Donald John-Mark Kenney’s Reviews

Donald John-Mark Kenney

Average Rating

Based on 13 reviews

Help make it easier for other Avvo users to choose the right lawyer by sharing your experience with this attorney. It's fast, simple, and safe.

Review this lawyer

Lawyers: Use the Peer Endorsements section to provide input about other attorneys.


  1. I trust this attorney and value his knowledge

    Posted by TJ, a Business client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Good
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Donald Kenney.
    • I hired Donald 1-3 years ago.
    • Donald handled my Business matter.

    John Kenney has helped me with a variety of business and real estate decisions and I have recommended him to others. In this age of the customer review, I don't make recommendations lightly or without thought. I have worked with him over the past 6 or 7 years. John believes in service, in serving others, and is not your traditional attorney. He thinks creatively, strategically, and thoughtfully. When I have sent him an email or met with him in person, I am always impressed at his enthusiasm to solve my problem.

    John explains things in plain English, not legal-ese, and makes the work at hand make sense. He quickly figures out how to best navigate your situation, your scenario, and helps you make the best decision -- that's the mark of a good attorney, in my book. I encourage you to call him first as you search for a professional to help you in real estate, in estate planning, and for business needs in general. I know he has expertise in other areas, too, but these three are the ones where I have received his help.

  2. A rare breed of attorney

    Posted by Rob,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Donald Kenney.

    I first met Mr. Kenney several years ago at a seminar I was attending and he was one of the featured speakers. Attorneys in general have a reputation for being greedy, dishonest, and not very likable. Mr. Kenney was exactly the opposite. First of all, I really enjoyed his presentation that he gave, and I learned many things I had never known in regards to my retirement plan.

    After his presentation, I had a chance to speak with him personally backstage and I quickly realized that not only was he extremely knowledgeable in his areas of expertise, but he was also a man of great integrity. It's rare to find an attorney who genuinely has his clients' best interest at heart. It's very refreshing.

    I highly recommend Mr. Kenney.

  3. John Kenney

    Posted by Jason, a Estate Planning client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Donald Kenney.
    • I hired Donald 1-3 years ago.
    • Donald handled my Estate Planning matter.
    • I have previously worked with 6-10 lawyers.

    I've had the good fortune to get to know John both personally and professionally over the past several years. He is of high character and in my opinion one of the best estate planning attorneys in our community. John is always willing to help and he has been a gracious contributor to my weekly radio show and allowed me to interview him for my book on retirement. We refer many people to him every year. He is truly an asset to our community and does excellent work.

  4. VERY SAAVY ESTATE LAWYER

    Posted by STEVEN, a Estate Planning client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Donald Kenney.
    • I hired Donald 1-3 years ago.
    • Donald handled my Estate Planning matter.
    • I have previously worked with more than 10 lawyers.

    John is a very ethical and saavy attorney with special interests in estate planning and real estate. He is very easy to understand and has a passion for legal issues surrounding an estate, trusts and real estate transactions. I recommend him without reservations.

  5. Compassionate, diligent, ethical, fair

    Posted by Becky, a Divorce client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Donald Kenney.
    • I hired Donald 1-3 years ago.
    • Donald handled my Divorce / Separation matter.
    • I have previously worked with 3-5 lawyers.

    John handled my divorce, and also set up my will. It was a difficult time for me and John very patiently and kindly walked me through it all. He is very sharp and thorough and does not overlook anything. He also handled my mother's trust and I really believe that we have a great lawyer to go to for any of our legal needs. He is very personable and caring and I'm so glad that our family has found him!

  6. A smart ethical guy....

    Posted by Ed, a Real Estate client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Donald Kenney.
    • I hired Donald 1-3 years ago.
    • Donald handled my Real Estate matter.
    • I have previously worked with 3-5 lawyers.

    I used John to set up some complex real estate entities. He did this well and with ease.

    When my partner suddenly died, there were numerous legal and inheritance issues that looked like I was going to be liable for way more taxes than was reasonable. John thought with me and we figured out a good solution to this issue.

    He and his office are always easy to reach, respond well and thoughtfully and are really smart.

  7. Can't Get Any Better!

    Posted by Jeffrey, a Estate Planning client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Donald Kenney.
    • I hired Donald 1-3 years ago.
    • Donald handled my Estate Planning matter.
    • I have previously worked with 3-5 lawyers.

    HI Folks,

    I am a medical professional and I am NOT easy to work with. I am critical and very particular when it comes to professional services. I first met Mr. Kenney for estate planning and asset protection needs. His ability to sit with me and my wife for several hours to first understand our needs and then to make clear his recommendations was extraordinary. In very understandable, non-legal terms he was able to communicate to us the proper structure for our family's optimal position to manage against the vagaries of life, and to have our family protected were something to happen to me or my wife. He went on to deliver an amazing product, very fairly priced and with remarkable access for clarification or other questions that required his interpretation.

    Since our initial professional engagement with him we have had several other professional encounters with Mr. Kenney and the same expedited, well thought out and professional service was rendered. It should also be mentioned that the experience of his professional staff is clearly top notch, as my interactions with them have always produced whatever result was desired. The office is responsive --Mr Kenney responds to emails consistently within 24 hours, but usually within only several hours. I had a closing for a particular investment on December 31st, and the office paralegal basically jumped through rings of fire to get the work done in time to be able to fund the investment.

    Beyond his own very affable style and professional expertise Mr Kenney has associates in related, but non-legal fields that complement what he does. Currently my insurance broker, CPA and the custodian of my self-directed IRA (created by Mr. Kenney) are referrals from his network of professionals. When the original custodian was bought out and the new company stopped managing self-directed IRAs he had me in touch with another equally as qualified office in less than 30 minutes (honest)! My experience with Mr. Kenney is such that I can recommend him without reservation for estate planning, asset protection, self-directed IRA, or LLC needs. I suspect there is more he does with equal aplomb, but I have not sought his counsel in any other area than those mentioned above.

  8. Kind, honest, knowledgable

    Posted by a Chapter 13 client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Donald Kenney.
    • I hired Donald 1-3 years ago.
    • Donald handled my Bankruptcy / Chapter 13 matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    John Kenney has been my attorney for many years, and has helped me with through many ups and downs of life with compassion and knowledge. He has assisted me with real estate law, LLC's, bankruptcy, and divorce. I'm blessed to have an upstanding attorney who I consider to be a friend.

  9. The "go to" expert for Real Estate Investing Law in North Kitsap

    Posted by David, a Real Estate client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Donald Kenney.
    • I hired Donald 1-3 years ago.
    • Donald handled my Real Estate matter.
    • I have previously worked with 3-5 lawyers.

    It's well known in our local Real Estate Investing community that John is our local expert when it comes to law related to Real Estate Investing. He's the first, and generally the last one we ask when a new wrinkle comes up or we're trying to make sure we're handing something the right way legally. He is prompt, responsive, and has a deep knowledge base in the area of law that pertains to my business.

  10. A Man I Trust and who has not ever pushed me wrong. Fair. Always welcome in my house...

    Posted by Scott, a Estate Planning client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Donald Kenney.
    • I hired Donald 1-3 years ago.
    • Donald handled my Estate Planning matter.
    • I have previously worked with more than 10 lawyers.

    YES! And I have referred him a number of times and the personal review I get every time is the same as my votes here! He has the knowledge of a lawyer and the integrity of a Naval Officer. I believe a person just cannot go wrong with those attributes if you need legal advise on anything! Estate planning is where we started and I seek his advise on every other legal issue that comes my way.

Call now for a free consultation.

360-850-1049