Patricia Jo Nelson’s Reviews

Patricia Jo Nelson

Average Rating

Based on 12 reviews

Help make it easier for other Avvo users to choose the right lawyer by sharing your experience with this attorney. It's fast, simple, and safe.

Review this lawyer

Lawyers: Use the Peer Endorsements section to provide input about other attorneys.


  1. dissapointed

    Posted by a Family client,
    Overall rating
     Poor
    Trustworthy
     Fair
    Responsive
     Poor
    Knowledgeable
     Average
    Kept me informed
     Poor
    • I do not recommend Patricia Nelson.
    • I hired Patricia 6-12 months ago.
    • Patricia handled my Family matter.
    • I have previously worked with no lawyers.

    My experience with Mrs. Nelson was mixed. I felt she was very knowledgeable about the family law process in general. However, I would not recommend her to anyone I know. She seemed to have no interest in "fighting for me" so to speak. It appeared that she wanted to hurry the case to a a quick end, even if it wasn't in my best interest. I, like others, had problems with her law assistant being short and somewhat rude to me. As well as not being kept informed on the case. At one point she scheduled a court hearing without notifying me. When I emailed her to find out what was going on, her response was short and uninformative. Rest assured I was charged for that one sentence email, that I should have been told about from the beginning. As far as charges, I found them to be pretty ridiculous. She went over the retainer, without notifying me, which I didn't even know she could do. All in all my quick family law case, that didn't give me the outcome I wanted, and never went to trial, cost me around $5000. I believe if I had a more aggressive attorney, the case outcome could have been much more satisfactory for my family and me. I would also like to note that after my case ended I tried to get help with an issue we were having with the parenting plan, to meet with a very cold and and unhelpful response.

  2. Thank you!

    Posted by a Divorce client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Patricia Nelson.
    • I hired Patricia 1-3 years ago.
    • Patricia handled my Divorce / Separation matter.

    Ms Nelson was recommended to me by a good friend of mine , the first time I met her she was straightforward and explained how things work and what to expect.
    She is very organized, professional, and knowledgable. She walked me through the legal-path of a difficult divorce. She showed concern for my children and myself during the process. She cares! She was very patient and understanding. Never gave me false hope. She is honest!
    I noticed being with her around the court, she has earned a great deal of respect in her profession.
    The legal adventure was a difficult and exhausting journey for me and my family but I am pleased with the outcome.
    Rose, legal assistant, is GREAT!! I talk to her frequently and she is very helpful and pleasant each time. She is very informative and prompt.
    Thank you!

  3. EXCELLENT DIVORCE LAWYER

    Posted by Greg, a Family client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Patricia Nelson.
    • I hired Patricia 1-6 months ago.
    • Patricia handled my Family matter.

    Patty represented me 3 years ago in a high conflict divorce. She guided me through it with straightforward advise about what could and couldn't be done. She is very knowledgable and prefers to work things out but will fight when necessary. Since then my ex-wife has taken me back to court many times and Patty has represented me, she has never lost yet. I am still going back to court but Patty will win and fight for what is right. I highly recommend her for your family law issues and Rose keeps you informed of anything that is needed if necessary. Patty is also very honest about what is worth your money or not worth your money and will tell you upfront so there is no surprises when the judges decisions are made. Patty is an outstanding straightforward lawyer who will fight for your family law needs.

  4. Third Party Custody for Grandparents

    Posted by Linda, a Child Custody client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Patricia Nelson.
    • I hired Patricia 6-12 months ago.
    • Patricia handled my Child Custody matter.

    Thank goodness we found Patti when we did! Our young grandaughter had been living with us for over a year. Her mother was homeless with many issues. When we caught her stealing from us again, we had the mother arrested. When she was bailed out by her friends, her first stop was to come by and tell our grandaughter she was coming back to take her out of state. The tug of war using our granddaughter to control us was over!

    Thankfully a trusted and respected colleague recomended Patti. We called on Friday, had an appontment the next Monday. After explaining the situation, we had a restraining order that same day! Patti lead us through the third party custody process, keeping us informed every step of the way. Her compassion, experience, and professionalism made a very difficult process attainable. I will certainly recommend her to anyone seeking legal assistance!

  5. FAIL

    Posted by Good Dad, a Child Support client,
    Overall rating
     Poor
    Trustworthy
     Poor
    Responsive
     Poor
    Knowledgeable
     Average
    Kept me informed
     Poor
    • I do not recommend Patricia Nelson.
    • I hired Patricia 1-3 years ago.
    • Patricia handled my Child Support matter.

    Firstly, please read the very last review of Patricia Nelson posted by Desperate Dad. I felt like I was reading my same exact story. She may be a competent lawyer in some matters, I wouldn't know. What I do know, STAY AWAY FROM PATRICIA IF YOU ARE A FATHER SEEKING CHILD SUPPORT / CUSTODY MODIFICATION / ARBITRATION!!! That's my advice. Yes, she was great at relieving me initially as well as giving me confidence to move forward. In that FIRST meeting, she was even passionate about fighting for my position and encouraged me to stand up and fight. But, as soon as the check cleared, I experienced the same thing as the other reviewer; HORRIBLE COMMUNICATION. FAILED TO KEEP ME INFORMED OF KEY EVENTS, DID NOT INFORM ME OF SETTLEMENT OFFER UNTIL THE DAY OF DEADLINE! I MEAN, REALLY?!! It was sent to her weeks earlier! Found out only when I called! Whoops! ASSISTANT IS RUSHED AND RUDE. SCANNED DOCS ARE A MESS. She loses interest quickly and fails at even the most basic of professional expectation. She seemed forget her last contact with me and where we were in my case. Had to chase her down. Didn't return email or calls in a professional and timely manner. I feel she did nothing of any significance besides take my money. And if that wasn't enough, "somehow" in my final bill, Patricia calculates the cost of my "arbitration" (that settled before the date) to be $300-$400 MORE than what she quoted me for a full arbitration! Wow. You get the message. BUYER BEWARE.

  6. A good choice

    Posted by Kenny, a Divorce client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Good
    • I recommend Patricia Nelson.
    • I hired Patricia 1-3 years ago.
    • Patricia handled my Divorce / Separation matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    Divorce sucks. Patty understands that and led me through the process with minimal fuss and tried to come up with ways to save me money. She is very objective which made me comfortable. The last things I needed to hear were unkind words toward the woman I loved or me. The process took much longer than expected but the delays were due to the other lawyer who deserves a reprimand.
    Patty was kind when needed and rather like a stern mother when needed.

  7. Trustworthy, honest and straight forward

    Posted by Betsy, a Divorce client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Patricia Nelson.
    • I hired Patricia 1-3 years ago.
    • Patricia handled my Divorce / Separation matter.
    • I have previously worked with 3-5 lawyers.

    Ms. Patty Nelson helped me through a difficult divorce. Patty’s advice was honest and straightforward. I was overwhelmed with what I was facing and never once did I feel unprepared. Patty and Rose always explained every detail and helped me through anything I didn’t understand. Patty’s guidance and counsel is still working for my kids and I, years after the divorce. She lead me through a very long arbitration with strength, experience and care. She has an amazing ability to cut through what doesn't work and get to what does work. This was a very emotional time for me. Patty kept me on track with what was important, she was always professional, and worked with me. I was always involved with every decision. I have recommended Patty to many people and continue to do so. I think she is simply the best. I feel very fortunate to have had her help me through one of the most difficult times in my life.

  8. Highly Knowledgeable and Compassionate

    Posted by Larry, a Family client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Patricia Nelson.
    • I hired Patricia 1-3 years ago.
    • Patricia handled my Family matter.
    • I have previously worked with no lawyers.

    Patty and her assistant Rose helped guide me through the challenging maze and unknown path of my divorce. My ex-wife's attorney posed repeated challenges that Patty effectively assisted and supported me through.

  9. Very Knowledgeable and Professional

    Posted by Adam, a Child Custody client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Patricia Nelson.
    • I hired Patricia 1-3 years ago.
    • Patricia handled my Child Custody matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    When I divorced three years ago I did not use a lawyer, we settled everything through a mediator. It was good at the time but it set in motion some problems that occurred two years later. I have primary custody of my three daughters and receive child support from their mom. However, the child support was not what it should be and because of the way the divorce agreement from the mediator was worded my ex wife refused to negotiate. During the same time my ex wife got a lawyer and sued for primary custody of the girls, again based on wording in the agreement from the mediator. This is when I went to Patricia for help. When I first met with Patricia she told me what my options were and how both the custody and the child support issues could play out. She made clear to me what would happen and what may not happen. Some things are set up in the law while others are up to the judge. Everything happened exactly as she said it would. I retained custody of my girls and received a substantial increase in child support as well as back child support. I found Patricia to be extremely knowledgeable about the law, the judge, and how the system works. She was also very good at helping me manage my expectations. There are some things we asked for that we did not get but Patricia told me up front what things were long shots so I knew what to expect. Two times we stood before a judge with my ex wife and her lawyer, both times I walked out with a smile on my face knowing I had a superior lawyer. I found both Patricia and her assistant Rose to be absolutely professional and pleasant to work with. I highly recommend Patricia to anyone who needs family legal help.

  10. Great through hard times.

    Posted by Colby, a Divorce client,
    Overall rating
     Good
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Good
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Good
    • I recommend Patricia Nelson.
    • I hired Patricia 1-3 years ago.
    • Patricia handled my Divorce / Separation matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    Patty helped me til the end during my long drawn out divorce and worked with me in more ways than I can explain. She worked with me financially and her legal assisstant Rose was always very responsive and resourceful with anything I needed. I would recommend this office for anyone needing help in family law.

360-659-8068