Laurie D Ummel’s Reviews

Laurie D Ummel

Average Rating

Based on 10 reviews

Help make it easier for other Avvo users to choose the right lawyer by sharing your experience with this attorney. It's fast, simple, and safe.

Review this lawyer

Lawyers: Use the Peer Endorsements section to provide input about other attorneys.


  1. STEER CLEAR...

    Posted by a Child Custody client,
    Overall rating
     Poor
    Trustworthy
     Fair
    Responsive
     Fair
    Knowledgeable
     Fair
    Kept me informed
     Fair
    • I do not recommend Laurie Ummel.
    • I hired Laurie 6-12 months ago.
    • Laurie handled my Child Custody matter.
    • I have previously worked with 3-5 lawyers.

    Think twice before hiring Ms. Ummel. She had no problem billing me several thousand dollars then produced ZERO results in my case for my children. She does not have all that much experience and doesn't present well in the court room. I also see another lawyer here on AVVO I've used in the past, James Shipman, endorses Ms. Ummel...he also FAILED to produce ANY results when I hired him and he also had no problem billing me thousands of dollars for a stack of worthless documents. My advice, steer clear of both lawyers. Not one family law attorney I've hired has earned any of the pay they have received. I want to hire an attorney that actually produces RESULTS...not lip service and worthless documents. What a travesty to society.

  2. Hard work and results

    Posted by a Divorce client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Good
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Good
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Laurie Ummel.
    • I hired Laurie more than 3 years ago.
    • Laurie handled my Divorce / Separation matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    I hired Laurie to represent me in my divorce. She was straighforward with me from the beginning and worked to keep me informed, keep costs down, and be realisitc about what I could expect. In the end the results were very close to what she told me in the beginning. She was definitely the right choice for me.

  3. Attorney w/ No Integrity or Character, Only Morale Code Must Be Money!

    Posted by a Divorce client,
    Overall rating
     Poor
    Trustworthy
     Poor
    Responsive
     Poor
    Knowledgeable
     Poor
    Kept me informed
     Poor
    • I do not recommend Laurie Ummel.
    • I hired Laurie more than 3 years ago.
    • Laurie handled my Divorce / Separation matter.
    • I have previously worked with 6-10 lawyers.

    This attorney did nothing for me or my children. I received nothing that I was initially promised. All the while my bank account shrank.

    1. Laurie D Ummel

      Laurie D Ummel

      Lawyer Comment:

      While I cannot specifically respond to this comment under Rule of Professional Conduct 1.6, I encourage you to come in and meet me and decide for yourself.

      Posted almost 3 years ago. Flag

  4. Experienced and Trustworthy

    Posted by Jamie, a Divorce client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Laurie Ummel.
    • I hired Laurie more than 3 years ago.
    • Laurie handled my Divorce / Separation matter.
    • I have previously worked with no lawyers.

    After a lengthy divorce process (16 months), when it came to mediation Laurie was on my side. She showed her strengths in negotiation and knowledge of the process when confronted with counteroffers. Laurie showed me how to separate the emotional side of divorce to reality. I came out of mediation very happy with the results. We avoided trial, which would have been a tedious and expensive alternative. I highly recommend Laurie to anyone looking for a divorce attorney!

  5. I highly recommend Laurie Ummel as a Divorce Attorney

    Posted by Patrick, a Divorce client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Good
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Laurie Ummel.
    • I hired Laurie more than 3 years ago.
    • Laurie handled my Divorce / Separation matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    Laurie Ummel is an excellent divorce attorney. She is hardworking, trustworthy and a complete professional. While going through my divorce, she kept safe from an ex-spouse who used every trick in the book to make me look bad. She is especially proactive and plans ahead for trial and various other deliberations. I would highly recommend her to anyone going through a divorce.

  6. Do not hire unless you know law and have an amicable divorce

    Posted by a Divorce client,
    Overall rating
     Poor
    Trustworthy
     Average
    Responsive
     Good
    Knowledgeable
     Poor
    Kept me informed
     Poor
    • I do not recommend Laurie Ummel.
    • I hired Laurie more than 3 years ago.
    • Laurie handled my Divorce / Separation matter.
    • I have previously worked with no lawyers.

    Laurie was a bumbler in court and seemed to have no courtroom experience. I ended up spending $22K with her to get out of my marriage and get custody of my kids (teenagers). There were times when I wondered whose side she was working for. She neglected to add a witness to the witness list and when they showed up to testify, was unable. Did not notice that the assessment for our home was two years old and allowed the ex's attorney to use that figure. I ended up paying $50K more than the house was worth. Did not take in to account that when splitting the assets, equity in the house was not equal to equity in a retirement plan (since you have to pay tax on withdrawals). Let the ex's lawyer slip past an end of child support date to be 1 month before child was 18. Overall I would not recommend Laurie unless you have knowledge of the legal process and an amicable divorce. I think she was trying to do too many cases at once to make partner and ended up not giving mine the attention I paid for. I would recommend Geoff Gibbs from Anderson/Hunter instead.

  7. Super nice, though that may not be what you want in an attorney

    Posted by a Child Custody client,
    Overall rating
     Average
    Trustworthy
     Average
    Responsive
     Good
    Knowledgeable
     Fair
    Kept me informed
     Fair
    • I do not recommend Laurie Ummel.
    • I hired Laurie more than 3 years ago.
    • Laurie handled my Child Custody matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    I retained Laurie in my divorce proceedings. She is very nice, very cordial and its super easy the end up in long phone conversations with her ($$$$$). She would be a fantastic pal! However, she did not seem like she was actually ready to put up a fight for me regarding child custody, support, or asset division. What she had told me she would 'try' to ask for in the divorce was less than 20% of what my new attorney got for me financially speaking, and regarding the custody (even though there was documented proof of child neglect by my ex) she still seemed to want to compromise with his attorney and allow him residential time.

  8. Laurie Ummel review

    Posted by a Divorce client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Good
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Laurie Ummel.
    • I hired Laurie more than 3 years ago.
    • Laurie handled my Divorce / Separation matter.
    • I have previously worked with no lawyers.

    Laurie was great at helping me separate the emotional turmoil of divorce from the business of divorce. This allowed me to prioritize and make good decisions. She was always an advocate for me and made it clear she was working to get me the best results. She was comfortable conferring with other lawyers who specialized in specific fields outside her own. She explained processes and timelines so I knew what to expect and when. She and her legal secretary kept me informed of developments with my case and were responsive to my questions and concerns. Without Laurie's help, I would not have fared as well as I did.

  9. Outstanding lawyer, she is positive, respectful and fair.

    Posted by a Divorce client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Good
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Laurie Ummel.
    • I hired Laurie more than 3 years ago.
    • Laurie handled my Divorce / Separation matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    Laurie helped me through one of the most painful experiences I've had to go through. She was understanding and guided me through my divorce as gently and fairly as I could have hoped for. The outcome was positive and I feel like I was well taken care of.

  10. Do not retain this lady!!!

    Posted by a Child Custody client,
    Overall rating
     Poor
    Trustworthy
     Poor
    Responsive
     Fair
    Knowledgeable
     Poor
    Kept me informed
     Poor
    • I do not recommend Laurie Ummel.
    • I hired Laurie more than 3 years ago.
    • Laurie handled my Child Custody matter.
    • I have previously worked with 3-5 lawyers.

    I was refered to retain Laurie Ummel from another attorney from the Anderson Hunter law firm in Everett, Wa. I initially put my faith and trust in her since she use to be a prosecutor and also knew one of the city attorney who was prosecuting me on a municipal court case that was related to my family court case. Well, about a few days before my trial Laurie sent me an email which stated that she is inexperienced in handling my case and referred my to another attorney while keeping my $1200.00 retainer. My municipal court case was eventually dismissed after I spent an additional $2500.00 on another attorney who was a bit more experienced. I strongly recommend not to retain this attorney due to her inexperience in the legal field.