Joni Marie Derifield’s Reviews

Joni Marie Derifield

Average Rating

Based on 8 reviews

Help make it easier for other Avvo users to choose the right lawyer by sharing your experience with this attorney. It's fast, simple, and safe.

Review this lawyer

Lawyers: Use the Peer Endorsements section to provide input about other attorneys.


  1. Best SS Lawyer available

    Posted by James, a Social Security client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Joni Derifield.
    • I hired Joni 1-3 years ago.
    • Joni handled my Social Security matter.

    She is a true professional, polite and a pleasure to work with. She took way less time than I thought it would take. Any Social Security situation should be done with Joni.

  2. HIGHLY RECOMMENDED

    Posted by David, a Social Security client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Joni Derifield.
    • I hired Joni 1-3 years ago.
    • Joni handled my Social Security matter.

    I had not expected to file for SSDI months after I left military service and felt overwhelmed by the process. Ms Derifield took the time to fully understand my complex medical condition and lifted a huge weight from my shoulders. Since my condition was unexpected I had a lot of questions, she quickly responded to all my emails and phone calls. She also kept me informed of each change in my case, what the next step would be and a realistic time estimate. Ultimately my case was decided months earlier than I had expected. Ms. Derifield has my total & complete trust, I highly recommend her to anyone pursuing a disability claim.

  3. Review of Attorney Joni Marie Derifield

    Posted by Niki, a Social Security client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Joni Derifield.
    • I hired Joni 6-12 months ago.
    • Joni handled my Social Security matter.

    I was diagnosed with leukemia and as a result, I am unable to work. Hence, I had to add the process of filing for disability to my list of urgent to do's. I first tried to file for disability on my own prior to contacting Ms. Derifield; however, after reading the paperwork, I realized the process was just too daunting. So, it immediately became clear that the quickest and best route for me to take would be to contact an attorney, which I did - Joni Derifield.

    Her diligence and knowledge made me 100% confidence in her ability to handle my case. Now, only several months later, because of Ms. Derifield, I am receiving my much needed SSDI checks that make it possible for me to avoid debt during this difficult time. I highly recommend Attorney Joni Derifield and would certainly suggest you contact her for your legal needs.

  4. Social Security Expert - Derifield

    Posted by Sandra, a Social Security client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Joni Derifield.
    • I hired Joni 1-3 years ago.
    • Joni handled my Social Security matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    Ms. Derifield was excellent to work with. She is highly knowledgeable and very helpful. This is a hard process and she made it very simple for me. I continually recommend her service to others who need her help.

  5. Great SSI Attorney that gets results fast.

    Posted by Christopher, a Social Security client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Joni Derifield.
    • I hired Joni more than 3 years ago.
    • Joni handled my Social Security matter.
    • I have previously worked with no lawyers.

    I was denied twice in 2 years by SSI doing it myself. I hired Joni who was able to get my application processed and awarded benefits in less than 6 months.

  6. Awesome service

    Posted by Debi, a Social Security client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Joni Derifield.
    • I hired Joni more than 3 years ago.
    • Joni handled my Social Security matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    I was given three months to find an attorney for my son. None of the attorneys I spoke with would take my son's case on contingency. Joni was hired, by me, just one day before our hearing. The judge was upset because he thought that I waited until the day before the hearing to hire someone. When I explained what happened, he rescheduled our hearing and Joni represented my son. She did an awesome job and my son receives his SSI check every month!

  7. Effortless

    Posted by Eugene, a Social Security client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Joni Derifield.
    • I hired Joni more than 3 years ago.
    • Joni handled my Social Security matter.
    • I have previously worked with 3-5 lawyers.

    I am the guardian of a mentally challenged widow, 52 years old, who also happens to be my daughter. Somewhere I had heard something about her possibly being eligible to collect her husbands SS. So I called SS and they sent me the documents needed. She had been prior to me becoming her guardian, turned down for disability benefits. I felt I had a better chance of obtaining it with the use of an attorney who specialized in SS. I found 2 in Poulsbo,and looked up their profiles. When I saw Joni had worked for SS, I decided she would be the "go to person". I felt she might have an inside edge on other attorneys. So I retained her to represent my ward. I have to say this was one of the most effortless projects with an attorney I have ever encountered.
    Once Joni got the packet of data on my ward, I only had 3 phone conversations with her and 3 emails. She did everything she said she would do, and did so in a timely manner. We had a positive decision in 3 months and benefits started 2 months after that. To cap it off Joni found a $2800.00 dollar shortage [error] in SS back benefits, and secured that.
    Even my wards personal attorney hadn't advised us she was eligible for SS.
    I believe, to quote a great person, Joni walks softly but carries a big stick.

  8. Finally awarded SS after 18 long years

    Posted by a Social Security client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Joni Derifield.
    • I hired Joni more than 3 years ago.
    • Joni handled my Social Security matter.
    • I have previously worked with 3-5 lawyers.

    Filed for SS benefits and fought them for 18 long years. Hired Joni and within 8 months were in front of a SS judge in Seattle...we won our case...we could never have done it without Joni,she knew the laws and presented our case flawlessly...my husband passed away less than a year later and without that award and widows benefit-I would be in serious trouble today. I wish we could have addressed this claim years earlier with Joni representing us...the days of representing yourself are over and SS has attorneys fighting to keep you from winning...you need agressive representation...I highly recommend Joni...............Linda Leonard