John William Kydd’s Reviews

John William Kydd

Average Rating

Based on 8 reviews

Help make it easier for other Avvo users to choose the right lawyer by sharing your experience with this attorney. It's fast, simple, and safe.

Review this lawyer

Lawyers: Use the Peer Endorsements section to provide input about other attorneys.


  1. Just an Excellent Lawyer

    Posted by Douglas, a Divorce client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend John Kydd.
    • I hired John 1-3 years ago.
    • John handled my Divorce / Separation matter.

    John has been my lawyer since the beginning of my divorce and his expertise and guidance got me through a very difficult situation. John is always very well prepared, and he knows his stuff, both the law and the practical ways to efficient move the case forward in an emotionally- charged situation. He and his paralegal, Linda, were always on top of deadlines and extremely organized. We had a difficult and nasty lawyer on the other side for the first part of the case. John was able to deal with her effectively without ever losing his professionalism.

    I am a lawyer as well, and I know great legal work from merely good legal work. John just did an excellent job.

  2. Job Well Done

    Posted by a Child Custody client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend John Kydd.
    • I hired John 1-6 months ago.
    • John handled my Child Custody matter.

    I hired John several years ago following a protracted, complicated divorce. Custody, visitation, and support issues were constantly being challenged even after my final decree was signed. Several times a year, for many years, John accompanied me to yet another court hearing. Nothing changed significantly from the original order, however the uncertainty that I felt each time I was served with the newest petition made me appreciate having John as my attorney. Knowing John would respond appropriately and navigate the legal mine field made my frequent trips back to court less daunting. I did refer a friend to John, because of the insightful way John handled my situation. Even after custody was no longer, John has continued to be a great source of legal advice.

  3. Great long term attorney

    Posted by a Child Custody client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend John Kydd.
    • I hired John more than 3 years ago.
    • John handled my Child Custody matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    John handled my very complicated divorce and custody issues over a number of years. Once my case was settled, John has continued to be a great legal source for business and other legal related issues I have needed help. I would strongly recommend to my friends and family for legal counsel.

    He's professional, fair, and thorough.

  4. An excellent family lawyer

    Posted by a Family client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend John Kydd.
    • I hired John 1-3 years ago.
    • John handled my Family matter.

    I highly recommend John Kydd as a family law attorney.

    Mr. Kydd has represented me since 2009 for multiple custody issues post-divorce up to current issues in 2013.

    As my divorce/custody case was very complex, it was very important for me to find an attorney who was knowledgeable about international divorce and custody issues. I also wanted an attorney who was empathetic to my economic situation and who would strive to get the best possible results for me and my children. John is that kind of lawyer. He cares about his clients and seeks to find reasonable and beneficial outcomes. He is a vigorous researcher and keeps up to date on matters of family law. He leaves no stone unturned. From Child Support issues, Parenting Plan/Safety issues to Relocation, John got me results.
    I would highly recommend John Kydd to any parent seeking an outstanding, trustworthy family lawyer.

  5. Horror Story

    Posted by Lorenzo, a Divorce client,
    Overall rating
     Poor
    Trustworthy
     Poor
    Responsive
     Poor
    Knowledgeable
     Poor
    Kept me informed
     Poor
    • I do not recommend John Kydd.
    • I hired John more than 3 years ago.
    • John handled my Divorce / Separation matter.
    • I have previously worked with 3-5 lawyers.

    I exhort anyone considering retaining John Kydd for a contested custody case to carefully read my review as a warning. Mr. Kydd represented me in a high conflict, dissolution/custody case. Given the fact he was a seasoned attorney and a MSW, his actions were both inexplicable and unconscionable. He was exceedingly unethical and unprofessional. As a result of his subterfuge, my defenseless young son was needlessly subjected to an extra 1.5 years of child neglect and alienation. Thankfully, the Seattle Police rescued my son before it was too late. My ex wife was subsequently found to be unfit on 4 separate grounds, including for “neglect,” and “the abusive use of conflict by the parent which creates the danger of serious damage to the child’s psychological development.” I was awarded sole custody and my ex wife has had no visitation in nearly 10 years.
    My contentions are completely substantiated by the case file in the Seattle Court in Case # GD033703. Mr. Kydd knew I was an excellent client and parent and that the Court always ruled in my favor. Conversely, he knew my ex wife was unfit and mentally ill. The case involved her multiple acts of concealment, custodial interference, alienation, false allegations of child abuse and neglect. Mr. Kydd took over 15 depositions when he had no intention of going to court. He does not like to go to court, as can be inferred by the book he co-authored entitled, Divorce in Washington: A Humane Approach—How to Negotiate Your Divorce Settlement Without Tears OrTrial. In it, Mr. Kydd explains the laws for contested custody in Washington based on the Parenting Act of 1987. But he never told me about his book or to read it. When the time came to go to court, Mr. Kydd lamented, “there is nothing I can do for you and I do not want to take your thirty-thousand dollar. He had no problem taking my one-thousand dollars in preparing for court, though.
    M r. Kydd hoodwinked me into settling on 50/50 custody, which he knew was proscribed by the Parenting Act for high conflict cases. He knew my ex wife was categorically opposed to joint decision making. A study of the Washington State Parenting Act in 1999 concluded, Child development and post-divorce parenting experts agree that 50/50 or shared parenting arrangements are only appropriate where parents have good relations, and they can harm children where parental relations are conflicted. The Parenting Act limits these arrangements to where parental cooperation is high.”
    Mr. Kydd has no leg to stand on and his trial brief is a “smoking gun.” He never provided it to me until after I settled. He wrote all of the following in it: 1) [My ex] has lost no opportunity to abusively use and generate conflict in her dealing with [myself] to the clear detriment of their child’s welfare and best interests. 2) [My ex] was failing to consistently and adequately meet the needs and best interests of the parties child; She had pursued a haphazard approach to parenting related to supervision, discipline, health care and child safety issues, clearly placing the child at risk. These concerns have exacerbated over time. 3)The testimony will further demonstrate that [my ex] has consistently neglected [my son’s] health and well being. But the coup de grace for John Kydd’s credibility is found in his conclusion. He wrote, “Pursuant to 26.09.187(3) and 26.09.004, [I] should be named [my son’s] primary parent. This is not a case where the parties can continue to share an essentially joint parenting role. In the best interests of their son, [he] will function best in the primary care of the Father. Moreover, the degree of acrimony which exists between the parties makes joint decision-making impossible at the present time.
    The upshot of this “impossible” arrangement was catastrophic for all parties involved. Mr. Kydd deliberately enabled a parent he knew was unfit. He set up my ex wife for certain failure and she ended up destitute and homeless.

    1. John William Kydd

      John Kydd

      Lawyer Comment:

      Since this firm has a small practice of select clients, it can be noted that we have no record of representation of a client in the identified case number of "Seattle Court in Case # GD033703." Parenting cases are heard in Superior Court not Seattle District Court. Nor is there a record of a client with the first name of
      "Lorenzo". Regardless of the above, this firm's door is open to any client (or non-client) concern and this person is invited to call and discuss his concerns without charge. Everyone deserves respect, and maintaining respect allows many cases to settle that would be otherwise brought to trial.

      Posted over 1 year ago. Flag

  6. Review for John Kydd

    Posted by a Child Custody client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend John Kydd.
    • I hired John more than 3 years ago.
    • John handled my Child Custody matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    Mr. Kydd was very knowledgeable and well prepared. I felt that he truly cared about the case, especially concerning the children, and that he did everything required to get the best outcome for all involved. I was lucky to find him.

  7. Highly Recommend John

    Posted by erika nagy, a Divorce client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Good
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Good
    • I recommend John Kydd.
    • John handled my Divorce / Separation matter.
    • I have previously worked with 3-5 lawyers.

    John has been not only an attorney, but a friend and an advocate for me and my children through a very tough divorce. His advice and counsel is personal, straight forward, fair, and honest--much of which you don't always expect from an attorney. He is thoughtful, a good person, and plays fair (but isn't weak). I am very thankful to have had him referred to me, and I would refer him to any family or friend in need of a good family attorney.

  8. Client Review

    Posted by a Divorce client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend John Kydd.
    • I hired John more than 3 years ago.
    • John handled my Divorce / Separation matter.
    • I have previously worked with more than 10 lawyers.

    Mr. Kydd is exceptionally well-qualified in the family law area, being a lawyer, a social worker, and a child advocate. He believes in mediation and self-determination in resolving matters -- which is far superior to having a stranger (judge) decide your matter. He is kind sensitive and thoughtful.

206-624-2329