Lisa Anne DuFour’s Reviews

Lisa Anne DuFour

Average Rating

Based on 14 reviews

Help make it easier for other Avvo users to choose the right lawyer by sharing your experience with this attorney. It's fast, simple, and safe.

Review this lawyer

Lawyers: Use the Peer Endorsements section to provide input about other attorneys.


  1. HIRE LISA NOW!

    Posted by a Family client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Lisa DuFour.
    • I hired Lisa 6-12 months ago.
    • Lisa handled my Family matter.

    HIRE LISA NOW before your ex does!!! There are two kinds of attorneys: there are those who practice law for a living and there are those who genuinely want to help people. Lisa DuFour, without a shadow of a doubt, is an attorney who genuinely cares.

    I prepared for my case as best as I could and kept my own costs down by using the services of a new, and low-cost attorney, but there comes a point when you cannot put a price tag on experience and professionalism. Especially when I was dealing with a highly litigious ex.

    Once I realized that I needed an experienced attorney to help me prepare for trial, I called around 20 law firms and attorneys from AVVO and through my own research. Because of the 18-month timeline of my case and that my trial was scheduled in less than a month, potential attorneys I spoke to were asking $10k - $25k upfront. They said they were justified in asking for that amount “due to the amount of paperwork they would have to review and because of the amount of time they would have to prepare for a trial that was right around the corner.” There was even one attorney in South King County who asked for a $40k retainer fee. You quickly learn who is in it for the money!

    Lisa was a God-send and the answer to my prayers when she accepted a $5k retainer fee with only 3 weeks to prepare for trial. People, do your homework and call around yourself. You will not find a more reasonable, efficient, and thorough attorney than Ms. DuFour. Lisa and her associate, Alexis, worked together and had my trial documents ready in record time. I was truly amazed at how fast and hard-working Lisa and her team is. Any questions or concerns I had were answered in a timely fashion.

    My case was complex in every way: there were jurisdiction issues (I relocated here from out of state), there was child custody matters and a residential schedule for the children that had to be addressed since there was no temporary parenting plan in effect, there was the division of property, assets, liabilities, etc. and there was also domestic violence perpetrated by my ex. But of course, he was the victim and I was the one who abused him and the children for years.

    Because my ex is a master manipulator of the facts, and an expert liar, we had a Domestic Violence Assessment done and it was not in my favor. Lisa was able to overcome that obstacle and in the end, the judge granted me a 10-year DVPO (Domestic Violence Protection Order).

    Lisa creatively helped keep my legal costs down by utilizing her associate and paralegals when she could. She also instructed me on what I could do and where I could help her in order to limit any fees I could potentially incur. She was MORE than fair and reasonable in her billable hours and has saved me thousands of dollars.

    Lisa is an incredible attorney, and she made this most stressful experience of having to go through trial manageable by keeping me focused. It's so easy to get caught up in this emotional battle against your ex, but Lisa knew which facts were important and relevant to winning our case. As a single mother with 3 young boys dealing with a high-conflict ex and dealing with issues of domestic violence, you want Lisa on your side. But even if these were not your specific issues, you want Lisa standing next to you and representing you in court. She is truly an amazing human being and I am so grateful and indebted to her for the outcome she was so instrumental in getting for me and my children. Thank you, Lisa!

  2. Fantastic family law representation.

    Posted by Trevor, a Family client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Lisa DuFour.
    • I hired Lisa 1-3 years ago.
    • Lisa handled my Family matter.

    Simply the best family law attorney. Lisa successfully helped my family with blocking the relocation of my shared custody child. She was so knowledgeable, organized and confident that I hired imidiately at our first consultation. Lisa is a very genuine and honest lady that believes in helping good people through the overwhelming family court system. She argued the facts of my case with a force in effect that I had not recieved with the other attorneys that I had retained in the past. I am very happy with the outcome of my last family law matter and I attribute that to the incredible level of expertise Lisa brought to the table. I have recommended her services numerous times and feel very confident in doing so. What a blessing to know this amazing attorney.

  3. Exceptional family law attorney

    Posted by China, a Domestic Violence client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Lisa DuFour.
    • I hired Lisa 6-12 months ago.
    • Lisa handled my Domestic Violence matter.

    Lisa Dufour is an exceptional attorney. I could not have gone through this difficult time in my life without her experience and knowledge. My divorce was very complicated with issues of domestic violence, child support and child custody. Lisa's high standard of integrity and confidence carried me through this case with results that went beyond my expectations. Lisa is a wonderful person and I am so blessed to have found her. I can highly recommend her to anyone who has a complicated case and needs a skilled family law attorney.

  4. Great lawyer

    Posted by David, a Divorce client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Lisa DuFour.
    • I hired Lisa 1-3 years ago.
    • Lisa handled my Divorce / Separation matter.

    Lisa did a fantastic job for me. She always responded to me in a timely manner and got my case handled in my favor. I would highly recommend her services

  5. Very Responsive to my Needs

    Posted by a Divorce client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Lisa DuFour.
    • I hired Lisa 1-3 years ago.
    • Lisa handled my Divorce / Separation matter.

    Lisa actively listened to my specific needs related to a desired divorce from our first meeting, which were somewhat unusual because I was experienced and capable and interested in doing most of the analyzing and negotiating with my spouse myself. She provided me with the necessary forms and written information regarding dates, forms required, etc. at our first and only meeting. After that, we communicated mostly by email and sometimes by phone, which was my preference, not hers. This approach kept my husband from overreacting and kept my legal fees reasonable. We succeeded in reaching a mutually agreed property settlement within a year without mediation or going to court.

    Response time to my inquiries was very timely, almost always the same day, often within an hour or two, and right on point. Lisa was very efficient with her time. She wisely used her paralegal when appropriate.

    I always felt that Lisa cared about me but was able to give me tough advice when I was heading off track.

  6. Very responsive, professional and helpful

    Posted by Damien, a Family client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Lisa DuFour.
    • Lisa handled my Family matter.

    Lisa responded to my request for counsel within hours. We met for our initial consultation the next day. She went out of her way to help me understand my options, gave fantastic advice, and even took action to contact opposing counsel-- all during the initial consult. Best of all, she reassured me and made me feel better about my situation.

  7. Empathetic, Focused, & Hard-Working

    Posted by a Divorce client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    • I recommend Lisa DuFour.
    • I hired Lisa 1-3 years ago.
    • Lisa handled my Divorce / Separation matter.

    Lisa is a wonderful, very experienced family law attorney, and I highly recommend her. My divorce was simple yet complicated, frustrating, and long. Lisa kept the case focused. She is very empathetic and caring and a delight to work with - despite how devastating divorce is. After it was all over, I missed Lisa - though I did not miss the process! The whole team at Carol Bailey & Associates is wonderful to work with. Their office has a great vibe. Everyone is very friendly and easy to work with. It feels like they are in it to help you - not for the money. If you have a family law issue, definitely give Lisa a call.

  8. Extremely knowledgeable, attentive & caring

    Posted by a Family client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Lisa DuFour.
    • I hired Lisa 1-3 years ago.
    • Lisa handled my Family matter.
    • I have previously worked with 3-5 lawyers.

    Lisa was everything we could ask for in a family law attorney. She dealt with a complicated, contentious relocation case with intelligence and professionalism. She has the experience and levity to work through many details and difficult aspects. She was completely on task and skillful during trial, and found ample relevant case law to help us. We would definitely work with her again if we need a family law attorney and highly recommend her.

  9. Wonderful experience

    Posted by a Child Custody client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Lisa DuFour.
    • I hired Lisa more than 3 years ago.
    • Lisa handled my Child Custody matter.
    • I have previously worked with 3-5 lawyers.

    I hired Lisa to give advise on a very sensitive child custody decision I was trying to make. While she could have taken my entire case at that meeting and charged me lots of money....she instead gave me sound advice to make my case stronger so we wouldn't waste time & money until we knew we could WIN. Once I am ready, I WILL be hiring her for the job!! What a wonderful, understanding yet firm and tactful attorney. I hope to be working with her soon.

  10. HUNDREAD PERCENT SATISFACTION GUARANTEE

    Posted by MIKE, a Child Custody client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Lisa DuFour.
    • I hired Lisa 1-3 years ago.
    • Lisa handled my Child Custody matter.

    My experience with Lisa was excellent. I am truly satisfy with the time, effort, and dedication she invested into my case. I have been so bless to have her representing me through a very difficult time, and her hard work dedication and determination has allowed me to enjoy, and continue to build beautiful memories with my four year old daughter. Lisa and her team are experienced, knowledgeable individuals of high moral standards. She was willing to work with me and help me understand the process. I would recommend Lisa Dufour and the team at McKinley Irvin law firm with no hesitation.

We're ready to help. Contact us today.

206-859-6800