Robert Walter Zierman’s Reviews

Robert Walter Zierman

Average Rating

Based on 11 reviews

Help make it easier for other Avvo users to choose the right lawyer by sharing your experience with this attorney. It's fast, simple, and safe.

Review this lawyer

Lawyers: Use the Peer Endorsements section to provide input about other attorneys.


  1. Resolving a boundary dispute with an aggressive new neighbor

    Posted by Joel, a Real Estate client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Robert Zierman.
    • I hired Robert 1-6 months ago.
    • Robert handled my Real Estate matter.
    • I have previously worked with 3-5 lawyers.

    As soon as my wife and I hired Robert Zierman we began to sleep better! Although Robert's law office is several hours away from us, we chose Robert (Justice Smiles, Plllc) for help in a festering Boundary Dispute with an aggressive new neighbor. Why Robert? A boundary dispute some 20 years ago taught us that such real estate matters are a specialized area of the law. We searched and failed to find a local lawyer who had more than a minor part of their practice based on Real Estate. So we looked further afield for a ''specialist". And while doing our Internet research on the subject of boundary disputes, we found our expert, Robert Zierman, and we also found many helpful articles that Robert himself had authored.
    Enlisting Robert for our legal representation was a VERY GOOD choice! Robert thoroughly reviewed our situation and then carefully identified several alternative courses of action for us....plus he identified the likely costs, benefits and risks of each course of action. Robert's expertise and his calming demeanor also seemed to keep the other parties from unnecessarily escalating the situation.
    Bottom Line: Very glad we found and used Robert Zierman for our boundary problem. It WAS money well spent. We found Robert to be very time efficient because he was already so knowledgeable about the subject area. We felt we were in "good hands" with Robert from Day 1. We found Robert trustworthy and hard working. He tries to deescalate and resolve confrontations. It has been a pleasure working through this awkward situation employing a true professional like Robert Zierman. We consider the negotiated outcome "fair". We couldn't ask for more. Hiring Robert was certainly a wonderful choice for us. Highly recommended.

  2. Best lawyer I've ever worked with

    Posted by Anthony, a Real Estate client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Robert Zierman.
    • I hired Robert 1-3 years ago.
    • Robert handled my Real Estate matter.
    • I have previously worked with 3-5 lawyers.

    We were involved in a dispute with a corporation neighboring our property, and after working with two other attorneys who treated us like very small fish, we were fortunate enough to meet Mr Zierman. He was absolutely fantastic, very up-front and to the point, and was able to make the best of a bad situation. I would highly recommend him without hesitation.

  3. Words from a happy client

    Posted by a client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Robert Zierman.
    • I hired Robert 1-3 years ago.

    Robert helped us diffuse a boundary issue with our neighbor. He protected our interest while diffused a potentially costly dispute for all parties involved. Two thumbs up!

  4. Bringing calm and hope to a stressful situation

    Posted by a Lawsuits & Disputes client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Robert Zierman.
    • I hired Robert 1-3 years ago.
    • Robert handled my Lawsuits / Disputes matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    Robert Zierman was very helpful to us in diffusing our feelings, which are the most important ingredient in a property line dispute. Behind the scenes, he worked with us on preparing courteous answers in our own words to an unreasonable neighbor. It was helpful to have an expert on boundary dispute law in our corner. If I had been our neighbor, I would have settled early and been glad to save a neighborly friendship--I believe most neighbors would have--so we are dealing with a personality problem, more than a property issue.

    For now we have chosen to pause before moving forward with litigation. If the neighbor was a reasonable person, we have no doubt that this would have been resolved quickly. Robert’s style is not in warlike, bully-posturing at the outset. He believes in first trying to achieve peaceful settlements through a sensible exploration of alternatives, and it was a relief for us to learn that there were alternatives!

  5. With Robert Zierman of Justice Smiles, I found compassionate and knowledgeable counsel

    Posted by a Land Use & Zoning client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Robert Zierman.
    • I hired Robert 1-3 years ago.
    • Robert handled my Land Use / Zoning matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    When my husband and I needed counsel on a boundary issue with our neighbor, Robert Zierman of Justice Smiles took the time to understand our concerns, gave us helpful information about our options under the law, and helped us create a solution to our issue that worked for us. He was knowledgeable, informed, and generous. I would work with Robert again if I needed a good boundary and land use lawyer.

  6. Quiet Title Action

    Posted by a Land Use & Zoning client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Robert Zierman.
    • I hired Robert more than 3 years ago.
    • Robert handled my Land Use / Zoning matter.
    • I have previously worked with 3-5 lawyers.

    Robert Zierman helped me with a Quiet Title action case which helped me aquire an abandoned parcel of property that I had paid property taxes on for the past 20 years and which was located next door to a home I lived at for 21 years.
    Although my case was a very unique one, Robert did a very thorough and excellent job in researching what needed to be done and succeeded in getting the matter settled for me with no problems. I very much enjoyed working with Mr. Zierman, finding him to not only be a very professional and knowledgable attorney, but a very personable and caring person as well. I would definitely seek his help again if I am ever in need with any matter in his area of practice. Thank you very much Robert! Cheers!

  7. I Second the Senator's Recommendation

    Posted by Maryann Williams, a Land Use & Zoning client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Robert Zierman.
    • I hired Robert more than 3 years ago.
    • Robert handled my Land Use / Zoning matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    Mr. Zierman came recommended to me by then House Representative Christine Rolfes' office. He took up our boundary dispute with the neighbors and worked very hard for us. Beyond this, Mr. Zierman recognized the other issues in our lives. Instead of seeking to string us along for his own benefit, he sought to conclude our boundary dispute as quickly and fairly as possible so we could concentrate on more important issues. Allowing my frustration with my neighbor to get the best of me, I was not originally convinced that this was going to be for the best. Yet as soon we settled, a huge weight was off my shoulders. In short, Mr. Zierman did an excellent job. I now second Senator Rolfe’s recommendation.

  8. Many Thanks for the AP Advice

    Posted by a Real Estate client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Robert Zierman.
    • I hired Robert more than 3 years ago.
    • Robert handled my Real Estate matter.
    • I have previously worked with 3-5 lawyers.

    I contacted Bob regarding a boundary line dispute with my neighbors. He responded almost immediately to my initial e-mail. I found him to be very knowledgeable about adverse possession law and felt very comfortable with his advice. I had talked to several other lawyers before speaking with him, and was most impressed with his opinion. He came to my home the day after I contacted him and spent way more time discussing real estate law and helping me understand my situation than expected. I whole heartedly recommend Bob to anyone else who might need help with a real estate issue.

  9. Robert Zierman - Our Experience and Recommendation

    Posted by a Lawsuits & Disputes client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Robert Zierman.
    • Robert handled my Lawsuits / Disputes matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    We encountered a property line dispute with neighbors of my deceased parents property in King County, for which I am the executor during the pending probate period. My wife and I reside in Pierce County and have retained the services of a reputable law firm in Pierce County for the probate action. I also employed this firm to review and make recommendations on written communications with the neighbor over this land dispute. A coworker of my wife presented her with an article from the January 2011 issue of the Washington State Bar News titled “A Good-faith Attack On Land Thieves" by Robert Zierman, a Seattle attorney. My wife contacted Robert who agreed to meet with us at the Seattle house for a hired consultation.

    Bob was very helpful to us in understanding the Adverse Possession statue. He was very thorough in his gathering of the facts from us including physically viewing the disputed area of our property. His passion for protecting the rights of landowners from land thieves threatening to apply the Adverse Possession statue was professionally clear. He offered his professional opinion, discussed his approach if retained, and answered our many questions. Due primarily to geographical separation, in that Mr. Zierman’s office is in the Seattle area, as well as our relationship for the probate process, we continued to retain our Pierce County law firm for this dispute resolution. However, our experience with Robert Zierman was worth recommending his services to others in need legal council for real estate issues.

  10. Thanks for the forum answer!

    Posted by a client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    • I recommend Robert Zierman.

    Many thanks for your insightful and thorough response to my adverse possession question. I was impressed with you taking the time for such a complete answer.

206-216-5878