Derek Smith helped me to stay calm and answered all of my questions right at that moment i needed help where to start and how to act. I trusted them my criminal case and I can be proud of how professional and fast it was done. I am very glad that online provided me the best Lawyers out all and would never search for anyone else because Derek M. Smith and James L. White really made me feel like my case was important and not just some extra work. I am very pleased and was treated with respect in any situation during my case. I promise you guys will not regret for hiring them to work on your case. I would like to Thank You Derek M. Smith And James L. White for your time , hard work , excellent job and patience. God Bless You and everything you do :-)

  8. Traffic Infraction

    Posted by Melika, a Speeding Ticket client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Derek Smith.
    • I hired Derek more than 3 years ago.
    • Derek handled my Speeding / Traffic Ticket matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    Mr. Smith was wonderful to work with. He was professional, knowledgeable and effective!! He takes the time to listen, which is amazing and can be a hard quality to find! He is informative and straight forward, which I truly appreciate! He was quite helpful on another matter that I asked his advise on. Thank you!!!

  9. A great attorney!

    Posted by Denise, a Criminal Defense client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Derek Smith.
    • I hired Derek more than 3 years ago.
    • Derek handled my Criminal Defense matter.
    • I have previously worked with 3-5 lawyers.

    Derek did a great job advising me about my son's case. He was always there and talked us through this tough time in our lives. I don't know what I would have done without him!

  10. Knowledgeable Legal Advice

    Posted by Angela, a DUI client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Derek Smith.
    • I hired Derek more than 3 years ago.
    • Derek handled my DUI / DWI matter.
    • I have previously worked with no lawyers.

    Mr. Smith responded to my e mail in a timely manner. I might have been charged with a serious crime and needed some advice in a calm manner since I had never been in trouble with the law and was freaking out. He kept me calm with his legal expertise and put it in a way that I could understand. He gave me the worse case and the best case and didn't sugar coat it. In the end no charges have been filed and I never had to meet with Mr. Smith, but if the need arises and I ever need a REALLY good lawyer, I know who to call.