Laurie L. Magan’s Reviews

Laurie L. Magan

Average Rating

Based on 6 reviews

Help make it easier for other Avvo users to choose the right lawyer by sharing your experience with this attorney. It's fast, simple, and safe.

Review this lawyer

Lawyers: Use the Peer Endorsements section to provide input about other attorneys.


  1. Support order /Parenting Plan / Appeal

    Posted by a Child Support client,
    Overall rating
     Poor
    Trustworthy
     Poor
    Responsive
     Poor
    Knowledgeable
     Poor
    Kept me informed
     Poor
    • I do not recommend Laurie Magan.
    • I hired Laurie 6-12 months ago.
    • Laurie handled my Child Support matter.

    I followed Laurie when she started her own firm also, she took my case on a cash up front contract. After less than favorable results in a support order case, we opted to appeal which was never followed through with by Laurie. She told me numerous mis-truths about things she was taking care of which in doing my own work was able to support that she in fact had not. In the end she never filed my parenting plan and when questioned about the status of my appeal she replied "I will no longer be representing you". To date Laurie will not return my calls or sit down to turn my file over to me or discuss the matter of the money that was paid up front for her representation. I trusted Laurie and she abused that trust, she took a year of my time and possibly more.

  2. She is a very trusting lawyer. She works hard for her clients

    Posted by Shannon, a Family client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Laurie Magan.
    • I hired Laurie more than 3 years ago.
    • Laurie handled my Family matter.

    She was available when I needed to ask her questions or would call back as soon as she could. Her prices are very reasonable for what a good lawyer she is. I was very happy with the communication between client/ attorney.

  3. Great job

    Posted by a Child Abuse client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Good
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Laurie Magan.
    • I hired Laurie 1-3 years ago.
    • Laurie handled my Child Abuse matter.

    Laurie did a great job. She knew what she was talking about and had everything promptly filed and case dismissed.

  4. Outstanding!

    Posted by Kris, a Car Accident client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Laurie Magan.
    • I hired Laurie 1-3 years ago.
    • Laurie handled my Car / Auto Accident matter.

    Laurie was recommended to me and I very glad she was! She has been outstanding and always fought for me every step of the way and at the same time she was helpful throughout the entire process by explaining everything at every step. She was terrific doing the required research and knowing every single fact involved in my case, and handled all the correspondence like a pro, nice and also heavy when needed with perfect execution and timing.

    I was extremely pleased with the outcome and got more then expected, and if I ever have a legal need in the future I will not hesitate to contact Laurie.

    1. Laurie L. Magan

      Laurie L. Magan

      Lawyer Comment:

      This client has given me permission to reveal that I was able to obtain payment in full from the opposing party for damages to his vehicle in less than one week's time from taking the case.

      Posted 9 months ago. Flag

  5. Divorce court

    Posted by Syndi, a Divorce client,
    Overall rating
     Poor
    Trustworthy
     Poor
    Responsive
     Poor
    Knowledgeable
     Poor
    Kept me informed
     Poor
    • I do not recommend Laurie Magan.
    • I hired Laurie 1-3 years ago.
    • Laurie handled my Divorce / Separation matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    Laurie handle my divorce procedures. She had left her firm with only 5 days notice. I gave her the opportunity to start her own firm. My court dates were continued twice..costing me stress and money. I was suppose to be in on the conference call,which Laurie did not follow up on. Had I been in on the conference call,I would have gotten the matter settled. She did not object to the courts stating that documents were not received. I had to reminder her that my ex husband had sent me a threatening text warning me "to be aware of how I would fight this battle." Laurie should have objected to this lie ,as i forwarded the threatening text to her. I did not receive spousal,despite my docuemented multiple sclerosis. Laurie felt it was not fair to the children my ex had when he cheated on me. The ex husband lied about his wife having cancer. Laurie should have stated that my ex was not trustworthy.I found out that his wife does not have cancer. Such a low blow,as I had just experienced the battle my friend fought,but eventually died of throat cancer. I do not recommend Laurie Magan at all,I'm sorry to say because all I got out of this was a drained savings account.

    1. Laurie L. Magan

      Laurie L. Magan

      Lawyer Comment:

      I am sorry that this client was not happy with the outcome of the case. I worked very hard to keep the billings in this matter low, performing many services at no charge to the client, but was unable to get the result desired. Much of the information the client wished brought out to the court was not disclosed to me until after the hearing date had passed, which was unfortunate. However, this information would not have affected the case, as the judge was constricted by the rules of the Court and was not able to consider much of the information the client put forward. The client chose to follow me from my old office when I opened my new firm, and received the balance of the remaining funds in the trust account at the close of the case.

      Posted 9 months ago. Flag

  6. Errors and takes too much credit.

    Posted by a Child Support client,
    Overall rating
     Fair
    Trustworthy
     Fair
    Responsive
     Fair
    Knowledgeable
     Fair
    Kept me informed
     Fair
    • I do not recommend Laurie Magan.
    • I hired Laurie 1-3 years ago.
    • Laurie handled my Child Support matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    In a parenting plan and child support issue, she attributed comments to me that I did not make, put numbers in the wrong column and did not get court documents in a timely manner. She is nice enough, but she declared courtroom victories that were not real issues. It seemed as though she needed to justify her performance to herself. I would go elsewhere for this type of legal help.

    1. Laurie L. Magan

      Laurie L. Magan

      Lawyer Comment:

      Many of the errors indicated by this client were committed by staff with whom I worked at a former office. I, as the attorney, was ultimately responsible for said errors, and as such I took responsibility for them. I no longer employ those staff members, am now a solo practitioner, and handle all aspects of my clients' cases from start to finish personally.

      Posted 9 months ago. Flag