Douglas R. Hyldahl’s Reviews

Douglas R. Hyldahl

Average Rating

Based on 11 reviews

Help make it easier for other Avvo users to choose the right lawyer by sharing your experience with this attorney. It's fast, simple, and safe.

Review this lawyer

Lawyers: Use the Peer Endorsements section to provide input about other attorneys.


  1. The Best in Whatcom County!

    Posted by a Criminal Defense client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Douglas Hyldahl.
    • I hired Douglas 1-3 years ago.
    • Douglas handled my Criminal Defense matter.
    • I have previously worked with 3-5 lawyers.

    After being arrested and imprisoned for a crime I didn't commit, I needed an attorney fast. Mr. Hyldahl was highly recommended by everyone I asked. He was also very respected by Sherriff's Deputies, other attorneys, prosecutors, judges, and most importantly the jury! His cool, calm courtroom demeanor was a sharp contrast to the prosecutor who came off as a rabid weasel. His knowledge of the law was excellent, but more important was his knowledge of the way the kangaroo court system works in Whatcom county. I was falsely accused and exonerated by the jury, but I have no doubt Doug would have worked as hard even if I was guilty of the alleged crime. If you find yourself in trouble in Whatcom county you want Doug on your side!

  2. Doug is a fighter!

    Posted by a client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Douglas Hyldahl.
    • I hired Douglas 1-3 years ago.

    Doug is a caring and knowledgeable lawyer. I came to him for help in vacating a reckless driving conviction and he responded to my cold call within an hour. In his assessment of my case he showed empathy, but he was very straightforward about the potential for denial of the motion. Anyone who has ever had this sort of blemish on their record knows it follows you in background checks, which makes finding a decent job very difficult. Doug was able to use precedence in a brief he presented that was thorough and compelling. The motion was granted! Can't thank Doug enough. It has opened up a world of possibilities for me. Thank you Doug!

  3. A real Working mans Lawyer!

    Posted by Todd, a Criminal Defense client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Douglas Hyldahl.
    • I hired Douglas 1-3 years ago.
    • Douglas handled my Criminal Defense matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    From the minute I met and hired this lawyer I felt I was in good hands He listened to me, heard me, helped me prove my Innocence. was the only person I needed in court on my side......
    He most surely helped me. A+++++. A real working mans 's lawyer!

  4. If you want integrity call Mr. Hyldahl

    Posted by Andrea, a Criminal Defense client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Douglas Hyldahl.
    • I hired Douglas more than 3 years ago.
    • Douglas handled my Criminal Defense matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    If you want an accessible, intelligent lawyer who values you and will aproach your case with integrity, call Mr. Hyldahl. He is remarkable in his intellect and even more in his tempered, even approach which instills confidence and assurance that you've got the best person representing you. I wouldn't hesitate to recommend Doug Hyldahl to anyone. He is a good human being and a fantastic attorney. Andrea

  5. One wrong turn and out of the country

    Posted by a Federal Crime client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Douglas Hyldahl.
    • I hired Douglas more than 3 years ago.
    • Douglas handled my Federal Crime matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    Doug helped me out when my husband and I took a wrong turn and got caught over the border without my I..d or any kind of identification. My husband was arrested with prescription pills loose in his pocket and we didnt have the bottle with us. We were on our anniversary trip and were headed to the grocery store. We have never been arrested ever and I was scared and my husband spent the night in jail. The next day I got Dougs name and he helped me first to calm down and then helped me with the steps to get my husband out of jail. After that we made an appointment with him and he helped us with what to do. Thankfully he was honest and told us since the drugs were a prescription and we could prove it he couldnt take our money for him to represent us. Doug was friendly and put us at ease and was extremely helpful I would recommend him to everyone.

  6. Want an amazing attorny?

    Posted by Blair, a Criminal Defense client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Douglas Hyldahl.
    • I hired Douglas more than 3 years ago.
    • Douglas handled my Criminal Defense matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    At the end of my sophomore year in college I found myself in a heap of legal trouble. I was about to go to an attorney, whom which I will refrain from mentioning, that was in a great deal of trouble with the state bar. How is a young first time offender suppose to know a good lawyer from a bad one, when searching through the yellow pages?! Fortunately, Bill Hochberg, a lawyer from Edmonds, recommended an old college friend, Doug. Already knowing that Bill himself is a great lawyer for cases such as workers compensation, I took his advice and ended up in a beneficial situation. I wasn’t sure what to expect at first, but Dough was someone trust worthy and hard working. He contacted all the right people before, during and after my jail booking. When I couldn’t get a hold of people while I was in Whatcom County, he would contact them for me. My mom, who was frantic at the time, later told me he took ALL of her calls and never left her guessing as to what was going to happen with me and my case. All along the way he gave great legal advice that I believed helped me walk away with a sentence one tenth of the punishment that I should have gotten. As well as great results, I had peace of mind knowing all my questions were going to be answered thoroughly because of his experience and persistence in finding answers specifically towards my case. Thanks so much Dough for all your help!

  7. Honest, reliable, outstanding and compassionate!

    Posted by a Criminal Defense client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Douglas Hyldahl.
    • I hired Douglas more than 3 years ago.
    • Douglas handled my Criminal Defense matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    I was charged to the extreme extent (13 felonies) which would have barred me from re-entering the United States, where my family resides. Doug's hard work and dilligence left me with only one charge of melicious mischeif, the equivalence of one misdemeanor. I now have been granted the right to return to the United States and couldn't be more appreciative of the outcome. Doug's compassion for his clients is displayed through his work. I would highly recommend him to any friend or family in need.

  8. Effective and Professional

    Posted by David, a Criminal Defense client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Douglas Hyldahl.
    • I hired Douglas more than 3 years ago.
    • Douglas handled my Criminal Defense matter.
    • I have previously worked with 3-5 lawyers.

    Mr. Hyldahl was able to negotiate a plea bargain that saved several years of prison time for my son charged with possession of firearms by a felon, and a threat. He listened, researched, and took his time to strategically seek a just and reasonable plea bargain. His integrity as a professional was truly impressive. Further, he really surprised us by refunding about $2,000 which he said was unused.

  9. The Best!!

    Posted by a DUI client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Douglas Hyldahl.
    • I hired Douglas more than 3 years ago.
    • Douglas handled my DUI / DWI matter.
    • I have previously worked with no lawyers.

    Doug made the worst experience of my life manageable. He was considerate, optimistic, knowledgable, trustworthy and most of all honest! He didn't give me false hope, but I always felt like he was capable of getting the best possible outcome. I was arrest for a DUI and Mr. Hyldahl was able to get me a awesome plea bargin and I actually won my Dept of Licensing Hearing (which is almost impossible)...thanks to him I didn't lose my driving priviledges for even one day!! He was able to settle all my legal issues, both criminal and administrative, in less than 3 month. I would highly recommend Doug Hyldahl. He came highly referred and now I totally see why...he is the very best!!

  10. Personalized Care

    Posted by a Criminal Defense client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Douglas Hyldahl.
    • I hired Douglas more than 3 years ago.
    • Douglas handled my Criminal Defense matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    It is my pleasure to highly recommend Doug Hyldahl. He was very responsive, timely, caring and knew what it took to try and affect the most optimal outcome for a client. He was readily available and personable.
    He was realistic and informed you of the many possible outcomes . He was collaborative and a good listener. We all felt very supported by him and able to trust him. He came highly recommended to us and I would highly recommend him again!