Alexander Floyd Ransom’s Reviews

Alexander Floyd Ransom

Average Rating

Based on 52 reviews

Help make it easier for other Avvo users to choose the right lawyer by sharing your experience with this attorney. It's fast, simple, and safe.

Review this lawyer

Lawyers: Use the Peer Endorsements section to provide input about other attorneys.


  1. A Credit To The Profession

    Posted by a Criminal Defense client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Good
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Alexander Ransom.
    • I hired Alexander 1-3 years ago.
    • Alexander handled my Criminal Defense matter.
    • I have previously worked with no lawyers.

    I'm very happy I hired Alex to assist me in getting my Theft charges dismissed. It wasn't easy, but he did it! I'm a professional who just got a job in the banking industry. On a stupid whim, I stole clothing from a department store (don't ask me why). The employees caught me. I went to Alex because he has a great record of resolved cases and fights for his clients. I discovered all of these facts were true! Alex "humanized" me by showing the prosecutor my accomplishments. I got friends and family to write letters for me. Alex took all of this information to the prosecutor. Alex pointed to the weaknesses of the case. Through it all, he successfully negotiated me out of a felony crime of dishonesty. I won't do jail either. I thank Alex for saving my career and handling my case with grace and professionalism.

  2. Bad Experience

    Posted by Tom, a DUI client,
    Overall rating
     Poor
    Trustworthy
     Average
    Responsive
     Poor
    Knowledgeable
     Average
    Kept me informed
     Poor
    • I do not recommend Alexander Ransom.
    • I hired Alexander 1-3 years ago.
    • Alexander handled my DUI & DWI matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    If you are looking for a lawyer who never returns your calls, never keeps you informed, and fails to negotiate for you, alex is your man. He seemed very helpful before the contract was signed but after that i heard from him twice in 8 months. I was a first time dui offender with no criminal history so to me it was important to know whats going on as id never done this before. I was kept in the dark the whole time. He showed up to court most of the time but other times had someone who also new nothing show up for me. After 8 months he finally did get my dui reduced to a neg driving but with 30 days in jail (with alternatives) and two years probation. He told me how great this was but doesn't seem great to me. When the prosecutor made the offer I asked alex to negotiate the jail time and he flat out told me no, this is the end of the road. A good lawyer is suppose to negotiate terms, not simply take the offer. Especially since I already spent a night in jail during the arrest. If he were smart he could have used that to negotiate the sentence down. To make matters worse i had asked him to get jail, etc transferred to my local court and he failed to this with the judge in court. I tried calling twice and no return calls. So now im on my own to get this taken care of with the judge. I completely understand my case was an upper level dui reduced two steps, however i paid good money and would appreciate a lawyer who would keep me informed, return calls and fight for their client.

    1. Alexander Floyd Ransom

      Alexander Ransom

      Lawyer Comment:

      Dear Client,

      I'm sorry you feel that way. Your case was extremely difficult to negotiate. You were pulled over for speeding. You exhibited bad behavior with police (uncooperative, name calling, swearing, etc.). The officer stated you smelled of intoxicants, had bloodshot weatery eyes, slurred speech, etc. You were charged with an upper-level "Refusal" DUI because you completely refused to blow into the BAC machine. Despite the challenges, you hired me to negotiate the case and avoid trial. Unfortunately, challenging cases like yours do not resolve quickly. It takes a huge amount of time and energy to convince prosecutors that some clients simply have bad nights, and/or bad experiences with some officers. Despite the challenges, I successfully negotiated your case completely out of a DUI and into the 2-step reduction you mentioned above. Along with downward reduction, you demanded, "No jail, Alex!" Luckily for you, my negotiations were successful on that demand as well. Instead of jail, I negotiated the jail alternative of electronic home monitoring (EHM). This guaranteed your freedom and mobility to go to/from work, sleep in your own bed, etc. Most clients would be extremely satisfied with this resolution. Instead, you demanded, "Less EHM time, Alex!" Sorry, but the negotiations stopped there. At this point, rebuking the offer would have endangered this excellent resolution we worked so hard to obtain. The prosecutor would feel insulted; withdraw the offer, and walk away from the negotiating table. You would have forced yourself into trial (which you hired me to avoid) and explain your behaviors to a judge or jury. We both know what the likely outcome would be. I'll address your other concerns: (1) Regarding my alleged inability to transfer your jail and probation to your "local court" complaint, I already explained to you that the probation department; and not the sentencing judge, sets transfers jurisdiction of your case to your locality through interlocal agreement. (2) Regarding your "one day of jail" complaint, I already explained you shall receive credit for time served.
      Again, I'm sorry you perceive your overall outcome as flawed, or that I didn't fight for you. Good luck.

      Posted almost 2 years ago. Flag

  3. Good Negotiator

    Posted by Gabriel, a Criminal Defense client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Alexander Ransom.
    • I hired Alexander 1-3 years ago.
    • Alexander handled my Criminal Defense matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    I'm pretty happy with Alex's work. I hired him to help me on a DUI charge. It was ugly . . . I drove my car into a ditch, gave a street breath test over the 08 limit, and I wasn't cooperative with officers. Making matter worse, the prosecutor incorrectly counted a prior DUI conviction I had as within the 7 year period. I knew I had to hire someone when their plea offer was 90 days jail, no alternatives, big fines, probation, etc. I've got to work. My family depends on me. Going to jail would guartantee my termination.

    Alex worked my case pretty clever. He obtained medical proof that I suffered Type 1 Diabetes. His research showed that people with Diabetes who have insulin shock experience similar symptoms of people who are drunk. Alex also got a copy of my driving record and proved my prior DUI conviction was outside of 7 years.

    As a result, the prosecutor amended my DUI downward. Although I got 45 days jail, I can do this on electronic home detention, therefore saving my job. My court fines are lower. My probation will go unsupervised as soon as I complete treatment.

    I'm pretty happy! Thank you, Alex!
    GP

  4. Saved Me. Not Deported & No Felony!

    Posted by Vlad, a Criminal Defense client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Alexander Ransom.
    • I hired Alexander 1-3 years ago.
    • Alexander handled my Criminal Defense matter.
    • I have previously worked with no lawyers.

    This case so bad. So scary. I am Russian and the police arrest me for Harassment and Assault against family. So dumb. I argue with my daughter. Her boyfriend tells me to stop. He gets in my face in my own house! We yell and shout all over. Police take me away to jail.

    I get in trouble for felony. I call Alex at Tario law firm. Alex talks about saving me from deported and keeping me here in U.S. I hire him. He wants to save my job and dismiss stupid cases. I been here 10 years! I do nothing wrong for 10 years!

    He did good. It took long time, but good results. He is careful. Alex gets letter from immigration lawyer. It says I'm deported if I get felony or dv. Alex shows I am not bed person. Prosecution drops dv and drops the felonys. I plead to assault. That's okey . . . no jail! Not deported!!!

    So happy! Thanks Alex.

  5. Thank you, Alex

    Posted by Sonia, a Domestic Violence client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Alexander Ransom.
    • I hired Alexander more than 3 years ago.
    • Alexander handled my Domestic Violence matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    Mr Ransom was excellent while working on my DV case. He was very good at explaining to me what was happening and worked hard to get my case dismissed. I appreciate everything that he did to help me and would highly recommend him.

  6. CLEAN SWEEP, NOT GUILTY!!!

    Posted by Travis, a Criminal Defense client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Alexander Ransom.
    • I hired Alexander 1-3 years ago.
    • Alexander handled my Criminal Defense matter.
    • I have previously worked with 3-5 lawyers.

    I can't say enough good things about attorney Ransom. He helped me on serious Harassment and weapon possession charges. I was looking at 10 years prison. Jury said, "Not guilty!" I'm writing this because I'M FREE and that's only becaause Alex was there!!!

    Here's what hapened. I was already in jail for something else. I'm epileptic. The nurse wouldn't give me meds. We argued. No, I didn't threaten her. An inmate heard the argument. I thought me and him were buddies BUT NO! Not so! He gets all snitchy and tells the nurse I threatened to kill her!!! Total BS. They search my cell. Found my old cleaning toothbrush I've had for 2 months. They say the toothbrush is a weapon because I filed it to a wedge. Yeah sounds bad . . . But I only used it to clean dissgusting jail gunk off the walls of my cell! That's it!

    We had a 12 person jury trial. It took 4 whole days. Ransom proved the snitch inmate was not trustworthy. The nurse also testified. She wasn't afraid of me at all until the snitch made her afraid. I took the stand and told the truth about EVERYTHING!! No threats. No weapon. Total misunderstanding. I just wanted my meds! Jury decided NOT GUILTY!!!

    Alex was great. I owe him my life and freedom.
    It's not easy finding attorneys who fight hard at jury trials. Hire Alex. He works hard and is not afraid!!!

  7. Excellent attorney!

    Posted by a Criminal Defense client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Alexander Ransom.
    • I hired Alexander 1-3 years ago.
    • Alexander handled my Criminal Defense matter.
    • I have previously worked with no lawyers.

    Alexander was great. He was very knowledgable about my situation (posession of marijuana under 40 grams and posession of paraphernalia) and provided outstanding communication with me throughout the entire case. I have not worked with any previous lawyers in the past however I would recommend anyone who's stuck in a situation similar to mine to use Alexander as a defense attorney, especially if your education/career is on the line. He was very trustworthy and responsive to my phone calls and emails. I came out of this case with favorable results and I believe that I could not have chosen a better attorney to represent me!
    Again, thank you for all your work, help, and support!

  8. No Good Deed Goes Unpunished

    Posted by a Criminal Defense client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Alexander Ransom.
    • I hired Alexander 1-3 years ago.
    • Alexander handled my Criminal Defense matter.
    • I have previously worked with no lawyers.

    I'm transgender and Canadian. I take steroids and testosterone to manage my post-op changes. I got arrested at the border for possessing my testosterone supplements. I forgot my prescriptions!!! I explained myself to the cops, but they cited me anyway. So stupid . . . !

    I called Alex the day before court. My friends in the States told me Alex helps the LGBTQ community. So stressed out. He said, 'no problem, I'll try and get it dismissed.' For FREE. I was happy and hopeful but not optimistic. He said to bring my medical records and prescriptions. The next day was awesome and crazy. Alex shows up. I give him my documents. He whispers to Prosecutor and shows my documents. Next thing you know, my case is dismissed!!!!

    I try giving him some money for this awesome surprise. He refuses and says, 'No, just spread the word and write a good review for me on Avvo.com"

    Here's your review, Alexander! THANK YOU!!! :-)

  9. No DV Because He Dissmissed

    Posted by a Criminal Defense client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Good
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Alexander Ransom.
    • I hired Alexander more than 3 years ago.
    • Alexander handled my Criminal Defense matter.
    • I have previously worked with 3-5 lawyers.

    Me and girlfirned fought. It involved a bad scene at an afterparty with other people it was pretty ugly. Everyone drunk. :-/ Cops were called. It was my girlfriends friend who called! Cops took me to jail for DV. Crazy. Alex and his secratary called all witnesses. None of them wanted to talk. No one. Alex got the prosecuter to drop the charges. Nobody wanted to come to court. He never backed down!!!

    DB

  10. One count second degree theft and 13 felony counts dropped

    Posted by a client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Good
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Good
    • I recommend Alexander Ransom.

    A previous employer pressed charges for theft and trafficking stolen property even thought during a disciplinary hearing I showed them compelling evidence that the material in question belonged to me. I was shocked after this meeting to learn I was terminated after a long distinguished career that had no previous discipline, and then when the court letter outlining the charges arrived in my mail two weeks later I was absolutely dismayed. This nightmare started when my supervisor obtained my private sale records illegally, took them to management, and then their security division got a search warrant. During their internal investigation, the individual who gave me the material told the investigating officer the material was not stolen. This statement was withheld. The investigating officer (public entity -not a municipality) also refused to take a favorable statement from a witness who came forward and withheld additional witness interviews that supported my innocence from the official report, from the HR personnel and eventually the prosecutor. Alex took my case and felt I had a strong defense. I am sure he hears a lot of clients say they did not so something, but as a client is good to hear you are believed. After several trail delays, Alex was able to obtain an EOC report from this employer that seriously put into question my previous supervisor’s ethical behavior and leadership. Alex also obtained statements from all of the prosecutor’s witnesses which supported and confirmed I had committed no dishonest acts. He also gained the key statement that the items were given to me, did not belong to my employer, was not considered stolen and that this statement was given to the investigating officer. Given the unfavorable business records of my past supervisor outlined by the employer’s EOC report and the prosecutor’s witnesses only having positive things to say about me, Alex was able to get the prosecutor to agree to a full dismissal. Even if the charges were not dropped a few days before trial, I have the full confidence I would have been exonerated by a jury of my peers once Alex had the opportunity to enlighten them. I don’t think I will ever need council for legal defense again in my lifetime, but if I did - I would not hesitate to hire Alex again. I now look forward to working with his law firm and turning the tables and going forward with my own litigation for what this employer did to me.

    1. Alexander Floyd Ransom

      Alexander Ransom

      Lawyer Comment:

      I really enjoyed gaining full dismissals on aALL of the criminal charges. Although it took lots of research and investigating, the fruits of our labor won the day. We obtained business records showing the client's former supervisor has unethical business practices. And as client said, all of the witnesses were witlling to testify to clients honesty and veracity. Again, it was a pleasure. These kinds of cases inspire me to fight hard for my clients!

      Posted about 3 years ago. Flag

    2. Alexander Floyd Ransom

      Alexander Ransom

      Lawyer Comment:

      I really enjoyed gaining full dismissals on ALL of the criminal charges. Although it took lots of research and investigating, the fruits of our labor won the day. We obtained business records showing the client's former supervisor has unethical business practices. And as client said, all of the witnesses were witlling to testify to clients honesty and veracity. Again, it was a pleasure. These kinds of cases inspire me to fight hard for my clients!

      Posted about 3 years ago. Flag

We're ready to help. Contact us today.

360-671-8500