Cynthia Renz First’s Reviews

Cynthia Renz First

Average Rating

Based on 16 reviews

Help make it easier for other Avvo users to choose the right lawyer by sharing your experience with this attorney. It's fast, simple, and safe.

Review this lawyer

Lawyers: Use the Peer Endorsements section to provide input about other attorneys.


  1. I'm very happy with her drive and knowledge of the legal system regarding family law.

    Posted by Dan, a Child Support client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Good
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Cynthia First.
    • I hired Cynthia 1-3 years ago.
    • Cynthia handled my Child Support matter.

    Her law firm is great! Everybody that I dealt with there was very knowledgeable and professional. Would definitely use them again, but hoping I don't have to!

  2. Third Party Custody Case

    Posted by Michael, a Child Custody client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Cynthia First.
    • I hired Cynthia 6-12 months ago.
    • Cynthia handled my Child Custody matter.

    Cynthia First did an outstanding job of helping us during a 3rd party custody case that lasted nearly 2 1/2 years. Cynthia and staff was responsive and kept us informed every step of the way. She is a fierce ally that you want on your side. Our case went all the way to trial, and we got everything we asked the court for.
    We delt with nearly a dozen lawyers during our case and Cynthia was head and shoulders above the rest.
    Hiring a lawyer is not cheap, and when you start paying for their services you want to feel like your getting something for you money. With the other lawyers we hired we felt like we got very little for our money. Most would charge you for asking the time of day. But when we worked with Cynthia First it was different. We felt like we could call or e-mail and ask simple questions without being charged for every second.
    If you need to hire a lawyer for a family law case, I would strongly recommend calling Cylthia First first.

  3. Great job with a horrid situation

    Posted by a Family client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Cynthia First.
    • I hired Cynthia 1-3 years ago.
    • Cynthia handled my Family matter.

    Cynthia and her staff performed very well with an awful situation. Cynthia (and her staff) were deft and skilled in handling the twists and turns of a conflict ridden case. She was very professional, ethical, and always treated me with dignity. I trusted her completely, and she never let me down. I would not hesitate to ask Cynthia to represent me in the future.

  4. Smart, ethical, and experienced - the top three things I wanted in an attorney. Cynthia embodies the definition of all three.

    Posted by Christine, a Divorce client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Cynthia First.
    • I hired Cynthia 1-3 years ago.
    • Cynthia handled my Divorce / Separation matter.
    • I have previously worked with 3-5 lawyers.

    When I needed a divorce attorney, I asked my friends - who have you used? who do you trust? who is the best? Cynthia's name came up more than once, and after meeting her, I knew she was the right person to represent me. I knew things wouldn't be straight-forward, but I didn't expect my spouse to choose an attorney who was unpredictable, even bordering on unethical. Cynthia took it all in stride. I felt protected, no matter what came our way. When emotions clouded my thinking at times, she grounded me and helped me see that sometimes it's best to sleep on an idea, and come back to it in the morning, with a clearer head. Cynthia kept amazing control of my case, she kept me informed and she presented me with all of my options. She thought of things I would never have, and her experience and knowledge of the law was outstanding. I know I could not have found a better attorney, both for the work that was done, and for someone who was a good match for me. Cynthia has a great personality, she's easy to talk to - even when the topic is somewhat sensitive. She has a great sense of humor as well, something that needs to come out in the midst of any divorce case. She saw me through one of the toughest experiences in life, and she did so with dignity and grace. Going forward, when a friend or colleague asks me for a reference to an attorney, Cynthia's will be the one I recommend.

  5. Cynthia's work secured my children’s future safety and stability

    Posted by Corinne, a Divorce client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Cynthia First.
    • I hired Cynthia 1-3 years ago.
    • Cynthia handled my Divorce / Separation matter.
    • I have previously worked with 3-5 lawyers.

    Cynthia worked on my behalf in collaboration with another attorney over the past year to win custody, child support, division of assets, and court mandated intervention for my ex's aberrant behaviors.

    Working with her I received comfort and encouragement through each step of the process. She is accustomed to dealing with dysfunctional respondents and protected me from so much nonsense and grief. Cynthia is sharp, confidant, attentive, creative, and extensively networked. As a result of her commitment to me and my children, we have an outcome I never would have had access to without her.

    I enthusiastically recommend Cynthia!

  6. Cynthia First review

    Posted by Jeff, a Divorce client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Cynthia First.
    • I hired Cynthia more than 3 years ago.
    • Cynthia handled my Divorce / Separation matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    Was always great with giving spot on information about all current laws for divorce and child matters. All paperwork was clear and precise and easy to understand. All meetings took place in a wonderful location and went according to the schedule that Cynthia laid out. I would highly recommend her to anyone wanting to feel like she cares about your individual situation. A true professional in all senses.

  7. Excellent and expert

    Posted by Chris, a Divorce client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Cynthia First.
    • I hired Cynthia 1-3 years ago.
    • Cynthia handled my Divorce / Separation matter.
    • I have previously worked with 6-10 lawyers.

    If you can get Cynthia to represent you you have done yourself a big favor. My wife filed a spurious domestic violence petition against me. Cynthia not only made sure that the charge was dismissed with prejudice (an almost impossible task in a he said she said situation given the biases of the court and its tendency to err on the side of caution in such cases). She also did so for her very affordable fixed fee. It involved her in something like 4 times more work than she had expected and handling many witnesses and hearing delays and yet she did what had to be done to overcome the charges. If you can get her you are lucky.

  8. Horibble experience and she tried to charge money for not doing anything.

    Posted by Nick, a Divorce client,
    Overall rating
     Poor
    Trustworthy
     Poor
    Responsive
     Poor
    Knowledgeable
     Poor
    Kept me informed
     Poor
    • I do not recommend Cynthia First.
    • I hired Cynthia 1-3 years ago.
    • Cynthia handled my Divorce / Separation matter.
    • I have previously worked with 3-5 lawyers.

    Waited for a first appointment for 2 weeks to see her, day before I got a call that she couldn't be there, so we rescheduled appointment for another 1.5 weeks. Received a call hours prior to 2 appointment telling me she could not be there either. After rescheduling appointment for a 3rd time and waiting almost a month I came to her office. She charged me a $ 250.00 for a consultation. Came to room 8 minutes late and left 10 minutes early. Even after telling me her consultations are $ 250.00 for an hour, which she didn't even fully give me. Later she tried to charge me $ 310.00 for that consultation . I sat in the office for some 15 minutes like an idiot after Cynthia got up and left, I waited for Cynthia to comeback, give me some papers or instructions, shake my hand, or simply say thanks for giving her business and $ 5000.00, but she just left and never came back. I thought since she charges $ 325.00 an hour to represent , she probably is a good lawyer , right? Wrong! She tried to have me switch to her coworker for $ 165.00 and asked me two times if I may be interested. I said I found here here on Avvo and wanted to hire her. She never was available, never called me once in 1+ month period of time, being out of city and only communication I have received from this agency was from other staff members. I faxed my tax papers and everything she needed and asked me for.When I Emailed to Cynthia, her assistant would respond, when I called Cynthia, her paralegal would handle it for her. After all said and done another 1.5 months have passes by, no motion was filed and it started from thanksgiving , than went to first week of December, than Christmas. On some 20th of December I received an email from Cynthia's coworker (another Lawyer, telling me that she has reviewed my paperwork and documents and will be taking over the case from Cynthia. I was in shock. Cynthia never emailed me, called me or send anything ,to let me know she can't, or will not be representing me anymore and without my authorization passed on my file to some other attorney. I emailed and called and asked her to refund my money , because it has gotten to far and almost two months were wasted. She didn't refund all of the money, I paid her. O when I gave to Cynthia my retainer, her office staff ended up giving me the Original Contract as my paperwork. Sharp Staff. I faxed my tax papers and everything she needed and asked me for. I would not recommend using this Attorney, because in my opinion she seemed burned out and lost any interest in representing clients.
    I am going through a divorce , I see my little girl , very limited amount time, pay money for supervision and what is very sad , that some lawyers have no respect to peoples time and how painful it is to be going through the divorce process to begin with. I wasted thousands of dollars by hiring Cynthia. If you Can't represent, or if you are to busy, or if you are burned out, DON'T COLLECT $5000.00 RETAINER, if you don't have any intention to represent Cynthia.

  9. By far the best family law attorney ever

    Posted by Jim, a Child Support client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Cynthia First.
    • I hired Cynthia 1-3 years ago.
    • Cynthia handled my Child Support matter.
    • I have previously worked with 3-5 lawyers.

    Cynthia represented me during a custody/child support action. She is amazing and professional and great at her job. Cannot say enough good things about her.

  10. BEST FAMILY LAWYER IN THE WORLD!

    Posted by Teresa Pope, a Child Custody client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Cynthia First.
    • I hired Cynthia more than 3 years ago.
    • Cynthia handled my Child Custody matter.
    • I have previously worked with no lawyers.

    Cynthia assisted me in getting custody of my sister who was 11 when my Mom died...her biological father tried to take her just so he wouldnt have to pay child support...well...he picked on the wrong person who got the PERFECT attorney...i could not have asked for better service from anyone else.